Tod Murphy’s Dream
May-June 2006
od Murphy grew up in a Connecticut farming community. After thirty years of work in the food distribution industry, the longing for green pastures and fresh air pulled him back to his farming origins. He bought some land in Vermont and began to raise sheep. The nostalgia for country life eventually faded and reality set in: unless you can provide colossal volumes, market access is virtually impossible. All was not lost! Murphy grabbed his sheep herder’s stick and gathered around him a small team of believers and undertook a rather auspicious project, the Farmers Diner restaurant, which opened six years ago.

Right on Main street in Barre, Vermont, with some 8,000 residents, Murphy opened his no-frills family restaurant. And I’m sure some of its particularities would make you smile. The restaurant sells t-shirts with the inscription: “I prefer butter to margarine because I trust farmers more than chemists”. Furthermore, they provide an explanation as to why whipped cream isn’t naturally snow white. The walls aren’t decorated with posters of Marilyn and Elvis, but with pictures of farmers. Because, as you see, beyond the needs of Tod Murphy’s company, the Farmers Diner has turned into a project for acknowledging the role of farmers and the local farming community.

They say that the average meal travels thousands of kilometres before reaching our dinner table. In fact, Alberta beef, New Zealand lamb, California vegetables and tropical fruit are now part of our daily diet. An economic and ecological aberration for sure. At the Farmers Diner, over 65¢ of every food dollar purchased is spent within a 100 kilometre radius. The Farmers Diner focuses on fresh food and fair compensation for farmers. The menu is simple and affordable, the most expensive item is a hot turkey sandwich for $7.95. Besides, it’s for a good cause: the restaurant is helping to revive the local economy. Highly praised by the New York Times Magazine, the Farmers Diner attracts students and eco-minded individuals from all walks of life, as well as some serious looking men in business suits. Seventeen employees run the restaurant. Well… they did until recently.

The latest information is that the restaurant is closed for restructuring. Too small to be profitable, the Farmers Diner must expand its premises and find new suppliers. Well, if Murphy has to seek financing options, he may as well adjust his plans. What he is now proposing is a network of restaurants that would get their supplies from regional producers and take advantage of greater savings and still provide small-scale producers with an essential and much needed market opportunity.

Is Tod Murphy a hopeless dreamer? Maybe, but his gamble has a lot of logic to it. The small farmer is barely able to access supermarket shelves and consumers are becoming increasingly demanding and concerned with the food they’re ingesting. So, Murphy’s philosophy is to place both parties together in premises that are ever more popular with consumers: the restaurant!

According to a study submitted to Cornell University, each million dollar of annual sales for this type of restaurant saves 10 tons of CO2 emissions, supports local agriculture, and creates new jobs. From the perspective of sustainable development, these are social and environmental fallouts that should be considered when evaluating the project’s cost effectiveness. But, let’s be realistic: investors will undoubtedly be sceptical and Murphy will have quite a challenge in front of him. Will they take him seriously? Will he be forced to chop off his ponytail and wear a tie (the sacrifices are indeed endless!)? Will he be able to manage his company’s growth without compromising the incredible work that has already been accomplished? So many questions remain… but count on me: I’ll be keeping an eye on things.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Le rêve de Tod Murphy
mai-juin 2006
Tod Murphy a grandi au Connecticut, en milieu agricole. Après avoir travaillé une trentaine d’années dans le secteur de la distribution alimentaire, la nostalgie de la verte campagne et de l’air pur le guide vers un retour aux sources. Il achète une terre au Vermont et se lance dans l’élevage d’agneaux. Après la lune de miel campagnarde, la dure réalité le rattrape : à moins d’avoir de très grands volumes à offrir, l’accès au marché s’avère difficile. Qu’à cela ne tienne. Murphy prend son bâton de pèlerin et s’entoure d’une petite équipe pour réaliser un projet audacieux, le restaurant Farmers Diner, ouvert il y a six ans.

Barre, Vermont. Quelque 8000 habitants. Sur la rue Main, un restaurant familial, sans prétention. Quelques détails cependant vous feraient sourire. On y vend des T-shirts portant l’inscription : « Je préfère le beurre à la margarine, parce que je fais plus confiance aux agriculteurs qu’aux chimistes. » On vous explique aussi que de la vraie crème fouettée, ce n’est pas blanc comme neige. Sur les murs, point d’affiches de Marilyn ou d’Elvis, on vous propose plutôt des photos de producteurs agricoles. C’est que, voyez-vous, au-delà du besoin d’entreprise de Tod Murphy, le Farmers Diner est devenu un véritable projet de valorisation de l’agriculture locale.

On dit qu’un repas moyen parcourt des milliers de kilomètres avant d’aboutir sur notre table. En effet, bœuf de l’Ouest, agneau de Nouvelle-Zélande, légumes de Californie ou fruits des tropiques font désormais partie de notre quotidien. Une aberration, tant économique qu’écologique. Au Farmers Diner, plus de 65 ¢ de chaque dollar d’achat de nourriture est dépensé dans un rayon ne dépassant pas 100 kilomètres. Le Farmers Diner mise sur la fraîcheur des aliments et la juste rémunération des producteurs. Le menu est simple et abordable, le plat le plus cher est un hot turkey sandwich à 7,95 $. Et puis la cause est bonne : le restaurant donne un nouveau souffle à l’économie locale. Acclamé par le New York Times Magazine, le Farmers Diner attire des étudiants et des écolos de tous genres, mais aussi de très sérieux hommes d’affaires cravatés. Dix-sept employés y travaillent. Enfin… y travaillaient, jusqu’à tout récemment.

C’est qu’aux dernières nouvelles, le restaurant est fermé pour restructuration. Trop petit pour être lucratif, le Farmers Diner doit agrandir sa superficie et trouver de nouveaux fournisseurs. Et tant qu’à partir à la recherche de financement, Murphy ajuste ses plans. Il propose maintenant un réseau de restaurants qui bénéficieraient d’un approvisionnement régional, afin de réaliser des économies d’échelle tout en offrant encore, aux petits producteurs, le marché dont ils ont tant besoin.

Tod Murphy est-il un rêveur? Peut-être, mais le pari qu’il fait est quand même assez logique. Le petit producteur a peine à accéder aux tablettes du supermarché tandis que le consommateur, lui, devient de plus en plus soucieux et exigeant à l’égard de sa nourriture. Alors, se dit Murphy, il suffit de mettre les deux parties en présence, dans un espace que le consommateur fréquente de plus en plus : le restaurant!

Selon une étude déposée à l’Université Cornell, chaque million de chiffre d’affaires annuel dans un tel restaurant permet d’économiser pas moins de 10 tonnes d’émissions de CO2, en plus de soutenir l’agriculture locale et de créer de nouveaux emplois. Dans une perspective de développement durable, ce sont là des retombées environnementales et sociales qu’il faut considérer lors de l’évaluation de la rentabilité du projet. Mais soyons réalistes : les investisseurs seront sans doute méfiants et Murphy n’aura pas la partie facile. Le prendront-ils au sérieux? Devra-t-il couper sa queue de cheval et adopter la cravate (que de lourdes décisions en vue!)? Saura-t-il gérer la croissance de son entreprise sans compromettre le formidable travail déjà accompli? Autant de questions sans réponses… mais comptez sur moi : je suis l’affaire pour vous.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés