Favourite Markets
September 2008
About a dozen years ago when I first moved to the old section of Dorion, I would walk a couple of blocks to the little neighbourhood grocery store and get what I needed from its well-stocked shelves. It was an opportunity to meet other people from the neighbourhood. And service was impeccable. The butcher knew exactly which cuts of meat I preferred and would conscientiously prepare them while inquiring about my mother-in-law’s health. The whole experience was very pleasant and forthcoming.

That little grocery store is no more. Only the convenience stores have survived. In turn, Vaudreuil, the city we’ve merged with, is now host to an array of big box stores, such as Wal-Mart and the likes. There are even food warehouse stores. Everything you could ever want… and more! This is the type of development that seems to be most popular right now: large retail centres grouped together to form a depressingly homogeneous concrete landscape. But is this really the way of the future? I’m not so sure.

In terms of the food industry, buying local seems to be winning increasing favour and smaller local markets are usually the favoured source. This summer, there were officially 65 public markets registered with the recently formed the Association des marchés publics du Québec. In fact, the number of markets has doubled over the past four years, which doesn’t even include farmers’ markets that are often a little smaller and but just as popular. On the whole, customers are a generally younger and more aware of the nutritive value of fresh foods, the lighter ecological footprint of such foods and they seem to find great enjoyment in meeting their neighbours.

Some Québec food cooperatives have also chosen to respond to this quest for quality and responsible consumerism. In Europe, the large cooperative group known as Midcounties sets aside select shelf space in its stores to display local as well as fair trade products. Because there are some food basics that still need to be imported, such as sugar, coffee, tea, and chocolate. This creates an opportunity to develop new trade relationships with cooperatives that, in turn, ensure a fair redistribution of any extras obtained from the sale of these products. As for disbelievers, note that Midcounties’ sales and member recruitment have both reaped the benefits!

In the U.S., several cooperatives organize their members’ product distribution through small grocery and food markets. In eastern Canada, Coop Atlantic store aisles increasingly feature the “cooperative distinction”: large signs introducing local farmers and their products to allow consumers to associate a face to the foods they’re buying. How ingenious! This is a far cry from the bland atmosphere that reigns in big box stores.

Nonetheless, I miss my little neighbourhood market where familiar faces were a friendly reminder of the community to which I am a part of. Last summer, I took part in a community-based agricultural program. I liked the principle, but I had to give away half of my weekly baskets because I wasn’t available to pick them up within the planned timeline. I think my schedule is too complicated for this type of formula. Ah, to delight in the flavours of freshly-picked products – nothing beats the delicately sweet crunch of a carrot pulled from right the soil – my backyard garden will have to do for now. Both my pocketbook and the environment are the richer for it since my vegetables don’t travel and my garden thrives on manure and compost. Furthermore, I enjoy working with the earth, digging my fingers deep into the soil, it makes for great therapy for the mind. But, as you all know, nothing is perfect: birds and squirrels couldn’t care less about the health of my loved ones.





 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Les marchés qu’on aime
Septembre 2008
Quand j’ai emménagé dans le Vieux-Dorion, il y a une douzaine d’années, je n’avais qu’à marcher deux coins de rue pour me rendre à une petite épicerie de quartier très bien garnie. J’y rencontrais les gens du voisinage. Le service était impeccable. Le boucher connaissait bien mes coupes de viande préférées et me les préparait consciencieusement, tout en s’enquérant de la santé de ma belle-mère. C’était fort sympathique.

La petite épicerie a fermé ses portes. Ne restent plus que les dépanneurs, dans le coin. En revanche, Vaudreuil, avec qui nous sommes fusionnés, accueille maintenant tous les Wal-Mart et compagnie sur un même emplacement commercial. Des magasins-entrepôts de l’alimentation y sont aussi. On y trouve de tout… et même plus! C’est le modèle de développement qu’on semble privilégier, ces années-ci : de grands centres commerciaux regroupés dans un paysage de béton déprimant. Mais est-ce vraiment la solution de l’avenir? Pas si sûr.

Dans le domaine alimentaire en tout cas, l’achat local regagne ses lettres de noblesse et c’est le plus souvent dans les petits marchés publics qu’on s’y adonne. Cet été, 65 de ces établissements étaient officiellement inscrits auprès de la jeune Association des marchés publics du Québec. Leur nombre a doublé en quatre ans. Et c’est sans compter les marchés fermiers, qui sont plus petits et, eux aussi, en grande vogue. La clientèle, dit-on, s’est rajeunie et se montre plus sensible à la valeur nutritive des aliments frais, à l’empreinte écologique plus légère et au plaisir de rencontrer ses voisins.

Quelques coopératives d’alimentation québécoises ont aussi choisi de répondre à cette recherche du bon et du bien dans l’acte de consommation. En Europe, le grand groupe coopératif Midcounties réserve des espaces en tablettes de choix dans ses magasins pour les articles locaux, tout comme pour des produits équitables. Car il y a des denrées qu’il faut bien importer, tels le sucre, le café, le thé, le chocolat. On en profite donc pour développer de nouvelles relations commerciales avec des coopératives qui assurent, là-bas, une redistribution équitable des excédents réalisés sur la vente de ces produits. Et, avis aux sceptiques, tant les ventes que le recrutement des membres chez Midcounties s’en trouvent améliorés!

Aux États-Unis, de nombreuses coopératives organisent la distribution des produits de leurs membres à l’aide de petits marchés d’alimentation. Dans les allées des magasins de la Coop Atlantique, dans l’Est canadien, le virage « distinction coopérative » se fait de plus en plus visible : de grands panneaux présentent les agriculteurs locaux afin que le consommateur puisse mettre un visage sur le produit qu’il achète. Sympathique. On est loin de l’atmosphère éteinte des magasins-entrepôts.

Toujours est-il que je m’ennuie de ma petite épicerie de quartier, où des têtes familières me rappelaient mes appartenances. J’ai participé, l’été dernier, au programme d’agriculture soutenue par la communauté. J’aime bien le principe, mais j’ai dû donner la moitié de mes paniers hebdomadaires parce que je n’étais pas disponible pour les ramasser au moment de la livraison. Je crois que mon horaire est trop compliqué pour cette formule. Aussi, pour goûter les saveurs des produits fraîchement cueillis – puisqu’il n’y a rien qui surpasse la carotte si délicieusement croquante qui sort directement de terre –, je m’en remets désormais à mon petit potager. C’est bon pour mon portefeuille et c’est bon pour l’environnement, étant donné que mes légumes ne voyagent pas et que mon potager ne reçoit que du fumier et du compost. C’est bon aussi pour mon équilibre mental, car jouer dans la terre est une véritable thérapie. Mais, vous savez, il n’y a rien de parfait : les oiseaux et les écureuils, eux, se fichent complètement de la santé de mes bien-aimés.i



 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés