It is Darkest Before the Dawn
March 2004
This whole business with Parmalat caused quite a stir in Italy. The company’s CEO, Mr. Calisto Tanzi, embezzled millions of dollars for his own personal benefit throughout the last fifteen years. It’s true; this respectable gentleman is a thief! Highly regarded barely a few weeks ago, Mr. Tanzi is now behind bars with about ten of his associates. Who would’ve thought? Meanwhile, on this side of the Atlantic, this scandal-ridden story echoed the whole Enron fiasco, which resulted in the downfall of the Anderson auditing firm.

I remember researching good business practices and I came upon a very interesting article written by a respected authority in this field: Anderson. A few months later, Anderson and Enron were no more.

No company is ever completely protected from fraud. Not even cooperatives. Allow me to refresh your memory and recount the unbelievable story of a renowned British cooperative, the Cooperative Wholesale Society (CWS), and its fight for life. First, it’s important to know that CWS merged, with other consumer cooperatives, and espoused the heritage of the Rochdale Pioneers, the first cooperative founded in 1844 that was to become a model for all other cooperatives, by embodying the purest cooperative values. Among CWS’ components was the Co-operative Bank, renowned worldwide for its exemplary practices in terms of social accountability. In 1995, Graham Melmoth was the Chief Executive Officer of CWS and was also head of the International Cooperative Alliance (ICA). In 1997, Melmoth quits ICA to save CWS from a rather ingenious attempt at a hostile takeover. The cooperative world is in shock. How could this have happened?

This is a complicated story, but let me summarize the basic course of events. Andrew Regan, a businessman, and his associate want to make a quick buck. They form a company and join CWS. They receive all the information usually distributed to members and are instantly introduced to the cooperative’s workings. Then, they fuel and feed rumours that potential buyers are interested in CWS’ assets. Newspapers jump on the bandwagon and go as far as to suggest a possible amount of money members could be pocketing, which of course arouses the underlying greed that dwells in the heart of those who view their shares as tradable stocks. In the meantime, Regan is attracting speculators from Monte Carlo and the British Virgin Islands and begins selling off pieces of CWS, which they’re already planning to dismantle. Only one formality remains: a special meeting that Regan will legally convene with the assistance of a handful of members, where they will deal with the issue at hand: the demutualization of CWS!

Such a devious and well-calculated plan… Thank goodness it was interrupted. Melmoth, finding Regan particularly well-informed, initiated surveillance and discovered that a senior director for CWS was indeed channelling committee minutes, strategic plans and detailed budgets. The investigation intensified and more accomplices were unearthed, a second senior director. Proof in hand, they headed to the courts where they pleaded that a large quantity of important information was being fraudulently disseminated. Thus, Regan was ordered to immediately stop and desist any and all transactions. Just in time, with barely one minute ‘ill midnight.

Just goes to show. Never would anyone have imagined that such a tale of intrigue and swindle could have befallen the direct heirs of the Rochdale Pioneers. Well, it happens in the best of families! What’s happened since? Well, Melmoth retired in 2002 and was knighted that same year. Legal proceedings are ongoing. And CWS has been taken under the wing of The Co-operative Group, a group of companies that is primarily involved in food distribution and financial services. The long lost cooperative pride finally returned and financial results are better than ever. There are close to one million active members. And you know what? Cooperative education is now widely accessible. The cooperative distinction is now at the forefront. No longer will member indifference be tolerated. Never again. “Every cloud has a silver lining”: by revealing how little attachment members actually felt, this fraudulent episode sounded the alarm that it was time to open a new dialogue in this stately cooperative institution. And today, it has been literally and completely revitalized.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Les voleurs de grand chemin
mars 2004
L’affaire Parmalat cause tout un émoi en Italie. Le pdg de la multinationale, M. Calisto Tanzi, a détourné des millions de dollars pour son profit personnel depuis une quinzaine d’années. Eh oui, le respectable monsieur était un escroc! Adulé il y a à peine quelques semaines, monsieur se trouve maintenant derrière les barreaux, avec une dizaine de compères. On est toujours surpris quand cela arrive. De ce côté-ci de l’Atlantique, cette scandaleuse histoire n’est pas sans rappeler l’affaire Enron, qui a entraîné dans sa chute la firme de vérification Anderson.

Je me rappelle, je faisais une recherche sur les bonnes pratiques d’affaires et j’étais tombée sur un document très intéressant… signé Anderson, une autorité dans ce domaine. Quelques mois plus tard, pouf! C’est fini.

Exit, Enron et Anderson.

Aucune entreprise n’est à l’abri de la fraude. Pas même les coopératives. Permettez-moi de vous rappeler l’incroyable histoire de la dérive et du sauvetage de Cooperative Wholesale Society (CWS), un groupe coopératif britannique de très grande renommée. Sachez d’abord que CWS a regroupé, avec d’autres coopératives de consommation, l’héritage de la Société des équitables pionniers de Rochdale, cette première coopérative fondée en 1844 et qui allait devenir un modèle pour toutes les autres, en incarnant les plus pures valeurs coopératives. Parmi les composantes de CWS, on retrouve la Co-operative Bank, reconnue mondialement pour ses pratiques exemplaires en matière de responsabilité sociale. En 1995, Graham Melmoth est chef de la direction à CWS et assume aussi la présidence de l’Alliance coopérative internationale (ACI). En 1997, coup de théâtre, Melmoth démissionne de l’ACI pour aller sauver CWS d’une ingénieuse tentative de prise de contrôle hostile. Le monde coopératif est sous le choc. Comment cela est-il possible?

L’histoire est compliquée, mais je vous résume le fil des événements. L’homme d’affaires Andrew Regan et son associé veulent faire un coup d’argent. Ils forment une compagnie qui devient membre de CWS. Ils reçoivent toute l’information normalement destinée aux membres et s’initient rapidement au fonctionnement de la coopérative. Puis ils lancent et alimentent des rumeurs à l’effet que d’éventuels acheteurs seraient intéressés aux actifs de CWS. Les journaux leur font écho et évoquent même la rondelette somme que les membres pourraient empocher, ce qui n’est pas sans éveiller un certain appétit chez ceux qui voient leur part sociale comme une simple action boursière. Pendant ce temps, Regan attire des spéculateurs de Monte Carlo et des Îles Vierges britanniques et commence à offrir différents morceaux de CWS dont il planifie déjà le démantèlement. Il ne reste qu’une formalité : l’assemblée extraordinaire, que Regan fera légalement convoquer par une petite poignée de membres, et qui consacrera la démutualisation de CWS!

Oh, que voilà un plan mûri avec intelligence… Heureusement, il n’a pu se réaliser. Melmoth, trouvant le sociétaire Regan fort bien informé, fit mettre en place des dispositifs de surveillance et on trouva qu’un directeur senior de CWS lui refilait procès-verbaux, plans stratégiques et budgets détaillés de l’entreprise. L’enquête s’intensifia et on trouva d’autres complices, dont un deuxième directeur senior. Avec preuves à l’appui, on plaida en justice qu’une quantité importante de renseignements avaient circulé frauduleusement et Regan fut sommé par la cour de mettre fin sur-le-champ à ses tractations. Il était minuit moins une.

C’est bien pour dire. Jamais on n’aurait imaginé qu’une telle histoire d’intrigue et d’escroquerie pourrait se dérouler chez les héritiers directs des Pionniers de Rochdale. Mais voilà, ça arrive aussi dans les meilleures familles! Que s’est-il passé, depuis? Melmoth a pris sa retraite en 2002 et a été fait Chevalier la même année. La poursuite contre les fraudeurs suit son cours. Le CWS a été regroupé sous The Co-operative Group, une famille d’entreprises qui s’adonnent principalement à la distribution alimentaire et aux services financiers. On a retrouvé la fierté coopérative d’antan et les résultats financiers sont meilleurs que jamais. On compte près d’un million de membres actifs. Et devinez quoi? L’éducation coopérative est au menu pour tous. La distinction coopérative est résolument mise de l’avant. On ne veut plus subir l’indifférence des membres. Plus jamais. « À quelque chose malheur est bon » : en révélant le peu d’attachement des membres, cette fraude aura brutalement sonné l’urgence d’un nouveau dialogue dans la vieille institution coopérative. Or, elle s’en trouve aujourd’hui littéralement revitalisée.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés