GMO: The Banana Test
January 2007
The GMO debate is creating quite a stir in France. Last spring, the Senate passed a bill aimed at structuring GMO cultivation, which caused renewed fervour among the different lobby groups. On the one side were seed growers, representing the industry as a whole and on the other side were citizens, represented by the flamboyant José Bové and other defenders of “good causes”. If the former have much to gain, the latter have nothing to lose.

Those who are fighting against GMO are doing so based on the precautionary principle. By the way, this principle was actually written into the French Constitution. And since scientists will not guarantee that GMO represent no serious risk to human health, such products should not be marketed. In fact, French insurance companies have denied farmers insurance coverage for their GMO crops since they could not predict the risks and/or eventual indemnifications to be paid out. Thus, the controversial bill aimed at creating a Compensation Fund.

As for the other camp, those who are fighting to make GMO widely available allege that not a single study of the many scientific studies conducted revealed any dangers linked to GMO. So why live without them? If we always waited to be 100% sure we would be missing out on so many opportunities. Let’s not forget that modern medicine evolved through trial and error, with daring experiments that sometimes failed, but often resulted in amazing advances in the field of human health.

Two belief systems facing off against each other, two types of reasoning based on implacable logic. How can we decide? It is a very complex issue that cannot easily be divided into black or white, yes or no. To clear up the impending debate, the case of the GMO-banana will be particularly interesting to follow. Let me summarize the facts. In 2003, New Scientist, a British magazine, predicted the imminent disappearance of bananas. For example, the Panama disease that attacks the banana tree’s roots has already reached Asia, South Africa and Australia and is threatening to devastate the great banana plantations of Latin America and the Caribbean. The industry is reasonably concerned. The enemy must be stopped. However, it is impossible to even consider genetic cross-breeding to make bananas more resistant: this much loved fruit contains absolutely no seeds, they are in fact sterile. There is only one solution, which is to force a resistant gene by creating a GMO-banana. Brazil has already started working on this project.

Okay. No need to panic. The horrible threat hanging over the banana is relative of course. Truth be told, Panama disease only attacks the Cavendish variety, the type available on European and North American markets which is primarily under the control of multi-national corporations. The disease does not affect local species, which constitute a key food source in developing countries and represent, for all accounts and purposes, 90% of world banana production. The banana is far from being an endangered species!

Nonetheless, this whole affair will be a good market test for GMO. Recently, a BVA survey conducted in France revealed that 78% of French people were against GMO. Easy to say. Let’s see what they do. It seems that, in the not so distant future, they will be able to choose between their beloved and genetically modified and other bananas that will no longer have the same colour, the same texture or the same taste as the Cavendish… but all-natural bananas. Will French consumers be able to make a choice that meets their moral standards? In fact, each one of us will be facing that same choice sooner or later. We may say that we are for or against GMO, but in the end, our choices will settle this debate. Obviously, for the test to be conclusive and for our purchases to be the decisive verdict, clear and unambiguous labelling is no longer an option.

One last thought. To make the Cavendish resistant to Panama disease, scientists are thinking about retrieving the resistance gene from local banana species. Which means that large corporations will be indebted to small farmers who, through the biodiversity they are able to maintain, ensure the preservation of genetic heritage. So in this regard, will they be entitled to some sort of compensation?
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

OGM : Le test de la banane
Janvier 2007
En France, le débat sur les OGM fait rage. L’adoption par le Sénat, au printemps dernier, d’un projet de loi visant à encadrer la culture des OGM a ravivé les ardeurs des différents lobbies. D’un côté, l’industrie représentée principalement par les semenciers et, de l’autre, les citoyens représentés par le flamboyant José Bové et autres défenseurs de « bonnes causes ». Si les premiers ont beaucoup à gagner, les derniers n’ont rien à perdre.

Ceux qui militent contre les OGM le font en vertu du principe de précaution. Principe inscrit, soit dit en passant, dans la Constitution française. Puisque les scientifiques refusent de garantir que les OGM ne représentent pas de risques graves pour la santé, on ne devrait pas les commercialiser. D’ailleurs, les sociétés françaises d’assurance refusent d’assurer les agriculteurs pour leurs cultures d’OGM, ne pouvant prévoir les risques et les éventuelles indemnisations à verser. D’où le projet de loi controversé visant à créer un fonds d’indemnisation.

Dans un autre registre, ceux qui font pression pour rendre les OGM disponibles allèguent que rien ne donne à croire que les OGM présentent quelque danger que ce soit et ce, après plusieurs études scientifiques. Pourquoi alors s’en priver? Si on attendait toujours d’être sûr à 100 %, on raterait de belles occasions. Est-il besoin de rappeler que la médecine moderne a évolué à tâtons, avec d’audacieuses expérimentations qui ont parfois échoué, mais souvent permis de formidables avancées dans le domaine de la santé.

Deux systèmes de pensée qui s’affrontent, deux raisonnements qui s’appuient sur une logique implacable. Comment faire la part des choses? Pour éclairer le débat de société qui s’annonce, le cas de la banane-OGM sera particulièrement intéressant à suivre. Je vous résume les faits. En 2003, la revue
britannique New Scientist prédit l’imminente disparition de la banane. On constate que la maladie de Panama, qui attaque les racines des bananiers, a déjà atteint l’Asie, l’Afrique du Sud et l’Australie et elle menace d’anéantir les grandes plantations d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes. C’est la consternation au sein de l’industrie. Il faut combattre l’ennemi. Impossible cependant de penser aux croisements génétiques pour incorporer une résistance : la banane que l’on aime tant n’a pas de graines, elle est donc stérile. Il reste une solution, c’est de forcer un gène de résistance en créant la banane-OGM. Les Brésiliens y planchent déjà.

Bon. On se calme. La terrible menace qui pèse sur la banane est bien relative. En effet, la maladie de Panama ne s’attaque qu’à la variété Cavendish, celle que l’on connaît sur les marchés européens et nord-américains et qui est principalement sous le contrôle des grandes multinationales. Elle ne touche pas les espèces locales qui constituent un apport alimentaire important dans les pays en développement et qui représentent, en bout de compte, 90 % de la production bananière mondiale. On est loin de la disparition de la banane!

Néanmoins, l’affaire fournira un bon test de marché sur la question des OGM. Un sondage BVA, en France, révélait récemment que 78 % des Français étaient contre les OGM. Facile à dire. Nous les regarderons aller. Il semble que, dans un avenir pas trop lointain, ils auront le choix entre la banane qu’ils aiment tant mais qui sera devenue une banane OGM, et d’autres bananes qui n’auront pas la même couleur, la même texture ni le même goût que la Cavendish… mais des bananes qui seront restées « naturelles ». Le consommateur français saura-t-il faire un choix à la hauteur de ses principes? En fait, la question se posera à chacun de nous, tôt ou tard. On a beau dire qu’on est pour ou qu’on est contre les OGM, ce sont encore nos choix de consommation qui scelleront le débat. Évidemment, pour que le test soit concluant et que nos achats tiennent lieu de verdict, un étiquetage clair et complet, exigé de tous les commerçants, n’est plus une option.

Un petit clin d’œil en terminant. Pour rendre la Cavendish résistante à la maladie de Panama, on songe à récupérer le gène de résistance dans les espèces de bananes locales. C’est donc dire que les grandes compagnies seront redevables aux petits fermiers qui, par la biodiversité qu’ils entretiennent, assurent la conservation du patrimoine génétique. Auront-ils droit à quelque compensation, à ce titre?
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés