Tell Me a Story
January 2009
The times are long gone when businesses would force their product offering upon us. Nowadays, the overabundance of available goods and services has reversed the trade winds. Consumers have choices and they are now leading the market, pushing businesses to compete and to contend with strategies to pique their interest and attract their sympathy. Plugged into the Net and replete with an enormous amount of information, savvy consumers are becoming very demanding and generating new trends. No longer content with purchasing a product: they now want to know the product’s history. Where there once was a business-client relationship based on transactional logic, the scales are now tipping towards a relational logic. Where does this product come from? What kind of company is this? Who are the people leading this business? There are so many questions that can now influence a purchasing decision. The world of marketing has been turned upside down: they once boasted the advantages and benefits of the product to be sold, now, businesses tend to tell their story and share their value system.

At this point, there is nothing novel about this approach for cooperatives. Nothing at all – in principle! Cooperatives are designed to meet the needs of its members and their mission is one of education, therefore we could believe that cooperative enterprises would naturally value a relational approach where they provide consumers with tons of information about their particular status, and in doing so they would focus on the product’s less visible features. However, cooperatives have often kept their identity quiet and adopted a marketing style that was comparable to that of their competitors. But times have changed and we are now appreciating how the cooperative make-up affords it a valuable position, a position that we would be foolish not to take advantage of! It’s especially obvious on the other side of the ocean, in Europe.

Coop de France is the federation of French agricultural cooperatives. It developed the Agri-Confiance certi­fication, a three-party pledge (connecting farmers, the cooperative and the industrial entity) that guarantees consumers a full history of the product offering. Starting with the farmers’ cultivation practices up to and including the product’s processing procedures in the plant, Agri-Confiance is an exclusive promise made by French cooperatives to consumers and it is based on stringent environmental standards. When a product is given Agri-Confiance certification, it also provides it with a clear position featuring its geographic roots, its cooperative allegiance and a reduction of its environmental footprint.

Another interesting case is that of the French agricultural input cooperative, Invivo. Through its Gamm vert subsidiary it has launched an endeavour appealing to nature lovers to provide them with friendly access to agricultural know-how. It’s a hyphen concept liking the land to the rural urban community through a retail environment that encompasses garden, pet store and boutique-type store featuring local products. There are a lot of signs throughout the store aisles to maintain a feeling of proximity with customers and to remind them of its expertise in the field and is also a pledge of authenticity. The company is the product of agricultural cooperation and has made it its spearhead: the company entices agronomists with its motto “We know how to read your land”.

And now let’s have a look at The Co-op Bank. This is a cooperative bank in the United Kingdom that shares The Co-operative banner with other English cooperative sectors. Over there, cooperation is a way of life. They invest a lot to educate consumers about the cooperative difference and tempt them into becoming members. Co-op Bank focuses on an exemplary ethical policy to retain customer loyalty. Since 1992, it has refused business to the equivalent of 900 million pounds ($1.6 billion CAN) because they contradicted the bank’s ethical stand. Wow! They’re serious. How does it make sure it doesn’t lose any players with such categorical decisions? Simple: it encourages them to take part in developing policies through electronic voting. In short, the users themselves are responsible for such high standards. They wanted an ethical bank and they found it.

The truth is that positioning is a strategic element in business. How far do we want to go with our customers? How will we advise them, anticipate their wants and desires and win their trust? How will we develop the proximity that will make them loyal? It seems obvious to me that in cooperation, we already have this unique advantage of connection to our customers through their membership. Proximity is in our nature. But do we really know how to take full advantage of this unique feature that is our own? Now that’s something to think about!

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Raconte-moi une histoire
Janvier 2009

Il est bien révolu, le temps où les entreprises impo-saient en rois et maîtres leur offre de produits. Aujourd’hui, la surabondance de biens et de services disponibles a renversé la vapeur. Le consommateur a le choix et c’est lui désormais qui sanctionne le marché, poussant les entreprises à rivaliser de stratégies pour susciter son intérêt et attirer sa sympathie. Branché sur internet et disposant d’une quantité prodigieuse d’information, le consommateur averti devient exigeant et fait émerger de nouvelles tendances. Il ne se contente plus d’acheter un produit : il veut maintenant connaître l’histoire du produit. De la logique transactionnelle dont procédait autrefois le lien entre l’entreprise et son client, on bascule de plus en plus vers une logique relationnelle. D’où vient ce produit, quelle est cette entreprise, qui sont les gens aux commandes, autant de questions qui peuvent maintenant influer sur la décision d’achat. Les sphères du marketing s’en trouvent éclatées : alors qu’elles vantaient autrefois les vertus du produit à vendre, les entreprises tendent aujourd’hui à dire qui elles sont et quelles sont leurs valeurs.

Jusqu’ici, quoi de neuf pour les coopératives? En principe, rien du tout. Parce qu’elles sont orientées vers la réponse aux besoins des membres et qu’elles ont une mission éducative, on pourrait croire que les entreprises coopératives valorisent naturellement une approche relationnelle en informant abondamment le consommateur sur leur statut particulier et, ce faisant, sur les attributs non visibles de leurs produits. En pratique par contre, les coopératives ont souvent tu leur identité pour adopter un style de marketing semblable à celui de leurs compétiteurs. Mais les temps changent et on réalise aujourd’hui que la nature coopérative fournit un positionnement avantageux dont on serait fou de se priver! C’est particulièrement frappant de l’autre côté de l’océan, en Europe.

Coop de France est la fédération des coopératives agricoles françaises. Elle a développé la certification Agri-Confiance, un engagement tripartite (liant agriculteurs, coopérative et entité industrielle) qui garantit au consommateur une histoire complète du produit offert. Des pratiques culturales chez l’agriculteur jusqu’au procédé de transformation du produit dans l’usine, Agri-Confiance est une promesse client exclusive aux coopératives françaises et établie à partir de normes environnementales rigoureuses.

Apposée sur un produit, la certification Agri-Confiance positionne clairement son enracinement géogra­phique, son appartenance coopérative et la réduction de son empreinte environnementale.

Un autre cas intéressant est celui de la grande coopérative française d’intrants agricoles, Invivo. À travers sa filiale Gamm vert, elle a lancé un pont vers le consommateur amoureux de la nature pour lui donner un accès convivial au savoir agricole. C’est un concept de magasin alliant jardinerie, animalerie et boutique terroir. On y utilise abondamment l’affichage dans les allées pour entretenir une proximité avec les clients et rappeler son expertise de métier, gage d’authen­ticité. L’entreprise est issue de la coopération agricole et en fait son fer de lance : «Nous savons lire votre terre », assure-t-elle en évoquant les agronomes à son service.

The Co-op Bank, maintenant. Édifiant. Cette banque coopérative du Royaume-Uni partage la bannière The Co-operative avec les autres secteurs coopératifs anglais. La coopération est là-bas le maître mot. On investit énormément pour éduquer le consommateur à la différence coopérative et lui donner le goût de devenir membre. The Co-op Bank mise sur une politique éthique exemplaire pour conserver la fidélité de ses membres. Depuis 1992, elle a refusé des affaires totalisant 900 millions de livres sterling (1,6 milliard $CA) parce qu’elles contrevenaient à l’éthique de l’entreprise. Ouf! On ne rigole pas. Et comment s’assure-t-elle de ne pas perdre des joueurs avec des gestes aussi catégoriques? C’est simple : elle les fait participer à l’élaboration de la politique par vote électronique. Ce sont donc les usagers qui mettent la barre aussi haute. Ils voulaient une banque éthique et ils l’ont trouvée.

Oui, le positionnement est un élément stratégique dans la vision d’entreprise. Quel bout de chemin veut-on faire avec sa clientèle? Comment va-t-on la conseiller, anticiper ses désirs et mériter son attachement? Comment va-t-on développer cette proximité qui la rendra fidèle? Il m’apparaît évident qu’en coopé­ration, nous avons cet avantage inimitable d’être liés à notre clientèle par le sociétariat. La proximité, c’est dans notre nature. Mais savons-nous valoriser pleinement cet avantage qui est le nôtre? Voilà qui mérite réflexion.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés