Blowing in the Wind
April 2004
Are your agricultural revenues gone with the wind? Are you tired of walking a tightrope to make ends meet? Perhaps you should consider cultivating a sideline… maybe something easy, clean and renewable like the wind!” This was basically the message being communicated at the recently held National Western Stock Show & Rodeo in Colorado, where some 250 producers were on site to hear about soft energy potential for the agricultural industry.

There was a lot of puff about the advantages of wind, sun and water to reduce farm operating costs. For example, it seems that a solar panel no bigger than a shoebox can produce enough energy to charge the electrical fences surrounding a large cattle farm. But, even more enticing is that renewable energy can also become a source of added revenue for agricultural operations. According to Jim Green, a wind energy specialist, a farmer who would agree to having wind energy installations on his land could make as much as $2,500 to $4,000 US per wind turbine, per year. These structures, although 250 feet in height, occupy very little surface area on the ground, that way they don’t hinder agricultural activities nor do they disturb grazing cattle.

Now this is indeed a new way to diversify farming revenues! In the past, industries, and primarily turbine manufacturers, were responsible for developing windmills. But today, there is an increasing number of agricultural producers determined to carve their own niche in this new market. In fact, I recently learned about two cooperatives in Minnesota that were established by agricultural producers to purchase and install a series of wind turbines for the purpose of selling their electricity to local public services. And a little before Christmas, the Co-op Group, a large grouping of cooperatives in the United Kingdom involved in agricultural activities submitted a second windmill project for their farmland. The plan specifies that the new installations, without hindering farming activities, would generate enough electricity to meet the needs of 17,000 households for all of the windmills’ lifecycle, which is 25 years. The cooperative group is more than pleased, and with reason, because their project will clear the atmosphere of more than one million tons of carbon dioxide discharges.

Is wind the new manna? A tempting wish. But what if this were possible right here? With the controversy surrounding the Suroît power station and the willingness to respect our commitment to the Kyoto protocol, some very serious individuals are promoting the potential of wind turbines in Québec. Because, Lord knows, we have wide open spaces. And we have wind, lots of it. There are of course other individuals, just as serious, who point out that, in Québec, wind is not particularly reliable and could only be a source of support energy, at best. Yet, Gilles Francoeur wrote in a recent article in Le Devoir that “the latest research from Environment Canada’s Department of Meteorology intimated that Northern Québec housed three of the largest wind energy sites in Canada, or even America… ” But that’s in the Far North. This discovery can’t really be applied as a business opportunity for agricultural producers. However, there is unanimity on the considerable potential of windmills in the Gaspé. Take note agricultural producers in the lower St. Lawrence. As for the rest of Québec, specialists will need to study the issue a little longer. If results are conclusive, we can then encourage farmers to diversify their productions and store up the wind’s energy then reap its benefits. Until then, we can always keep an eye on how those daring Minnesotan agricultural producers are doing on this newly developed market.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Des producteurs dans le vent
avril 2004
Vos revenus agricoles s’essoufflent? Vous êtes fatigué de marcher sur la corde raide pour rejoindre les deux bouts? Vous devriez peut-être considérer une nouvelle culture d’appoint… facile, propre et renouvelable : le vent! » C’est en substance le message lancé récemment à l’occasion du National Western Stock Show & Rodeo, au Colorado, à quelque 250 producteurs réunis pour entendre parler du potentiel des énergies douces pour le monde agricole.

D’abord, on leur a vanté les mérites du vent, du soleil et de l’eau pour diminuer leurs coûts d’exploitation de la ferme. Par exemple, un panneau solaire pas plus grand qu’une boîte à chaussures peut produire suffisamment d’énergie, semble-t-il, pour alimenter les clôtures électriques d’une grande ferme d’élevage. Mais, plus alléchant encore, les énergies renouvelables peuvent également devenir des revenus d’appoint pour l’exploitation agricole. D’après Jim Green, un spécialiste de l’énergie éolienne, un producteur qui accepterait de loger des installations sur ses terres pourrait collecter de 2 500 à 4 000 $ US par éolienne par année. Ces structures, bien qu’elles s’élèvent jusqu’à quelque 250 pieds dans les airs, occupent vraiment peu de superficie au ras du sol, de sorte qu’elles ne perturbent pas les activités agricoles ni le bétail qui broute.

Voilà, vraiment, une toute nouvelle forme de diversification des revenus agricoles. Historiquement, les parcs éoliens ont toujours été développés par des industriels, souvent des manufacturiers de turbines. Mais aujourd’hui, il semble bien que de plus en plus de producteurs agricoles soient déterminés à prendre une place dans ce nouveau marché. Ainsi, j’apprenais récemment que deux coopératives ont été mises sur pied par des producteurs agricoles, au Minnesota, pour acheter et installer une série d’éoliennes, afin de vendre leur électricité aux services publics locaux. Au Royaume-Uni, le Co-op Group, un grand ensemble coopératif ayant des activités agricoles, a déposé un peu avant Noël un deuxième projet d’éoliennes sur ses terres. Le plan indique que les nouvelles installations, sans compromettre les activités agricoles, généreront suffisamment d’électricité pour alimenter 17 000 maisons pendant la durée de vie utile du parc, soit 25 ans. Le groupe coopératif se réjouit, et avec raison, de ce projet qui permettra de diminuer de plus d’un million de tonnes les rejets de dioxyde de carbone dans l’atmosphère.

Le vent : une nouvelle manne? Il est tentant de rêver... Et si c’était possible aussi chez nous? À l’heure de la controverse entourant la centrale du Suroît, et désireux de respecter nos engagements du protocole de Kyoto, il se trouve des gens très sérieux qui font la promotion du potentiel éolien du Québec. Car de grands espaces, Dieu sait que nous en avons. Et du vent aussi, nous en avons. Oh, il y a bien d’autres gens, très sérieux aussi, qui font remarquer que le vent, au Québec, ce n’est pas trop fiable, que ça ne peut être qu’une énergie d’appoint, au mieux… Encore que Le Devoir rapportait récemment, sous la plume de Louis-Gilles Francoeur, que « des recherches récentes des services météorologiques d’Environnement Canada laissent entrevoir que le nord du Québec abrite trois des gisements éoliens les plus importants du Canada, voire de l’Amérique… » Mais ça, c’est le Grand-Nord. Cette découverte ne peut se traduire en occasion d’affaires pour les producteurs agricoles. Cependant, il semble y avoir unanimité sur le potentiel éolien considérable de la Gaspésie. Avis aux producteurs agricoles de là-bas! Pour le reste du territoire, il faudra que des spécialistes planchent un peu plus longuement sur la question. Si c’est concluant, alors on pourra encourager les producteurs à diversifier leur production pour engranger l’énergie du vent et en récolter les fruits. D’ici là, on pourra toujours suivre avec intérêt l’expérience des producteurs agricoles américains qui osent flirter avec ce tout nouveau marché.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés