The Best Possible Deal
February 2004
A few days before Christmas and despite this prosperous shopping period, newspapers were reporting on how a retailer, unable to withstand the Wal-Mart onslaught in the toy department, was throwing in the towel. Another victim of the mega store, no more, no less. Alas, this isn’t the first time we’ve seen a traditional merchant give way to the Goliath of superstores. As for consumers, they want more: Wal-Mart helps them save money. And depending on the type of relationship you may or may not have with this retail giant, you either love it … or you hate it.

One thing is certain, the Wal-Mart phenomenon leaves no one indifferent. We love using it as an example, first because it is the ultimate embodiment of the ‘low price commercial strategy’ and second, because it affects the market as a whole. In fact, La Presse published an article on December 13 entitled “Pour ou contre Wal-Mart?” (For or against Wal-Mart?). The article introduced arguments from Wal-Mart sympathizers stating that ‘by forcing vendors to be more efficient, the chain can then pass on the savings to the consumer by offering low prices’. “Wal-Mart is […] the future of our society’s economy, a society that values the best deal possible above all else”, explains Robert B. Reich, former American Secretary of Labour. The argument gained favour when economists emphasized the fact that low prices are especially beneficial to those less financially fortunate who could, thanks to Wal-Mart, purchase essential goods for less.

However, other economists have reservations regarding this notion of “best possible deal”. They stress that these low prices don’t necessarily correspond to the best possible deal. They indicate that on the whole, prices are not a measure of the global effectiveness of economic activity. Other values regarding society’s well-being must be taken into account, such as job quality or the distribution of wealth, plus there are other values attesting to the consumers’ well-being, such as product quality or store proximity.

Although difficult to evaluate, there are in fact non-negligible side effects to Wal-Mart’s strategy. By doing a little research on the company, I’ve learned that half of its 1.4 million employees earn less than what the American government has established as being at the poverty level for a family of three. Moreover, employees don’t benefit from any health insurance. And, let’s not forget that union activities are firmly discouraged. In fact, the company is facing legal action in this respect. It is also being investigated regarding the employment of illegal workers. Also note that Sam Walton’s policy of buying locally is no longer applicable: the company’s buying office is now located in China, where it won the title of largest importer. Moreover, to establish its superstores where it won’t cost them too much, Wal-Mart sets up shop outside the downtown core forcing consumers to travel longer distances for the opportunity to shop their outlets. And last but not least: it’s been said that Wal-Mart demands and gets certain privileges from cities where it intends to locate. In other words, we as consumers are unknowingly subsidizing Wal-Mart!

In another perspective, an American study has revealed that generally speaking, when a multinational establishes itself in a community it gives back an average of 15% of its revenues, while on average, local companies give back 45%. These are significant numbers and provide us with a better understanding of what economists mean when they talk about the global effectiveness of economic activity. In short, whether it’s Wal-Mart or any other super sized retailer, there’s reason to think that in the more or less long term, the best possible deal may not be what we think ... This is something to think about when we feel that our cooperative or local merchant isn’t offering as good a deal as the mega store next door!
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

La meilleure affaire possible
février 2004
Quelques jours avant Noël, période de consommation faste pourtant, les journaux rapportaient les revers d’un détaillant qui déposait son bilan faute, disait-on, d’avoir pu soutenir l’avancée résolue de Wal-Mart dans le secteur des jouets. Une autre victime de Wal-Mart. Un fait divers, sans plus. Ce n’est pas la première fois qu’on observe la capitulation de commerçants traditionnels face au Goliath de la grande surface. Mais les consommateurs, eux, en redemandent : Wal-Mart leur fait réaliser des économies. Bref, dépendant du type de relations qu’on entretient – ou qu’on n’entretient pas – avec le géant, on aime… ou on déteste.

Chose certaine, le phénomène Wal-Mart ne laisse personne indifférent. On aime bien le prendre en exemple, car il est l’incarnation suprême de la stratégie commerciale des bas prix et des effets secondaires qu’elle engendre. La Presse du 13 décembre dernier y consacrait d’ailleurs un article : « Pour ou contre Wal-Mart? » On y présente l’argumentaire des admirateurs de Wal-Mart : en obligeant les fournisseurs à devenir plus efficaces, l’entreprise peut remettre au consommateur les gains ainsi réalisés en leur offrant des bas prix. « Wal-Mart est […] l’avenir de l’économie dans une société dont la valeur prééminente consiste à obtenir la meilleure affaire possible », explique Robert B. Reich, ancien secrétaire américain au Travail. L’argument prend du poids quand des économistes soulignent que les bas prix profitent surtout aux moins bien nantis qui peuvent obtenir, chez Wal-Mart, plus de biens essentiels à moindre coût.

D’autres économistes émettent cependant des réserves sur cette question de la « meilleure affaire possible ». Ils soulignent que les bas prix ne correspondent pas nécessairement à la meilleure affaire possible. Les prix, précisent-ils, ne mesurent pas l’efficacité globale de l’activité économique. Il faut prendre en compte d’autres valeurs de bien-être de la société, telles la qualité des emplois ou la distribution de la richesse, et d’autres valeurs de bien-être des consommateurs eux-mêmes, telles la qualité des produits ou la proximité du commerce.

Bien que parfois difficiles à mesurer, il existe en effet des à-côtés non négligeables dans la stratégie de Wal-Mart. En faisant un peu de recherche sur l’entreprise, j’ai appris que la moitié des 1,4 million d’employés de l’entreprise ne gagnent même pas le salaire établi par le gouvernement américain comme étant le seuil de la pauvreté pour une famille de trois personnes. De plus, ils ne bénéficient d’aucune assurance médicale. Et, est-il besoin de le préciser, les activités syndicales y sont fermement dissuadées, l’entreprise fait d’ailleurs face à des poursuites à cet égard. Elle fait aussi l’objet d’enquêtes relativement à l’embauche de travailleurs sans-papiers. Par ailleurs, la politique d’achat local de Sam Walton ne tient plus : les bureaux d’achats de l’entreprise sont désormais en Chine, où elle y a gagné le titre de plus important importateur. Enfin, pour installer ses grandes surfaces sans payer trop cher pour le terrain, Wal-Mart s’installe en dehors des centres-villes, ce qui oblige les clients à faire plus de route pour la visiter. Maintenant, la cerise sur le gâteau : on dit que Wal-Mart réclame et obtient des privilèges des villes lorsqu’elle propose de venir s’y installer. C’est donc dire que, comme consommateurs, nous subventionnons Wal-Mart sans le savoir!

Dans un autre registre, une étude américaine révèle que, de façon générale, les multinationales venant s’établir dans une localité y retournent en moyenne 15 % de leurs revenus, tandis que les entreprises locales y retournent en moyenne 45 %. Voilà des chiffres hautement significatifs. On comprend mieux maintenant ce que les économistes appellent l’efficacité globale de l’activité économique. Bref, qu’il s’agisse de Wal-Mart ou de quelque autre détaillant de grande surface, il est permis de soupçonner qu’à plus ou moins long terme, la meilleure affaire possible n’est peut-être pas celle que l’on pense… À méditer, quand on a le sentiment que sa coopérative ou son marchand local n’offre pas une aussi bonne affaire que le géant d’à côté!
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés