What in the World?
May-June 2007
What in the world is going on with Saskatchewan Wheat Pool? The company has barely pulled itself out of the financial black hole that marked 2003 that it is now launching a takeover of Agricore United with a hostile offer. A daring if not reckless move: let’s not forget that Agricore is twice the size of Saskatchewan Wheat Pool. In fact, Agricore is ranked number one in the Canadian grain industry and is a major player in the field of crop inputs. This latest announcement has taken everyone by surprise!

Terry Baker, the president of Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, addressed Agricore shareholders in a letter and stated that he was expecting about 60 million dollars in synergy following the merger. He is hastening shareholder acceptance of his offer, which he states, will make the newly merged business more efficient. But Agricore’s officers don’t see things the same way, convinced of their company’s strength and vigour, they see no reason for a merger. Furthermore, the offer is considered low. And finally, nobody really wants to say it but… coming from an old rival, this makes the offer even more appalling.

New revelation: while SaskPool is waiting for a response from Agricore shareholders and the Competition Bureau is examining the project, Agricore’s knight in shining armour, James Richardson, makes its appearance. The offer now seems even more attractive. And this time, synergy is up to 62 million dollars. But who exactly is this saviour? James Richardson is a large company active in the grain industry, in agri-business (they are Pioneer) and in canola-based food products. The company proposes to join Agricore and create, with help from the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan, a large-scale business that would handle 14 million tons of grain with projected overall sales of 5 billion dollars.

As for farmers, they don’t particularly like these merger projects. They know full well that should either party merge with Agricore, the result would undoubtedly include grain elevator shut downs and increased transportation costs, as well as one less competitor to worry about. What can they do? Nothing. They have nothing to say about the direction these companies will take, companies their grand-fathers built at the start of the last century – companies their fathers tirelessly supported for years and years. SaskPool, just like Agricore, used to be genuine cooperatives until a wave of demutualization struck western Canada. The supreme irony is that SaskPool’s financial partner in this merger project, Third Avenue Management LLC, insists that the new business to emerge from this union would benefit from better management, making a reference that there were still a lot of farmers sitting on Agricore’s Board of Directors. What nerve!

As I write these lines we still don’t know the reaction of Agricore’s shareholders. Nor do we know about all of the offers they are getting: David Newman, National Bank Financial analyst, believes that SaskPool will come back with another offer… in cahoots with Archer Daniel Midlands (ADM)! Let’s see, ADM owns 28% of Agricore and to ensure a merger, 75% of shareholders need to accept. So in reality, ADM has veto power. However, Agricore’s rules contain a provision that ADM must accept a merger project if the latter is recommended by the board or make a better offer of its own.

What in the world is going on with Saskatchewan Wheat Pool? Could all of this merger mayhem be about a sudden enthusiasm for grain as energy? Prices are on the rise and obviously big business wants to guarantee its share. It’s also a race to get the cheapest grain. Especially now that Saskatchewan Wheat Pool just signed a contract with Terra Grain Fuels to turn grain into ethanol. Should the day come when someone wants to demutualize your cooperative, on the premise that they are doing it for your good… believe them. They really want your good(s) and if you’re not careful, they’ll get them.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

La mouche du grain
Mai-Juin 2007
Mais quelle mouche a donc piqué le Saskatchewan Wheat Pool? L’entreprise peine à se sortir du gouffre financier dans lequel elle se trouvait en 2003 et voilà qu’elle lance une offre d’achat hostile sur Agricore United. Geste audacieux, voire téméraire : on se rappellera qu’Agricore est une entreprise deux fois plus grosse que le Saskatchewan Wheat Pool. Agricore est le numéro un du secteur des grains au Canada et un acteur majeur dans les intrants à la ferme. L’annonce a pris tout le monde par surprise.

Dans sa lettre aux actionnaires d’Agricore, le président du Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, Terry Baker, anticipe des synergies de l’ordre de 60 millions de dollars à la suite de la fusion. Il presse les actionnaires d’accepter l’offre qui permettrait à la nouvelle entreprise d’être plus efficace. Mais les dirigeants d’Agricore ne l’entendent pas ainsi, convaincus que leur entreprise a le vent dans les voiles et n’a aucun besoin de cette fusion. Et puis, ils estiment que l’offre n’est pas à la hauteur. Enfin, on ne le dit pas mais… venant d’une vieille rivale, l’offre d’achat n’en est que plus odieuse.

Nouvelle surprise : pendant que le Pool attend les réponses des actionnaires et que le Bureau de la concurrence examine le projet apparaît James Richardson, sauveur d’Agricore. L’offre est plus alléchante. Et cette fois, on parle de synergies de 62 millions de dollars. Qui est donc ce preux chevalier? James Richardson est une grande entreprise active dans le commerce des grains, l’agrofourniture (la bannière Pioneer, c’est eux) et les produits alimentaires à base de canola. L’entreprise offre de se joindre à Agricore pour créer, avec l’aide du Régime de retraite des enseignantes et enseignants de l’Ontario (Teachers) une grande entreprise qui transigera 14 millions de tonnes de grain et dont le chiffre d’affaires atteindra 5 milliards de dollars.

Les agriculteurs, eux, n’aiment pas ces projets de fusion. Ils savent bien qu’une fusion d’Agricore avec l’un comme avec l’autre amènera encore la fermeture d’élévateurs et l’augmentation de leurs coûts de transport, sans compter qu’on élimine encore un compétiteur. Quel recours ont-ils? Aucun. Ils n’ont plus rien à dire sur les orientations de ces entreprises que leurs grands-pères avaient pourtant mises sur pied au début du siècle dernier et que leurs pères ont par la suite soutenues pendant des décennies. Car le Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, tout comme Agricore, étaient d’authentiques coopératives jusqu’à ce qu’un vent de démutualisation souffle dans l’Ouest canadien. Ironie suprême, le partenaire financier du Pool dans ce projet d’offre d’achat, Third Avenue Management LLC, plaide que la nouvelle entreprise issue de la fusion bénéficierait d’une bien meilleure gouvernance, faisant remarquer que chez Agricore, il y a encore beaucoup d’agriculteurs au conseil d’administration. Quel culot!

Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, on ne connaît pas encore la réaction des actionnaires d’Agricore. On ne connaît pas non plus toutes les offres qui leur seront proposées : David Newman, analyste de National Bank Financial, croit que le Pool reviendra avec une autre offre… de connivence avec Archer Daniel Midlands (ADM)! Il faut savoir que ADM possède 28 % d’Agricore et que pour qu’une fusion se fasse, il faut que 75 % des actionnaires l’acceptent. C’est donc un droit de veto que possède ADM. Cependant, les règlements d’Agricore prévoient aussi que ADM doit accepter un projet de fusion recommandé par le conseil ou alors, il doit présenter une meilleure offre.

Mais quelle mouche a donc piqué le Saskatchewan Wheat Pool? Toute cette frénésie serait-elle liée à l’engouement soudain pour l’utilisation du grain à des fins énergétiques? Les prix sont à la hausse et, bien sûr, ces grandes entreprises veulent assurer leur approvisionnement. C’est la course au grain le moins cher. Surtout que le Pool vient justement de conclure un contrat avec Terra Grain Fuels pour faire de l’éthanol. Enfin. Si des gens vous proposent un jour de démutualiser votre coopérative, parce qu’ils veulent votre bien… croyez-les. Ils veulent vraiment votre bien et ils l’auront, si vous n’y prenez garde.


 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés