Cooperative Revival
December 2008
At the start of the last century, cooperation was a lifesaving device to fend off a hostile trading setting. In agriculture for example, farmers were at the mercy of immoral vendors selling sometimes questionable quality products with varying reliability in terms of weights and measures. Shrewd cattle buyers would travel the countryside preying on farmers in need of cash. In those days, setting up a cooperative was a question of survival.

As time went by, the market acquired some credibility, with the implementation of rules and regulations and several private enterprises began offering very high quality services to Québec agricultural producers. Endorsing and promoting cooperation became an issue of principle, an act of faith. Conviction determined the character of a co-operator. Cooperative values such as fairness, mutual assistance and group endeavour made sense for the people of Québec who cherished this kind of community organization where, as a group, they were able to create and share modest wealth.

Times have changed again. We are now living in the age of information. Everything is examined under a microscope only to discover, often harshly, the not so bright sides to those great powers overseeing our planet. Pollution, misappropriation of funds, overexploitation of resources, numbers manipulation…

In addition to the swindlers we uncover: various lobby groups make sure to spread the information. Throughout the mayhem, the cooperative enterprise suddenly appears to be a quiet and peaceful refuge, a haven of stability. Its results, solid as a rock, are gradually being recorded. And now, far from being some kind of exaltation of the spirit, cooperative fervour is becoming a rational decision based on facts.

Fact: cooperatives are an instrument for worldwide peace. A fact documented by an authors collective in a book titled Co-operatives and the Pursuit of Peace. Fact: cooperatives last longer than other types of businesses. Documented in the study Taux de survie des coopératives au Québec conducted by the ministère du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation du Québec. Fact: cooperatives are socially responsible enterprises. As attested to by the social reports cooperatives produce. Fact: cooperatives are democratically administrated. Proof of which can be found in the minutes recording their meeting. Fact: cooperatives generate actual wealth. Shares are nominal and free of any secondary market, which means they aren’t exposed to specu­lation. And the list could go on, but I will stop now to share this last comment.

When the financial crisis hit at the end of the summer and battered our pension funds, when we discovered that it was all due to irrational behaviours motivated by greed, speculation and contempt for small investors, a collective grumble could be heard. We have been struck where it hurts, right in the pocketbook, and it is a hard pill to swallow. But, you know what? As I was looking through my investment statements I felt some consolation. I still have some money in the Cooperative Investment Plan and these funds remain intact and represent actual money. Furthermore, they are used to help my employer. So allow me to congratulate myself on making such a sound investment!

There might be something good about this crisis. It will set a few things straight; it will force people to be practical and level-headed, to constantly demand more transparency and to keep a watchful eye on those we trust with our savings. Let’s hope that it will also encourage growing interest in cooperative enterprises and attract a new group of employees and entrepreneurs who, disenchanted with a highly volatile system, will become ardent defenders of cooperation… until that time when all this turmoil is forgotten and the lure of the get-rich-quick lifestyle returns to haunt us. Our collective memory is highly selective….



 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director of Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Une embellie coopérative
Décembre 2008

Au début du siècle dernier, la coopération était une bouée de sauvetage pour se défendre dans un espace marchand hostile. En agriculture par exemple, on était à la merci de vendeurs pas toujours consciencieux quant à la qualité des produits et pas toujours fiables non plus quant aux poids et mesures. Les acheteurs de bétail, malins, sillonnaient les rangs et raflaient pour une bouchée de pain les bêtes que l’on devait céder pour obtenir un peu de liquidités. Mettre sur pied une coopérative était alors d’un intérêt certain et immédiat.

Puis le marché s’est assaini, des règles furent imposées et de nombreuses entreprises privées se sont mises à offrir des services de très bonne qualité aux producteurs agricoles québécois. Promouvoir la coopération est alors devenu une affaire de principes, un acte de foi. On était un bon coopérateur par conviction. Les valeurs coopératives d’équité, d’entraide et de prise en charge collective résonnaient parfaitement au sein de la population québécoise qui prisait ce type d’organisation communautaire où, ensemble, on arrivait à créer et à se partager un peu de richesse.

Aujourd’hui, le contexte est tout autre. Nous sommes à l’ère de l’information. Tout est scruté à la loupe. Or voilà qu’on découvre, et souvent brutalement, les côtés pas si reluisants des grandes puissances qui régissent la planète. Pollution, détournement de fonds, surexploitation des ressources, manipulation de chiffres... Sus aux tricheurs qu’on démasque : différents groupes de pression s’assurent de faire circuler l’information. Dans la tourmente, l’entreprise coopérative apparaît soudainement comme un paisible refuge, un havre de stabilité. Sa feuille de route, très solide, se documente peu à peu. Désormais, loin d’être une exaltation de l’esprit, la ferveur coopérative prend l’allure d’un choix rationnel appuyé de faits.

Fait : les coopératives sont un instrument de paix mondiale. Documenté dans le livre Co-operatives and the Pursuit of Peace, produit par un collectif d’auteurs. Fait : les coopératives durent bien plus longtemps que les autres types d’entreprises. Documenté dans Taux de survie des coopératives au Québec, du ministère du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation du Québec. Fait : les coopératives sont des entreprises socialement responsables. Documenté de plus en plus dans les bilans sociaux qu’elles produisent. Fait : les coopératives sont administrées démocratiquement. Documenté dans les procès-verbaux de leurs assemblées. Fait : les coopératives génèrent une richesse qui est réelle. Du fait que leurs parts, nominatives et sans marché secondaire, ne sont pas exposées à la spéculation. Et la liste pourrait être longue, mais je m’arrêterai ici pour un dernier commentaire.

Quand la crise financière s’est brusquement abattue à la fin de l’été sur nos fonds de retraite, quand on a découvert qu’elle découlait d’une suite de comportements irrationnels motivés par la spéculation, la cupidité et le mépris envers les petits épargnants, nous avons tous grogné. Blessés droit au portefeuille, nous avons trouvé la pilule difficile à avaler. Mais savez-vous, en parcourant mes relevés d’investissements, j’ai eu une consolation. J’ai un peu d’argent dans le Régime d’investissement coopératif et ces fonds-là, eux, sont demeurés bien réels. En plus, ils profitent à mon employeur. Ah, que je me suis félicitée d’avoir investi à la bonne place!

Finalement, cette crise aura peut-être des bienfaits. Elle remettra les pendules à l’heure en poussant les gens à être réalistes, à exiger toujours plus de transparence et à surveiller de près les fiduciaires de nos économies. Souhaitons qu’elle provoquera aussi un regain d’intérêt pour les entreprises coopératives qui attireront dans leurs rangs une nouvelle cohorte d’employés et d’entrepreneurs qui, désabusés par un système trop volatil, se feront d’ardents défenseurs de la coopération... jusqu’à ce qu’on oublie tout le gâchis et que l’appât des gains rapides revienne nous hanter. Foutue mémoire!


 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : (514) 858-2025
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés