The Quiet Strength of a Large Network
December 2007
Decreasing evenings with friends, dinners with family, and association meetings in the U.S.A. is compromising the country’s economic efficiency. This is only one of the surprising observations made Robert Putnam, an American political scientist and author of “Bowling Alone: America’s Declining Social Capital”. This book has had such great success since its publication in 1995 that organizations, such as the World Bank and Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) were inspired to use its concept to integrate elements of social development into their projects.

As for our cooperatives, social capital brings to mind a person’s stock in becoming a member. Let’s just forget about this for now. Political scientists view social capital as a representation of a person’s social relationships. In other words, an individual’s personal network. According to Putnam, the social capital of a society constitutes a public good that can significantly increase its efficacy. Which means, the stronger the interpersonal relationships, the more resilient the social fibre, the better society will be. In fact, when a person socializes and builds networks, that person increases his or her world of intangible assets: participation, trust, reciprocity and tolerance. In fact, such values reduce the cost of transactions within the collective. Trust, for example. If I work on a project with someone I trust, there will be no need for extensive formalities, legal advice, guarantees, personal and professional research on my future partner, etc. The project can then be completed within a shorter timeframe and at a lesser cost. Which brings me to why I believe Putnam said that social capital allows a society to function more efficiently.

Definitely something to think about. And along this same line, the American economist, Francis Fukuyama, noted that “Asia’s developing economies owe their success to forms of social capital that are often considered insignificant, such as trust, the feeling of belonging and social integration”. When he looks at the United Stated and the United Kingdom, he predicts that their proclivity toward individualism will soon undermine their respective economies. Uh, oh… Let’s not forget that we too are open to egoism.

I’m glad to see that the Québec government, in its sustainable development strategy, supports involvement in the community, community action and democracy. Community action, as stated in the government brief, “ultimately targets social development and is exemplified by organization that try to improve the social fabric and living conditions…”. Correct. We need to shout it loud and clear for everyone to hear: our cooperatives are part of such organizations that heavily contribute to Québec’s social capital.

In terms of our network, and with the scene set for Chrysalide, which will entail a huge restructuring, social capital will be stretched thin. All over. Areas of participation and control will remain intact and where they are most needed, which means close to producers who are the very foundation of our network. It’s the principle of subsidiarity, which is required by any approach to sustainable development. However, with Chrysalide, structural angst will be part of the whole. And that’s when we need to remember that it is people, much more than structures, that make a difference. Yes, people. Our people. Our social capital. Everything that symbolizes solidarity and mutual aid is needed to carry out this huge endeavour. Thank goodness our network has been developing its social capital for nearly a century – we should have enough stock by now, don’t you think? And the beauty of this type of social capital is that… the more we use it, the more it multiplies! So why not be generous.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

La force tranquille d’un grand réseau
Décembre 2007
Aux États-Unis, les soirées entre amis, les dîners en famille, les réunions associatives sont en déclin et cela compromet l’efficacité économique du pays. Voilà l’une des surprenantes observations que rapporte Robert Putnam, politologue américain et auteur d’un ouvrage intitulé Bowling Alone : America’s Declining Social Capital. Ce livre, portant sur le capital social, a eu un tel succès que depuis sa publication, en 1995, des organisations telles la Banque mondiale et l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) s’en sont inspirées pour mieux intégrer dans leurs travaux les dimensions sociales du développement.

Dans nos coopératives, le capital social évoque les parts qu’un individu souscrit pour devenir membre. Oubliez cela pour un instant. Pour les sociologues, le capital social est l’ensemble des relations sociales dont dispose un individu. Son réseau, quoi. D’après Putnam, le capital social d’une collectivité constitue un bien public qui peut augmenter sensiblement son efficacité. Autrement dit, plus les relations entre les gens sont fortes, plus le tissu social est solide, plus leur collectivité sera efficace. En effet, lorsque l’individu socialise et construit des réseaux, il enrichit son environnement d’actifs intangibles : la participation, la confiance, la réciprocité et la tolérance. Or, ces valeurs humaines diminuent le coût des transactions au sein de la collectivité. Prenons simplement, par exemple, la confiance. Si j’ai un projet avec quelqu’un en qui j’ai confiance, je n’exigerai pas autant de formalités, d’avis d’avocats, de garanties, de recherche sur mon futur partenaire, etc. Le projet pourra donc être réalisé plus rapidement et à moindre coût. C’est ce qui fait dire à Putnam que le capital social permet à une société de fonctionner plus efficacement.

Matière à réflexion. Dans la même veine, l’économiste américain Francis Fukuyama remarque que « les économies émergentes d’Asie doivent leur succès à des formes de capital social souvent tenues pour insignifiantes, comme la confiance, le sens de l’appartenance et l’intégration sociale ». Et lorsqu’il observe les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni, il prédit que leur propension vers l’individualisme va bientôt miner leurs économies. Oh, oh… Attention, nous ne sommes pas à l’abri de cette tendance individualiste.

Il est bon de constater que le gouvernement québécois, dans sa stratégie de développement durable, promeut la participation à la vie collective, à l’action communautaire et à la vie démocratique. L’action communautaire, indique le mémoire du gouvernement, « vise ultimement le développement social et s’incarne dans des organismes qui s’efforcent d’améliorer le tissu social et les conditions de vie... ». Très juste. Faut-il le rappeler et le proclamer haut et fort : nos coopératives sont au nombre de ces organismes qui contribuent fortement au capital social québécois.

Dans notre réseau, avec le grand chantier Chrysalide qui appelle à une vaste réorganisation, le capital social sera fortement sollicité. Partout. Les lieux de participation et de contrôle seront gardés intacts, là où ils importent, c’est-à-dire près des membres agriculteurs qui constituent la base de notre réseau. C’est le principe de subsidiarité, prescrit dans toute démarche de développement durable. Mais aussi, avec Chrysalide, des deuils de structure devront être assumés. Il faudra alors se rappeler que ce sont les gens, bien plus que les structures, qui font la différence. Oui, les gens. Nos gens. Notre capital social. Lequel devra libérer tout ce qu’il recèle de solidarité et d’entraide pour réaliser ce grand projet. Heureusement, notre réseau développe son capital social depuis près d’un siècle – on devrait en avoir accumulé suffisamment, non? Et puis la beauté, avec ce type de capital, c’est que… plus on l’utilise, plus il se multiplie! Sachons donc nous montrer généreux.


 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés