The Global Village
January 2006
In 1962, Canadian Marshall McLuhan originated the expression “global village” to describe the expanding use of electronic media and their increasing influence on the planet as a whole. We’ve gone beyond the image. Today, global commerce, company outsourcing, migration, all lead to shrinking the planet’s boundaries and moving men and women, from here and elsewhere, towards a shared destiny if not a planetary commune. Just recently, the avian flu affair gave us all somewhat of a scare. This disease could cross the species’ barrier and spread to us. That’s what a global village is all about. From now on, we can no longer allow ourselves to ignore the fate of other people: we’re all related, more than yesterday and less than tomorrow, brothers and sisters in spite of ourselves inside an amazing network being woven together tighter and tighter.

If the avian flu truly represents a threat to public health, it also serves to reveal a more fundamental symptom. A latent problem, which is always, and very skilfully, being pushed aside like dust under the carpet: poverty. Like a cul-de-sac for entire nations. Poverty, which the United Nations Programme’s Human Development Report exposes with frightening detail. When poverty hits so hard that minimum sanitary conditions cannot be guaranteed and, what’s more, there is no access to clean water or health services, when minimum quantities of food critical to building the least amount of bodily strength isn’t available, then there are a lot of things for which we aren’t answerable. We would be well-advised to remember this and offer some compassion, because as long as poverty is part of the landscape, we’re all condemned to share its many perils: disease, violence, environmental degradation, political instability and everything else that goes along with it.

However, the business community recognizes that healthy risk management allows for certain costs to be reduced, for goodwill value to increase and to ensure its longevity. But until now, the only thing that seems to worry our governments in this new global environment, is the end-of-year trade balance. That’s fine, but it’s definitely not enough. I have the impression that it’s going to take a lot of lobbying on the part of the people if we want globalization to be this extraordinary opportunity to open ourselves to other cultures and to initiate large-scale projects that would make us all proud.

Thankfully, the leaders of industrialized countries are starting to open themselves up to other dimensions of the global village. In fact, they don’t have a choice but to take cognizance of demonstrations that pressure groups are making louder and louder, and pay a little more attention to the passionate messages being expressed by those we refer to as altermondialistes. These militants aren’t against globalization – they want it differently. They want a global development. Development that takes into account social and environmental factors. Intelligent development that can negotiate the fight against poverty and environmental protection. More and more people are joining their ranks. Obviously.

As for myself, I must say that we need to increase the number of cooperatives in the global village. Cooperatives are known for ensuring wealth distribution. To put it simply: a single person cannot, when part of a cooperative, take all the wealth, because it is a democratic business and only gives back its riches in the form of dividends that correspond to usage. Do we know of a better way to ensure adequate division among the people who actually contributed to the creation of this wealth? I don’t. And as such, we need more cooperatives in the global village. First, say yes to Mankind. And then to money. Not one or the other, but one and then the other. Let’s keep our values in the right place and the chickens will be well protected.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Le village global
janvier 2006
C’est le Canadien Marshall McLuhan qui avait utilisé, en 1962, l’expression « village global » pour décrire l'essor des médias électroniques et leur influence croissante sur toute la planète. Nous avons dépassé l’image. Aujourd’hui, le commerce mondial, la délocalisation des entreprises, les mouvements migratoires, tout concourt au rétrécissement des limites planétaires et pousse les hommes, d’ici et d’ailleurs, vers une destinée partagée sinon commune. Récemment, l’épisode de la grippe aviaire nous a un peu donné la frousse. La maladie pourrait franchir la barrière des espèces et se répandre jusqu’à nous. C’est cela, un village global. Nul ne peut désormais ignorer le sort de son prochain : nous sommes tous liés, plus qu’hier moins que demain, frères malgré nous dans un formidable réseau tissé de plus en plus serré.

Si la grippe aviaire représente vraiment une menace pour la santé publique, elle se révèle par ailleurs le symptôme d’un problème fondamental. Un problème latent, qu’on repousse toujours, très adroitement, comme de la poussière sous un tapis : la pauvreté. La pauvreté, comme un cul-de-sac pour des nations entières. La pauvreté, que nous révèle avec détails effarants le Rapport mondial sur le développement humain des Nations Unies. Quand on est pauvre au point de ne pouvoir assurer des conditions minimales d’hygiène et, de surcroît, qu’on n’a pas accès à de l’eau potable ni à des services de santé, quand on n’arrive pas à se procurer la quantité d’aliments qui puissent bâtir une certaine force de corps, il y a bien des choses dont on ne répond plus. Nous serions avisés d’en prendre note et de compatir un peu car, tant que la pauvreté fera partie du décor, nous serons tous condamnés à partager son lot de risques : maladie, violence, dégradation de l’environnement, instabilité politique et tous les désagréments qui vont avec.

Le milieu des affaires reconnaît pourtant qu’une saine gestion des risques permet de réduire certains coûts, d’augmenter sa valeur d’achalandage et d’assurer sa pérennité. Or, jusqu’à maintenant, la seule chose qui semble préoccuper nos gouvernements dans le nouvel espace mondial, c’est la balance commerciale de fin d’année. C’est bien, mais c’est nettement insuffisant. J’ai l’impression qu’il faudra beaucoup de mobilisation citoyenne si nous voulons que la mondialisation soit cette extraordinaire occasion de s’ouvrir aux autres cultures et d’initier de grands projets qui feraient honneur à l’homme.

Heureusement, les dirigeants des pays industrialisés commencent à s’ouvrir aux autres dimensions du village global. En fait, ils n’ont guère le choix de prendre acte des manifestations de plus en plus bruyantes des groupes de pression, d’accorder un peu plus d’attention aux messages passionnés de ceux qu’on appelle les altermondialistes. Ces militants ne sont pas contre la mondialisation, mais ils la veulent différente. Ils réclament un développement global. Un développement qui tienne compte des facteurs sociaux et environnementaux. Un développement intelligent, qui passe par la lutte contre la pauvreté et la protection de l’environnement. Et ils se font de plus en plus nombreux à joindre les rangs. Bien logique.

Pour ma part, j’ajoute qu’il nous faudra plus de coopératives dans le village global. Ce sont des entreprises qui, justement, sont connues pour assurer une bonne redistribution de la richesse. C’est simple : personne, dans une coopérative, ne peut s’accaparer la richesse, parce que l’entreprise est démocratique et qu’elle ne redonne de l’argent que sous forme de ristournes correspondant à l’usage. Connaît-on une meilleure façon d’assurer le juste partage entre ceux qui ont réellement contribué à la création de la richesse ? Pas moi. Je dis donc qu’il nous faudra plus de coopératives dans le village global. Pour dire oui à l’homme, d’abord. À l’argent ensuite. Pas à l’un ou à l’autre, mais à l’un puis à l’autre. Gardons nos valeurs à la bonne place et les poules seront bien gardées.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés