Mission Cooperation
Juily-August 2006
I've always dreamed of experiencing international cooperation, meeting with South American men and women, and I was curious about their environment and their way of doing things. And then in April, the Société de coopération pour le développement international, the network of cooperatives for development – leverage for economic and social development, asked me to lead two training workshops on corporate governance for coffee and cacao producers in Tingo Maria and in San Juan del Oro, Peru. I hit the jackpot! I prepared my presentation and a few exercises, gathered together relevant documents and off I was on an amazing adventure.

From Lima, the country’s capital, we drive 11 hours to reach the Tingo Maria cooperative. We must cross the Andes up to an altitude of 4,800 metres, then head back down to the jungle. At 3,000 metres, I must deal with sorroche, altitude sickness. I am short of breath. I am nauseous. It’s cold and the soil seems barren. A handful of people with leathered skin live in these high grounds, amongst dispersed alpacas, battling the mountainside for meagre crops of potatoes. But the mountains. These majestic mountains, some are green, some brown, red, grey and white. Nature reigns supreme atop the mountains, which are as beautiful as they are merciless. I fight relentlessly against sorroche and try not to miss a single second of this awe inspiring landscape as it unfolds before me. It requires all my energy. I take refuge within myself. Leave me alone! The altitude affects my social skills, sorry!

A few hours later, on the other side of the Andes, we begin our downward journey and life begins again. Villages are more populated and increasingly active, vegetation spreads across the land. It’s easier to breathe. I can speak again. We’re approaching the jungle. The Amazon. Dense, damp and alive with sound. The producers I am to meet in Tingo Maria are coffee farmers with parcels of land at more than 800 metres in altitude while cacao farmers are below the
800 metre mark. Their cooperative has chosen to espouse international certifications for fair trade and organic products, which will improve their financial situation. It is undoubtedly working. The cooperative developed strong export markets and continues to expand.

Back in Lima, we begin the second portion of our mission. First, we must fly to Juliaca, located along lake Titicaca. Once again we are at high altitude, 4,000 metres. But this time we must spend the night. A sleepless one at that. The next day we are on the road to San Juan del Oro. I must be dreaming. I feel like Kathleen Turner in the movie Romancing the Stone. The road is mud-filled, a series of bumps, rocks and holes where there is barely enough room for oncoming vehicles. It feels like a bizarre obstacle run. I am overwhelmed. It will be 13 hours before we cross the 309 kilometres that will lead us to San Juan del Oro. Think about it: we complain about the state of our roads in Quebec, yet we have no idea.

We are housed in premises that belong to the cooperative. There is no electricity from 10 pm to 10 am. No hot water either. This expedition should definitely fulfill my craving for adventure. Since I am only here for a short time, I am already thinking of how much fun it will be to recount my exploits and share my pictures! But what will certainly linger in my mind as a moving experience is the daily harshness of life for our hosts. We are told that some producers must travel several kilometres, their load of coffee on their back, to deliver it to the cooperative since there are no roads leading to their land. They used to deliver their coffee on the backs of mules, but buyers complained. “We don’t want coffee that smells of mule!” they said. Unbelievable. Yet, the coffee produced in the areas surrounding San Juan del Oro is an altitude cultivated coffee of superior quality, I am told.

Once home, I review my trip and come to a few conclusions. When food products cannot be produced locally, it is well worth it to encourage fair trade and enable producers from poor countries to get their fair share. They need it. Another thing: cooperators operating in developing countries, regardless of what we may sometimes think, do not have an easy time of it. I applaud them. And I raise my glass of pisco for a toast. Salud!
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Missionnaire d’occasion
juillet-août 2006
Je rêvais de vivre une expérience de coopération internationale. Je voulais rencontrer des paysans du Sud, j’étais curieuse de leur environnement et de leurs façons de faire. Or voilà qu’en avril dernier, la Société de coopération pour le développement international (SOCODEVI) me sollicite pour dispenser deux ateliers de formation sur la gouvernance à des producteurs de café et de cacao, à Tingo Maria et à San Juan del Oro, au Pérou. Le gros lot! Je prépare ma présentation et quelques exercices, je rassemble des documents qui m’apparaissent pertinents et je pars à l’aventure.

De Lima, la capitale, il faut onze heures de route pour se rendre à la coopérative de Tingo Maria. On doit traverser les Andes jusqu’à 4800 mètres d’altitude puis redescendre vers la jungle. À partir de 3000 mètres, je dois composer avec le sorroche, le mal de l’altitude. J’ai le souffle court. J’ai mal au cœur. Il fait froid et le sol est aride. Quelques poignées de paysans à la peau cuirassée vivent en ces hauteurs, parmi les alpagas, arrachant à flanc de montagne de maigres récoltes de pommes de terre. Et puis il y a ces montagnes. Majestueuses montagnes. Des vertes, des brunes, des rouges, des grises, des blanches. Aussi belle qu’impitoyable, la nature règne en maître là-haut. Je lutte contre les malaises du sorroche en essayant de ne rien manquer de ces paysages fabuleux qui défilent sous mes yeux. Ça prend toute mon énergie. Je m’enferme dans ma bulle. Fichez-moi la paix! L’altitude me rend sauvage. Désolée.

Quelques heures plus tard, sur l’autre versant des Andes, on amorce la descente et la vie renaît. Les villages deviennent plus peuplés et plus animés, la végétation gagne du terrain. On respire mieux. Je recouvre la parole. C’est bientôt la jungle. L’Amazonie. Dense, humide, bruyante de vie. Les producteurs que je rencontre à Tingo Maria s’adonnent au café lorsque leur parcelle est à plus de 800 mètres d’altitude ou au cacao, à moins de 800 mètres. Leur coopérative s’est dotée de certifications internationales, dont la production biologique et le commerce équitable, afin de bonifier les revenus aux producteurs. Manifestement, cela fonctionne. La coopérative a développé de bons marchés d’exportation et elle poursuit son expansion.

De retour à Lima, nous amorçons la deuxième partie de notre mission. Il faut d’abord prendre l’avion jusqu’à Juliaca, aux abords du lac Titicaca. Nous voilà encore en haute altitude, à 4000 mètres. Et cette fois, il faut y passer la nuit. Blanche, ma nuit. Le lendemain, nous prenons la route pour San Juan del Oro. Je crois rêver. Je suis Kathleen Turner dans Romancing the Stone. Le chemin est à peine carrossable. La boue, les roches, l’eau, les autres véhicules rencontrés, tout prend la forme d’une incroyable course à obstacles. Je suis dépassée par les événements. Il nous faudra treize heures pour franchir les 309 kilomètres qui nous amènent à San Juan del Oro. C’est pour vous dire : quand on se plaint de nos routes, au Québec, on ne sait pas de quoi on parle.

Nous sommes hébergés dans les locaux de la coopérative. Pas d’électricité avant 10 heures le matin ni après 10 heures le soir. Pas d’eau chaude non plus. Vraiment, l’expédition a de quoi assouvir ma quête d’aventure. Comme je ne suis que de passage, j’anticipe déjà le plaisir de raconter toutes mes péripéties, photos à l’appui! Mais ce qui restera pour moi un épisode exaltant est, faut-il le rappeler, l’implacable quotidien de nos hôtes. On nous explique que certains producteurs doivent même parcourir des kilomètres, leur cargaison de café sur le dos, pour venir livrer à la coopérative, car il n’y a pas de route menant à leur terre. Ils ont déjà livré à dos de mule, mais les acheteurs se sont plaints. « On ne veut pas d’un café qui sent la mule! » leur a-t-on fait savoir. Incroyable. Pourtant, le café produit dans les environs de San Juan del Oro est un café d’altitude, d’excellente qualité, me précise-t-on.

De retour au pays, je tire mes conclusions. Pour les denrées qu’on ne peut produire localement, il vaut la peine d’encourager le commerce équitable afin que les paysans, au loin, reçoivent leur juste part. Ils en ont grand besoin. Autre chose à savoir : les coopérants en poste dans les pays en voie de développement, quoiqu’on s’imagine parfois, ne se la coulent pas douce. Je leur lève mon chapeau. Et mon verre de pisco. Salud!
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés