The Strength of a Network
October 2004
The strength of a network. I’m rather fond of this catchphrase as it gets increasing use here at La Coop fédérée. A limited number of words suggesting the promise of committed solidarity, wide-ranging possibilities to a group that shares a single vision. And, if you want my opinion, I think it truly reflects the reality of agricultural cooperation as we live it today. Actually, I’ve noticed an increasing unity and authenticity in our leaders and their choices. Projects are plentiful and inter-cooperation is evident.

Point of fact, during the last quarterly meeting, network leaders examined various collective models of European pork production. A very pertinent subject if ever there was one, it provides an answer to a question that is increasingly troublesome to member-producers: how can their businesses benefit from the group’s combined efforts without having to submit to the model of integration espoused by large capitalist enterprises? This model, which is jarringly efficient, affords the agricultural producer very little control: the power belongs to the integrator who makes the decisions as to the parameters of the chain, starting with the farm and ending with the consumer. Thank goodness for other models that are better suited to cooperation’s particularities. Models where agricultural producers work together, towards a common goal, and remain independent within their own cooperatives, which in turn remain independent within their respective federations. Network leaders are leaning toward this model, which is referred to as vertical coordination. It’s a way of working based on inter-cooperation, which in turn is a pre-requisite to cooperative efficiency.

The strength of a network. Yes, indeed. Imagine a great network, comfortably stretched over its territory. Similar to a quilt. Seriously, think about it! An authentic quilt made according to the rules of this art form. In the old days when large families abounded, women gathered together to create these works of art. Delicate and agile fingers worked with colourful and vibrantly printed fabrics, which were then painstakingly prepared by each seamstress, making sure agreed upon proportions were respected and each stitch was straight and would blend harmoniously into the whole. Doesn’t this remind you of our network? A beautiful quilt created from a hundred cooperative units, each with its own role to play. A lively ensemble based on each region’s particularities yet all sharing a common purpose. Warm and welcoming but not overwhelming. Anchored locally like a solid yet delicate sewing stitch that connects each unit to its origins. And should one section become undone, repairs are easily undertaken and the quilt is the stronger for it – suffused with a little colour and a lot of strength! Okay, enough with the poetry!

Let’s return to the strength of a network. Have you noticed that thinking as a network allows us to set aside boundaries. At any rate, last August, La Coop fédérée offered its substantial support to organize the first ACE (Association of Cooperative Educators) convention on Québec soil. This was a unique opportunity to promote exchanges with those who work in the field of cooperative education in Québec and elsewhere in North America. Québec was proudly represented by almost all cooperative sectors, including educational institutions actively involved in cooperation and the ministère du Développement économique et régional. A fascinating convention! A true cultural mosaic! It was a sight to behold; cooperative researchers and employees, Spanish mingling with English and French, people gathered to share their passion for their work, cooperative education, and delighted to talk about their experiences, from good to bad! This too reflects the strength of a network: boundaries crumble and everything becomes possible.

Everything becomes possible because cooperation is first and foremost another way to view the economy. A veritable cooperator, unless he or she suffers from multiple personality, is interested in exploring the cooperative formula in all its forms. There are about 730 million cooperators around the world that we have yet to meet. One life is not enough, but so what? What is important is taking advantage of opportunities to engage in inter-cooperation: these opportunities are a chance to meet with groups which are sometimes surprisingly similar to ourselves and would indeed like to unite their quilts to our own at least long enough to realize a particular project. And this too is the strength of a network.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

La force d’un réseau
octobre 2004
La force d’un réseau. J’aime bien ce slogan qu’on utilise de plus en plus à La Coop fédérée. En peu de mots, il évoque toute la promesse de l’engagement solidaire, toute la grandeur des réalisations possibles quand un groupe partage la même vision. Et, entre nous, je trouve que ça colle vraiment bien à la réalité de la coopération agricole d’ici. Car, je constate qu’il y a toujours plus de cohérence et d’authenticité dans les démarches de nos dirigeants. Les projets sont nombreux et l’intercoopération, présente plus que jamais.

Ainsi, lors de la dernière rencontre semestrielle, les dirigeants du réseau ont pu examiner les différents modèles collectifs de production porcine en Europe. Sujet très pertinent, s’il en est, car il répond à une question qui hante de plus en plus les producteurs membres : comment leurs entreprises peuvent-elles profiter des efforts concertés de toute la filière, sans se soumettre au modèle de l’intégration adopté par les grandes entreprises capitalistes? Car ce modèle, qui s’avère d’une redoutable efficacité, laisse bien peu de pouvoir au producteur agricole : c’est l’intégrateur qui contrôle tous les paramètres de la chaîne, de la ferme jusqu’au client. Heureusement, il existe d’autres modèles, convenant davantage aux particularités de la coopération. D’autres modèles où les producteurs agricoles travaillent ensemble, à un projet commun, tout en demeurant autonomes au sein de leurs coopératives, lesquelles demeurent aussi autonomes au sein de leur fédération. C’est dans cette voie, qu’on appelle la coordination verticale, que les dirigeants du réseau veulent s’engager. C’est aussi une façon de travailler qui repose sur le principe de l’intercoopération, un préalable à l’efficacité coopérative.

La force d’un réseau. Oui, vraiment. Imaginez un beau grand réseau, bien étalé sur son territoire. Une immense courtepointe, tiens! Ne riez pas, c’est très sérieux. Une authentique courtepointe, faite dans les règles de l’art. Anciennement, à l’époque des familles nombreuses, on se mettait à plusieurs pour fabriquer ces majestueuses pièces. Les petits doigts agiles variaient les tissus, les couleurs, les motifs; chacune préparait ses carreaux, mais on s’assurait de respecter les dimensions convenues, le travail dans le droit fil et l’harmonie de l’ensemble. N’est-ce pas que cela ressemble à notre réseau? Une belle grande courtepointe formée d’une centaine d’unités coopératives, chacune jouant son rôle. Un ensemble haut en couleurs, selon les particularités régionales, mais d’un dessein commun. Une couverture chaleureuse, juste assez : il faut laisser respirer. Un ancrage local, comme une délicate piqûre associant chaque unité à ses origines. Et, bien sûr, si l’un des morceaux s’abîme, les réparations sont faciles et la courtepointe n’en prend que du mieux – ça lui donne de la vie, comme on dit! Bon. Va pour la poésie.

Mais revenons à la force d’un réseau. Avez-vous remarqué, quand on se met à penser en mode réseau, on recule les frontières. Toujours en août dernier, La Coop fédérée a offert un appui majeur à l’organisation du premier congrès en sol québécois de l’Association des éducateurs coopératifs (ACE). Ce fut une occasion unique de mettre en contact les gens qui font l’éducation coopérative au Québec et ceux qui la font ailleurs, en Amérique du Nord. Le Québec était fièrement représenté par presque tous les secteurs coopératifs, y compris les institutions d’enseignement actives en coopération et le ministère du Développement économique et régional. Quel beau congrès! Quelle mosaïque culturelle! Il fallait voir tous ces chercheurs et employés de coopératives, les entendre parler espagnol, anglais ou français, tous réunis par la même passion de leur métier, l’éducation coopérative, et avides de partager leurs bonnes et moins bonnes expériences. C’est aussi cela, la force d’un réseau : les frontières éclatent et tout devient possible.

Tout devient possible, parce que la coopération est d’abord une façon d’envisager autrement l’économie. Et qu’à moins de ne souffrir de double personnalité, le véritable coopérateur se révèle curieux d’explorer la formule coopérative sous toutes ses facettes. Allez, nous avons quelque 730 millions de coopérateurs et coopératrices à rencontrer de par le monde! Une vie n’est pas assez longue, mais qu’importe? L’essentiel, c’est de savoir profiter des occasions d’intercoopération qui se présentent au hasard de nos activités : elles sont autant de rendez-vous avec d’autres groupes qui nous ressemblent – parfois plus qu’on ne l’aurait imaginé – et qui pourraient avoir envie d’accrocher leur courtepointe à la nôtre, le temps d’un projet particulier. C’est encore cela, la force d’un réseau.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés