Strength in Numbers
February 2006
You’ll soon receive an invitation from your cooperative to attend the annual general meeting, and that’s if it hasn’t already been done. You should take advantage of this opportunity to meet your fellow cooperators. So, jot down the date and if there’s a scheduling conflict, talk to your family or associates: there’s surely someone who can take your place in either one of these obligations. This year, why not delegate your participation in the cooperative’s general meeting to your spouse. No matter what you do, it’s important to stay informed and report back any significant information.

Furthermore, take the time to evaluate your relationship with your cooperative over the past year. Are you satisfied? If you have young people interested in taking over, ask them about what they think. Or invite them to attend. It will be theirs eventually. But never, ever take anything for granted. Not even your cooperative. We may believe in their sustainability, their inalienability, their deep-seated roots in the community, but cooperatives remain, first and foremost, member activated associations. Until now, even if Quebec has resisted the demutualization wave, several large cooperatives weren’t so defiant over the past few years. There is nothing worse for a cooperative than member disuse. When board members are the only ones holding down the fort, administrators have the right to wonder if the cooperative still has its raison d’être. That’s when demutualization becomes a plausible alternative. But the wake-up call is sometimes brutal.

The vitality of your cooperative depends on your participation. Member usage, through purchases, but also through management participation, through the general assembly’s democratic deliberations. In this respect, I was thrilled to see that democracy was an issue for discussion during our workshops with the next generation as we proceeded with our recent Youth forum tour. In fact, several of our young guests were of the opinion that it was unacceptable that Quebec youth, as described in a document published by the Institut du Nouveau Monde, should be so thoroughly disconnected from political issues: three out of four young Quebeckers, states the document, don’t vote. Our young agricultural producers were seemingly outraged. This a sign that our next generation is indeed conscientious and committed.

Nonetheless, great democracies are faced with serious challenges. Politicians are disliked and citizens are unconcerned. Even Joseph E. Stiglitz, economist and Nobel prize winner, admitted in an interview he granted me last summer, that his country’s political system, the United States, was corrupt with corporate cash. In truth, wide-scale democracy is not that simple. The adage “Small is beautiful” is making a comeback. There’s increasing talk about local revitalization as a mean of changing the world, because, thank goodness, making a change is still possible. There’s still a belief that improvement is possible, we may not be able to improve fate of humanity as a whole, but at least we can make a difference for ourselves and our loved ones. Democracy, explains economics professor Serge Latouche in Le Monde diplomatique, is probably only at its best in smaller communities that are deeply rooted in their own set of values. He also suggests that on a wider scale, smaller homogenous units should join together in a sort of confederation so as to maintain their local roots and the efficient leverage they provide. The idea is interesting. Especially for us, members of the cooperative world. It’s kind of like us. Well… maybe a lot like us: cooperatives with a human dimension, relatively homogenous, grouped together within La Coop fédérée, which is itself associated with other cooperatives…

In these times where rationalization is a primary concern, and structures are being deconstructed, we’ll have to be careful to protect these stimulating environments where an individual can freely express his or her ideas and have some degree of influence. Such environments are the true settings for responsible participation, giving democracy its full reign and meaning. This is where the strength of community, where its power truly lies, above and beyond the limits of the anonymous mass. So… why not take advantage of it? Go on. One and all, and attend your general assemblies!
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Vivement les assemblées générales
février 2006
Si ce n’est déjà fait, vous recevrez sous peu l’invitation de votre coopérative pour assister à l’assemblée générale. Cette année, soyez prêt à vous offrir cette petite rencontre entre amis. Notez immédiatement la date. Si vous avez un conflit d’horaire, parlez-en avec les autres membres de la famille ou avec vos associés : quelqu’un peut sans doute vous remplacer à l’une ou l’autre des activités. Et pourquoi ne pas déléguer votre conjointe à l’assemblée générale de la coopérative, cette année? L’important, c’est d’y avoir des antennes et d’en rapporter de l’information pertinente.

Aussi, prenez le temps d’évaluer la relation que vous avez vécue avec votre coopérative au cours de la dernière année. En êtes-vous satisfait? Si vous avez des jeunes qui se destinent à prendre la relève, questionnez-les. Invitez-les, même. Il faudra bien passer le flambeau un jour ou l’autre. Et surtout, surtout, ne tenez rien pour acquis. Pas même votre coopérative. On a beau dire qu’elles sont durables, inaliénables, ancrées dans leur milieu, il reste que les coopératives sont avant tout des associations qui reposent sur la participation de leurs membres. Et si le Québec a été, je dirais, plutôt épargné jusqu’à maintenant, on a vu plusieurs grandes coopératives d’ailleurs se démutualiser au cours des dernières années. Il n’y a rien de pire que la désaffection des membres, pour une coopérative. Car quand il ne reste plus que le conseil pour tenir le fort, les administrateurs sont en droit de se demander si la coopérative a encore sa raison d’être. C’est alors que la démutualisation apparaît comme une option intéressante. Mais attention : le réveil est parfois brutal.

La vitalité de votre coopérative dépend donc de votre participation. Participation d’usage, par vos achats, mais aussi participation de contrôle, par les délibérations démocratiques de l’assemblée générale. À cet égard, j’étais ravie de constater, lors des ateliers de discussion de la récente tournée de nos forums Jeunesse, que la démocratie interpelle encore la relève agricole. En effet, plusieurs de nos jeunes invités ont jugé inacceptable que la jeunesse québécoise, telle que décrite dans un document de l’Institut du Nouveau Monde, soit à ce point déconnectée de l’actualité politique : trois jeunes Québécois sur quatre, y mentionne-t-on, ne votent pas aux élections. Nos jeunes producteurs et productrices étaient presque scandalisés. Bien. Voilà une relève responsable.

Il demeure que les grandes démocraties sont confrontées à de sérieux défis. Les politiciens sont mal aimés et les citoyens, blasés. Même l’économiste et Prix Nobel Joseph E. Stiglitz, dans un entretien qu’il m’accordait l’été dernier, reconnaissait que le système politique de son pays, les États-Unis, est corrompu par l’argent des compagnies multinationales. La démocratie à grande échelle, vraiment, ce n’est pas si simple. Le Small is beautiful revient à la mode. On entend de plus en plus parler de revitalisation du local comme mode d’action pour changer le monde car, eh oui, on croit encore qu’il est possible de changer les choses. On croit encore qu’il est possible d’améliorer, peut-être pas le sort de l’humanité tout entière mais, du moins, son propre sort et celui de ses proches. La démocratie, avance le professeur d’économie Serge Latouche dans Le Monde diplomatique, n’est probablement à son meilleur que dans des communautés de petite dimension, fortement ancrées dans leurs valeurs propres. Pour une plus grande échelle, suggère-t-il, il conviendrait peut-être de regrouper en un genre de confédération les petites unités homogènes, afin de conserver l’ancrage local et le levier plus efficace qu’il procure. L’idée est attirante. Surtout pour nous, du monde coopératif. Je trouve que ça nous ressemble : des coopératives à dimension humaine, relativement homogènes, regroupées au sein de La Coop fédérée, elle-même regroupée avec d’autres coopératives…

À l’heure où, dans un souci de rationalisation, on s’affaire à aplatir les structures, il faudra prendre garde à ne pas détruire ces espaces stimulants où l’individu peut s’exprimer librement et avoir quelque forme d’influence. Ces espaces sont les véritables lieux de participation responsable, ceux qui donnent à la démocratie tout son sens. C’est là, bien avant la frontière de l’anonymat des grandes masses, que se trouve le véritable pouvoir des communautés. Alors… pourquoi ne pas en profiter? Allez. À vos assemblées générales, tous et toutes!
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés