Growth and Development
July-August 2007
In a world with limited resources, growth and expansion aren’t endless and forever-lasting. A statement that seems rather obvious and yet, from the executive suites of the Western world, sales growth is still the only measure of success. Naturally when a small business expands and a few more zeros are added to their sales figures, they’re clearly doing something right for their customers. We can therefore assume that the company is playing its role well and is adequately responding to society’s needs. But how and, especially, where does success stand in our productivity-based model?

In the cooperative environment where social accountability is part of the mission statement, another indicator of success is added to the equation: benefits to the community. In this respect commercial activities can be applied to a much broader horizon. In fact, a cooperative must take into consideration the full impact of its growth objective. For example, agricultural cooperation is directly dependent on a resource that is less and less available yet increasingly in demand: the earth. What I mean is good earth, fertile soil. It is well documented that desertification is becoming a real threat. According to a report produced by the Canadian government, seven million hectares of fertile soil is destroyed every year all over the planet. The main culprits are overgrazing, deforestation and mechanical farming. Even the Canadian prairies are affected by this phenomenon.

In fact, our soil resource is very limited. And this reality should prompt soil-dependent businesses into action. This year, the energy industry has already started to apply pressure: a portion of all agricultural land should be used to fuel the energy sector. Obviously, with the growing enthusiasm for biofuels, it’s become a very lucrative industry, and in view of the past financial hardships experienced by farmers, who could blame them for being tempted by this new venture?

In the end, let’s not forget that the market is in fact us: you and me as consumers. Think about it, isn’t this odd competition created between man and machine as to the destination of farm products proof, to a certain extent, of the pervasive imbalance inherent to our lifestyles? If so much energy has become necessary for our societies to function properly, it’s because of our endless search to quench our thirst for consumption. The business world is not into moralizing, it is simply responding to our needs. Yet, and this is a fact we all know, rampant consumption does not mean increased happiness. In the 70s, economist Richard Easterlin demonstrated that beyond a certain level of comfort, money and possessions no longer increase our level of happiness. In the July 2004 issue of Le Monde diplomatique, academician Jean-Marie Harribey states: “Liberal capitalism is unable to provide a meaning to life in society other than consumerism, waste, buying up natural resources and revenues from economic activity….” Nothing happy there!

Imagine if everyone in the world decided to adopt our lifestyle. The world would never survive. In truth, scientists have had to calculate this equation in the number of planets that would be required to make this happen. No way! Now what? It’s a “yes” for us and “sorry” for everyone else? It seems like this is the only way to sustain the unbridled growth of our North American society; by maintaining the rest of the world in abject poverty. Which is obviously immoral.

We’ll need to change this paradigm and replace the objectives of growth and expansion by one of development. Development that, according to Harribey, is defined as “the possibility for all of Earth’s inhabitants to have access to clean water, a balanced diet, health care, education and democracy.” This kind of hope and optimism can only be found in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Something to think about for certain. And here we are, somewhat in spite of ourselves, pushed onto the path of responsible consumerism, voluntary simplicity – call it what you will. Not exactly easy for us since we live and breathe in a wealth of abundance, but it’s all about coherence: if we want Human Rights to be more than a self-important declaration written on luxuriant parchment, we’d better stop thinking and start doing.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Croissance et développement
Juillet-Août 2007
Dans un monde aux ressources limitées, la croissance ne peut être éternelle. Cela semble une évidence et pourtant, dans les hauts lieux du management, l’expansion des entreprises demeure encore l’indice préféré de mesure du succès. Bien sûr, quand une entreprise grossit, quand les chiffres s’allongent par la gauche, c’est qu’il y a une clientèle qui est satisfaite. On présume donc que l’entreprise joue bien son rôle et qu’elle répond adéquatement aux besoins de la société. Mais lorsque telle croissance exerce une nécessaire ponction sur les ressources naturelles, on doit se demander dans quelle perspective s’inscrit le succès de notre modèle d’affaires. Et considérant que les pays émergents entendent bien prendre leur part du gâteau en surpassant nos performances déjà extraordinaires, ne court-on pas vers un cul-de-sac?

En agriculture par exemple, nous dépendons directement d’une ressource toujours plus convoitée et de moins en moins disponible : la terre. J’entends ici la bonne terre. La terre fertile. Sur tous les continents, et c’est bien documenté, la désertification devient une réelle menace. Selon un rapport du gouvernement canadien, sept millions d’hectares de terres fertiles se dégradent chaque année dans le monde, principalement à cause du surpâturage, de la déforestation et de la culture mécanique. Même les Prairies canadiennes sont touchées par le phénomène.

Notre ressource terre est donc vraiment limitée. Voilà qui devrait interpeller toutes les entreprises axées sur son exploitation. Déjà, cette année, le secteur de l’énergie met de la pression : il faudrait maintenant exploiter une partie des terres agricoles pour en acheminer les fruits vers le secteur énergétique. Bien sûr, avec l’engouement croissant pour les biocarburants, c’est un secteur des plus lucratif et, en ces années de crise des revenus agricoles, on ne saurait blâmer les agriculteurs qui sont tentés par ce nouveau marché.

Mais rappelons-nous que le marché, en fin de compte, c’est toujours nous, consommateurs. Ainsi, cette étrange compétition qui se dresse aujourd’hui entre l’homme et la machine pour la destination des produits de l’agriculture dévoile, à mon avis, un flagrant déséquilibre dans nos modes de vie. Si tant d’énergie est devenue nécessaire à la bonne marche de nos sociétés, c’est à cause de notre soif de consommer toujours plus. Les entreprises ne font pas de morale, elles répondent simplement à notre demande. Pourtant, on le sait bien, consommer abondamment ne rend pas plus heureux. L’économiste Richard Easterlin démontrait déjà, dans les années 70, qu’au-delà d’un certain niveau de confort, l’argent et la possession de biens ne font plus augmenter le bonheur. Dans Le Monde diplomatique de juillet 2004, l’universitaire Jean-Marie Harribey en remet : « Le capitalisme libéral se montre incapable d’indiquer un sens à la vie en société autre que le consumérisme, le gaspillage, l’accaparement des ressources naturelles et des revenus issus de l’activité économique... » Rien de réjouissant.

Et puis, nous le savons maintenant, si tout le monde ici-bas décidait d’avoir le même train de vie que nous, on n’y arriverait jamais. Les scientifiques ont calculé cela en nombre de planètes Terre qui seraient requises. No way! Alors quoi? C’est « oui » pour nous, mais « désolés » pour les autres? Car il semble bien que la seule façon de soutenir la croissance débridée de notre société nord-américaine soit d’en retenir d’autres dans un état de pauvreté. Ce qui est immoral, évidemment.

Il nous faudra donc changer de paradigme et remplacer l’objectif de croissance par l’objectif de développement. Un développement qui, toujours selon Harribey, se définit comme « la possibilité pour tous les habitants de la Terre d’accéder à l’eau potable, à une alimentation équilibrée, aux soins, à l’éducation et à la démocratie ». Pareils espoirs se trouvent d’ailleurs dans la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme.

Matière à réflexion. Nous voilà donc, un peu malgré nous, poussés sur la voie de la consommation responsable, de la simplicité volontaire – appelons ça comme on veut. Pas évident, pour nous qui sommes dans l’abondance, mais c’est une question de cohérence : si on veut que les droits de l’homme soient plus qu’une belle déclaration couchée sur papier luxueux, mieux vaut attacher ses bottines et se mettre en marche.


 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés