Mindful Marketing
February 2008
I remember meeting a Québec co-operator who firmly believed that a cooperative should not advertise. He insisted that a cooperative’s duty was to inform. He was pretty categorical, but his opinion does lead us to reflect on business ethics and their often less than honest advertising processes. Advertising may be misleading or completely false, it may be touching or funny, but its purpose is to sell – one way or another – regardless of actual need. In marketing terms, advertising is just another selling tool. In fact, we can now directly address and manipulate the client’s subconscious to drum up sales, without even resorting to advertising. An idea that, for a co-operator, poses an obvious ethical conundrum.

Under the cover of confidentiality, some big companies have long been collaborating with neurological research labs. They have so far discovered that part of the brain, the reptilian zone, is responsible for our buying urges. We have entered into the era of neuro-marketing where titillating the consumer’s reptilian zone is a sure way to increase sales. Perfumes and other sensory stimuli, sometimes subliminal, are hard at work and are the result of marketing firms specializing in this avant-garde science.

“Our reason for being is to help you trigger the buying impulse”, such is the loosely translated motto of a neuromarketing-based company advertising its wares on the Internet. All this is fascinating… but isn’t it just a little disquieting? Will we soon be suckered into buying anything and everything?

To tip the scales on the side of decency, since the limits of social acceptability have almost been reached, there is another kind of approach making its way in the world, one that is the complete opposite of neuromarketing. Introducing socially responsible marketing. This approach calls upon the company as world citizen, embracing accountability and sustainable development while seeking the respect of its clientele. Jacques Nantel, professor at the HEC and renowned marketing specialist, believes that socially responsible marketing is in fact the strategy of the future. The principle is simple: if the marketplace supports business and employment, we must be careful not to run this precious resource dry. Consequently, business would be well advised to preserve its clients’ buying power to ensure its own future. Statistics have shown that households have almost doubled their debt level over the past twenty years: in the long term, our credit hungry society cannot survive. Selling is all well and good, but when cold, hard cash is no longer part of the equation, neither the client nor the business are winners.

How does this responsible marketing approach translate in the real world? First, it promotes complete and adequate training for sales staff, which lets sales people understand client needs and advise them accordingly for the purpose of guiding them toward more socially responsible consumption. Thus, the sales staff can dissuade a client from purchasing a particular product by indicating that such product by far exceeds the identified need. In the short term, the sale may be lost, but the customer’s trust has been gained. This certainly goes a long way in satisfying corporate ethical concerns and in maintaining the interest of those in charge of commercial strategy.

Evidently, responsible marketing is not accessible to everyone. Nowadays, this approach is almost a luxury reserved to companies that already enjoy loyal support. Should a business have a lesser following, the hard earned dollars it sacrifices to this approach will be lost to their fiercest competitor. Some of our cooperatives are already positioning themselves as part of this new socially responsible marketing movement. As for the others, they’ll need to make some adjustments and educate their clientele… because what seems like a luxury today may well become an integral part of corporate social accountability in the future.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Le marketing dans tous ses états
Février 2008
Je me souviens d’un grand coopérateur de chez nous qui croyait fermement qu’une coopérative, ça ne devait pas faire de publicité. Une coopérative devait simplement informer, précisait-il. Opinion tranchée certes, mais qui a le mérite de faire réfléchir sur l’éthique d’entreprise et les procédés pas toujours honnêtes de la publicité. En effet, tantôt trompeuse ou carrément fausse, tantôt belle ou amusante, la publicité vise essentiellement à faire vendre, sans tenir compte du fait qu’il y ait ou non un besoin réel. Or, la publicité n’est qu’un moyen parmi bien d’autres, dans l’arsenal du marketing. Aujourd’hui, pour mousser ses ventes, on peut s’adresser directement à l’inconscient de son client et le manipuler, sans même passer par la publicité. Ce qui soulève encore, pour un coopérateur, d’évidentes réserves d’ordre éthique.

Sous le couvert de la confidentialité, de grandes entreprises collaborent depuis un bon moment avec des laboratoires de recherche spécialisés en neurologie. On a réussi à identifier cette partie du cerveau, la partie reptilienne, qui est responsable de nos impulsions d’achat. C’est l’ère du neuromarketing.

Il suffit maintenant d’aller titiller la zone reptilienne des consommateurs pour multiplier les ventes. Déjà, parfums et autres stimulations sensorielles, parfois subliminales, sont de service et des firmes de marketing se spécialisent dans cette science d’avant-garde. « Vous aider à déclencher des actes d’achat, telle est notre raison d’être », annonce sur Internet une entreprise qui s’appuie sur le neuromarketing. Tout cela est fascinant… mais combien inquiétant. Serons-nous bientôt des poissons prêts à mordre à tout hameçon qu’on nous présentera?

Peut-être par retour de balancier, les limites de l’acceptabilité sociale étant presque atteintes, voici qu’une autre approche fait son chemin, tout à l’opposé du neuromarketing. Voici venir le marketing responsable. C’est une approche qui interpelle l’entreprise citoyenne, celle qui se réclame d’un respect de sa clientèle et qui s’inscrit résolument dans le développement durable. Jacques Nantel, professeur aux HEC et grand spécialiste du marketing, prétend que le marketing responsable, c’est la stratégie de l’avenir. Le principe est simple : si c’est le marché qui soutient l’entreprise et les emplois, il faut prendre garde de tarir cette précieuse source. L’entreprise a donc avantage à préserver le pouvoir d’achat de son client afin d’assurer sa propre pérennité. On dit que le taux d’endettement des ménages a presque doublé au cours des vingt dernières années : à long terme, notre société de crédit n’est pas soutenable. C’est bien beau de vendre, mais quand l’argent solide n’est plus au rendez-vous, on n’aide ni son client ni sa propre entreprise.

Comment donc se traduit cette approche de marketing responsable? Elle préconise d’abord que l’entreprise forme adéquatement ses vendeurs pour qu’ils soient davantage des conseillers et qu’ils comprennent bien le besoin du client, afin de le diriger vers une consommation plus responsable. Ainsi, des vendeurs pourront dissuader leur client d’acheter tel produit en leur indiquant qu’il dépasse largement le besoin identifié. À court terme, on perd peut-être une vente, mais on gagne ainsi la confiance de sa clientèle. De quoi satisfaire ceux qui se préoccupent de l’éthique d’entreprise, mais qui intéresse tout autant les responsables de la stratégie commerciale.
Bien entendu, faire du marketing responsable n’est pas à la portée de tous. Aujourd’hui, c’est presque un luxe réservé aux entreprises qui peuvent compter sur une clientèle loyale. Sinon, les beaux dollars qu’a sacrifiés l’entreprise responsable iront à son compétiteur. Assurément, certaines de nos coopératives se positionnent déjà dans cette mouvance du marketing responsable. Quant aux autres, il leur faudra s’ajuster et éduquer leur clientèle… car ce qui semble un luxe aujourd’hui pourrait bien, dans le futur, devenir partie intégrante de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés