Seeds of Cooperation
May-June 2005
Ever since Darwin, we can all agree that evolution of the species is founded on competition, or on survival of the fittest. The weakest links are eliminated while others prosper and reproduce, handing down desirable characteristics, which then become the evolutionary basis for the species. Supported by this scientific certainty, Darwin’s theory has now become the basis on which competition is being touted as a highly efficient system, thus highly enviable for our societies. But does humankind, sentient and thinking, really owe its impressive evolution to competitive behaviour? There are some scientific minds who think otherwise. Albert Jacquard, to quote but one of these scientists, states the following about humankind: “As soon as they cooperate and forge an alliance, as soon there is no competition between them, they can progress and arrive at greater performances.”

Competition? Cooperation? What is the most appropriate strategy for humankind? Now that’s a wide-ranging research subject, one that is of increasing interest to all kinds of specialists. I’ve recently become aware of a study conducted by the University of Pennsylvania and published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Kurzban and Houser, researchers who recruited students and organized them into small groups for observation purposes, handed each student 50 pieces of silver. Then, the following instruction was given: keep all 50 pieces of silver or invest any amount into a common pot, where at the end of the experience, the amount invested would be doubled and distributed equally among all the members of the group. (Think about the choice you would’ve made…)

By observing the results, researchers were able to identify three distinct profiles of behaviour: cooperation, reciprocity and clandestine. The cooperation profile obviously represents those who instinctively decided to invest in the common pot. The reciprocity profile was ascribed to those who invested, but only after seeing those with the cooperation profile invest their own monies and only an amount comparable to the latter’s contributions. And finally, the clandestine profile corresponded to students who took advantage of the final distribution of benefits without investing anything of their own. The result: distribution between all three profiles remained basically the same for all established groups, which translated as an average of 17% in cooperation, 63% in reciprocity and 20% fell into the clandestine profile.

When interpreting results, researchers believe that those with the cooperation profile, although lesser in number, possess the most power among all the groups. They set the rate of involvement for the majority. In fact, researchers have said that “they sow the seeds of cooperation.” And thanks to their influence on the majority, they make cooperation a profitable endeavour for all, even if those who did not contribute also shared in the benefits. Kurzban states that similar studies conducted by other researchers have obtained similar results. He proposes that humankind adopted cooperation as an evolutionary trait and that cultures who did not know how to cooperate weren’t as efficient and became extinct. Interesting, don’t you think?

This brings us straight to the question of leadership. Obviously, and for the most part, people are not born with a pre-disposition to cooperate. Rather, it’s developed through consciousness, through education, etc. Then, we can measure the gains generated by the largest number of people converted to the idea. With this perspective in mind, cooperative education within the school system should no longer be left to each teacher’s discretion and according to his or her level of openness. Because it facilitates the expression of cooperative leaders within the classroom and it encourages their invaluable influence on their peers, cooperative education should be part of any good school curriculum. If school is to train our youth and make them better citizens, it would seem critical that we re-establish an adequate balance between the values of competition and cooperation as they are being taught. Although competition may stimulate initiative, creativity and the attainment of goals, only cooperation can take full advantage of collective knowledge, work synergy and the positive sentiments that, more than anything else, distinguish our humanity.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Des graines de coopération
mai-juin 2005
Depuis Darwin, on convient que l’évolution des espèces est fondée sur la compétition que se livrent les individus pour leur survie. Les plus faibles sont éliminés et les autres se reproduisent, léguant à leurs descendants les caractéristiques désirables qui deviennent alors les bases évolutives de l’espèce. Forts de cette certitude scientifique, on prend aujourd’hui Darwin à témoin pour ériger la compétition en système hautement efficace et donc désirable au sein de nos sociétés. Mais l’Homme, cet animal pensant, doit-il vraiment son évolution prodigieuse au comportement compétitif? Il se trouve d’autres scientifiques pour suggérer le contraire. Albert Jacquard, pour ne citer que celui-là, écrit à propos des hommes : « Dès lors qu’ils coopèrent, s’allient, dès lors qu’il n’y a pas de compétition entre eux, ils peuvent progresser, atteindre des performances supérieures. »

Compétition? Coopération? Quelle est la meilleure stratégie pour l’Homme? Voilà un vaste sujet de recherche, qui intéresse de plus en plus de spécialistes. Je viens de prendre connaissance d’une étude de l’université de Pennsylvanie, publiée dans Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Les chercheurs Kurzban et Houser ont recruté des étudiants, les ont organisés en petits groupes aux fins d’observation et ont remis à chacun d’eux 50 pièces d’argent. On leur a ensuite donné la consigne suivante : ils pouvaient conserver leurs 50 pièces pour eux seuls ou en mettre le nombre qu’ils désiraient dans un pot commun où, à la fin de l’expérience, le montant versé serait doublé pour être redistribué également entre les membres du groupe. (Amusez-vous en imaginant comment vous auriez réagi…)

En observant les résultats, les chercheurs ont identifié trois profils distincts de comportement qu’ils ont nommés : la coopération, la réciprocité et la clandestinité. Le profil coopérateur désigne, bien sûr, ceux qui ont spontanément décidé de verser des pièces dans le fonds commun. Le profil de réciprocité a été attribué à ceux qui ont versé des pièces, mais seulement après avoir attendu que les coopérateurs le fassent et à la hauteur des contributions de ces derniers. Enfin, le profil clandestin correspond au profiteur qui ne veut rien risquer mais qui prend allègrement sa part du profit des autres. Résultat : la distribution entre les trois profils est demeurée sensiblement la même dans tous les groupes formés, soit en moyenne 17 % de coopérateurs, 63 % de type réciprocité et 20 % de clandestins.

Dans leur interprétation des résultats, les chercheurs estiment que les coopérateurs, bien que minoritaires, constituent la plus grande force au sein des groupes. Ils établissent le niveau de participation de la majorité. « Ils sèment des graines de coopération », notent les chercheurs. Et grâce à leur influence sur la majorité, ils rendent la coopération payante pour tous, même si on récompense aussi ceux qui n’ont pas contribué. Kurzban ajoute que des études similaires réalisées par d’autres chercheurs ont apporté des résultats semblables. Il suggère donc que la coopération soit apparue chez l’homme comme trait évolutif, parce que les cultures qui n’ont pas su coopérer n’ont pas été aussi efficaces et se sont éteintes. Intéressant, n’est-ce pas?

Cette réflexion nous amène tout droit à la question du leadership. Car il semble clair que, pour la grande majorité, on ne naît pas coopérateur. On le devient par la sensibilisation, par l’éducation, par l’exemple. Ensuite peuvent se mesurer les gains générés par la coopération du plus grand nombre, conquis par l’idée. Vue sous cet angle, l’éducation coopérative dans les écoles ne devrait plus être une option laissée à l’initiative des professeurs les plus ouverts. Parce qu’elle facilite l’expression des leaders coopératifs dans la classe et qu’elle favorise la précieuse influence que ces derniers peuvent exercer sur leurs pairs, l’éducation coopérative devrait être intégrée à tout bon curriculum scolaire. Si l’école vise à préparer nos jeunes à devenir de meilleurs citoyens, il me semble urgent de rétablir un équilibre plus adéquat entre les valeurs de compétition et de coopération qui y sont véhiculées. Car on aura beau dire que la compétition stimule l’initiative, la créativité et le dépassement, il reste que seule la coopération sait mettre à profit l’intelligence collective, la synergie des efforts et les bons sentiments qui, plus que tout, ennoblissent notre humanité.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés