Our Very Own C2C
March 2009
During a trip to England last fall, I couldn’t help but notice the prized shelf space occupied by fair trade products throughout The Cooperative Group chain of food stores. Every single one, even the smaller stores proudly displayed these products. Tea and coffee, chocolate, wine, fruits and a wide range of products are available and attainable in the “Fair Trade” section of these stores. The Cooperative Group is the uncontested British leader in the distribution of fair trade products and is also the foremost defender and promoter of fair trade commerce. In fact, in 2003 it received an award from Worldaware Business Awards for its infallible commitment over the decades. 

Should we be surprised that a cooperative group is so strongly committed to promoting fair trade? Of course not! Quite the contrary, we should be surprised that a cooperative can remain insensitive to such a remarkable chain of commonality shown by this type of commerce. In fact, another large cooperative network, this one from Switzerland, is the number one leader in the world in terms of distributing fair trade products. And those who benefit most from its endeavours are cooperatives from down South.

Let’s not forget that the basic notion of fair trade is to ensure decent wages for farmers in developing countries – a perfectly legitimate reason shared by an increasing number of farmers throughout the world. In 1964, during the first United Nations conference on trade and development, farmers from the South demanded trade access rather than humanitarian aid. They clamoured for “Trade, not aid!” Hence, the idea of fair trade takes root: to determine a product’s selling price based on its actual cost of production and the cost of ensuring a decent living for the producers’ families, a standard of living that respects basic human dignity. As a proof of good faith, producers gathered together and formed cooperatives to make certain the community would benefit from any positive repercussions and they made a commitment to sustainable agriculture. Fair trade was born.

A few naysayers tried to stop the initiative by asserting that prices were established based on the market’s supply and demand. But, gosh darn it, when market access is nonexistent, why should its rules apply? While others said that even if this system worked in the short term, the approach could not be sustained since it would keep farmers from reacting to consumer signals and that in the long term overproduction would become a problem, prices would drop, and so on and so on. However, this kind of scenario is usually triggered in the event of ‘substitute products’, a term oft used by economists that refers to products commonly interchanged by consumers, without distinction. But this is not the case. Fair trade products are distinct because people buy them for their story and their history. In fact, supporters of fair trade believe this type of commerce would be ideal as part of the vision of the World Trade Organization since it is not the result of governmental protectionist policies, but is rather a product of free choice on the part of consumers seeking ethical consumption practices.

As I mentioned, not surprising then that Northern cooperatives haven’t been swayed by fair trade. Who better than the head of a cooperative from here to appreciate the merits of cooperation abroad, its social project, its ethical approach, its human dimension? When one cooperative deals with another it’s comparable to speaking the same language, sharing similar values. It’s as if we were already acquainted! All of those who’ve had the opportunity, through SOCODEVI or otherwise, to visit cooperatives in the South will agree: when one cooperative deals with another cooperative, there is a common point of reference, a very efficient and economically sound starting point. 

Oh, about C2C! Don’t go searching textbooks to find it, I just made it up. It means inter-cooperation. It’s a take on the expression B2B (business to business), often used to refer to communications between businesses – it sounds so serious. I thought we could also give our version of communications a name and C2C (cooperative to cooperative) seems appropriate. Easy to use and highly versatile, drop it in any conversation, for example “Our new C2C business strategy is a resounding success!” Notice your bank manager’s smile stretch a little wider – especially if it’s a credit union!



 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Un C2C bien à nous
Mars 2009

Lors d’un voyage en Angleterre, l’automne dernier, j’ai pu constater la place de choix qu’occupent les produits équitables dans tous les marchés d’alimentation portant la bannière The Cooperative Group. Tous. Même les plus petits. Thé et café, chocolat, vin, fruits, toute une gamme de produits est ainsi présentée bien en évidence dans la section identifiée « Commerce équitable » des étalages. The Cooperative Group est le leader britannique incontesté, non seulement de la distribution des produits du commerce équitable, mais aussi de sa défense et de sa promotion. Son engagement indéfectible depuis quelques décennies lui a d’ailleurs valu en 2003 un prix du Worldaware Business Awards.

Faut-il s’étonner qu’un groupe coopératif s’engage si fort dans la promotion du commerce équitable? Pas du tout. Il faudrait au contraire s’étonner qu’une coopérative reste insensible à cette belle chaîne de solidarité que propose ce type de commerce. C’est d’ailleurs un autre grand réseau coopératif, suisse celui-là, qui figure au premier rang mondial de la distribution des produits équitables. Et ce sont des coopératives, au Sud, qui en bénéficient.

Rappelons que l’idée à la base du commerce équitable, c’est d’assurer aux agriculteurs des pays en développement des revenus décents pour leur travail – un souhait tout à fait légitime que partagent un nombre grandissant d’agriculteurs de par le monde. En 1964, lors de la première conférence des Nations unies sur le commerce et le développement, les agriculteurs du Sud ont réclamé un accès au marché plutôt que de l’aide humanitaire. « Trade, not aid! » qu’ils disaient. C’est ainsi que fut lancée l’idée de calculer le prix offert pour leurs produits à partir du coût réel de production et de ce qu’il en coûtait pour assurer à leur famille une existence conforme à la dignité humaine. En gage de leur bonne foi, ils se sont regroupés en coopératives afin que les retombées profitent à toute la communauté et ils se sont investis dans une agriculture durable. Le commerce équitable était né.

De petits malins ont bien tenté de freiner l’initiative en rappelant que la fixation des prix doit résulter de l’offre et de la demande sur le marché. Mais, diable, quand on n’y a même pas accès, à ce fameux marché, qu’est-ce qu’on a à faire de ses règles? D’autres ont ensuite prétendu que, même si cela fonctionnait à court terme, l’approche n’était pas durable parce qu’elle privait ces agriculteurs des signaux du consommateur et qu’à long terme il y aurait surproduction, que les prix s’effondreraient et tout le tra-la-la. Mais c’est oublier que pareil scénario se déclenche quand on a ce que les économistes appellent des produits substi­tuts, c’est-à-dire des produits que le consommateur remplace l’un par l’autre sans faire de différence. Or ce n’est pas le cas ici. Les produits du commerce équitable sont des produits différenciés que les gens achètent pour leur histoire unique. D’ailleurs, les partisans du commerce équitable plaident que tel commerce s’inscrirait parfaitement bien dans la vision de l’Orga­nisation mondiale du commerce puisqu’il n’est pas le fruit de politiques protectionnistes de la part des gouvernements, mais se nourrit plutôt du libre choix de citoyens soucieux d’une consommation éthique.

Pas étonnant, disais-je donc, que les coopératives du Nord s’intéressent au commerce équitable. Qui mieux qu’un dirigeant de coopérative d’ici peut apprécier le bien-fondé de la coopération là-bas, son projet social, sa démarche éthique, sa dimension humaine? Traiter de coopérative à coopérative, c’est parler un langage commun, bâtir sur des valeurs communes. C’est un peu comme si on se connaissait déjà! Tous ceux qui ont eu la chance, avec SOCODEVI ou autrement, de visiter des coopératives du Sud en conviendront : quand on traite de coopérative à coopérative, on ne part pas de zéro. Ce qui s’avère très efficace. Et économique, finalement.

Ah, oui... le C2C? Ne cherchez pas. C’est moi qui viens de l’inventer. Ça veut dire intercoopération, simplement. C’est un calque de la fameuse expression B2B (business to business) qu’on entend de plus en plus pour désigner les relations d’entreprise à entreprise – ça fait tellement sérieux! J’ai pensé qu’on pourrait bien, nous aussi, imposer notre non moins sérieux
C2C (cooperative to cooperative) juste pour nous autres! Vous pourriez lancer comme ça, mine de rien : « Notre nouvelle stratégie d’affaires C2C connaît un succès fou! » Votre banquier serait ravi – surtout si c’est une caisse populaire!



 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés