A Touch of Yin
April 2009

The best-selling Built to Last, Successful Habits of Visionary Companies written by James Collins and Jerry Porras has become a cult book for me. I read it about ten years ago and it still haunts me. Supported by a number of analysis, interviews and comparisons, the authors established that enduring companies had certain constants and recurring policies. The discovered that these companies tended to be a haven for two types of opposing yet complementary forces: forces that preserve core ideology and values, but also forces that stimulate progress and innovation.

Preserving the core and stimulating progress: that’s what we need to remember. And to make sure we remember, Collins and Porras use a recurring theme throughout the volume, the ancient Chinese symbol of philosophical duality, the Yin-yang, that famous circle where dark and light divided form a single tandem whole. The yang portion bears the inscription “Preserving the core” while in the yin portion is written “Stimulating progress”. However, we know that in this philosophy yang constitutes the masculine aspect of nature and yin is its feminine counterpart. For Collins and Perras, preserving the core comes from a masculine principle and change, is a feminine feature. This is not an insignificant detail to be dismissed, keep reading.

I’ve just finished reading Leadership and the Sexes, by Michael Gurian and Barbara Annis. It’s a recent publicationand just came out. Companies such as IBM, Deloitte & Touche, Nissan and IKEA have taken heed of Gurian and Annis’ advice to maintain their competitive edge. Throughout the book, the authors explain the influence of biology on leadership style. They explain why men and women behave differently in their professional and the private spheres. The main reasons: several hormones and a few brain particularities highlighted by digital imaging.

Gurian and Annis remind us that testosterone, just like oxytocin, commands very different and distinct responses to external stimuli. That’s why men and women usually develop totally different strategies to best meet their needs and those of their surroundings. This means that when a company is faced with all kinds of situations, it needs to have access to all types of available strategies.

Gurian and Annis demonstrate how masculine and feminine abilities are both complementary and essential to the success of a company. For example, men are believed to be more focused on results. And when a company is wavering, men are generally the ones to stand together to support it, to stand watch to preserve its culture, its reason for being. Notice the connection with “Preserving the core” as stated by Collins and Porras. As for women, they are seen to be more interested in the processes leading to results, to the chosen path, to the adequacy of the human and environment relationship. Being connected to the process, women would have a natural ability to flow with change, to discover new pathways. This concept undoubtedly reflects Collins and Porras statement of “Stimulating progress”.

I agree. It’s not that simple. We are complicated beings. Each one of us has masculine and feminine abilities. Nonetheless, statistics clearly show, without necessarily providing an explanation, that companies that perform best are those in which there is a heavy concentration of women at the top. Let’s put all this together and make our own conclusions. I’m all for a plan of action to interest more women cooperators to join our network. Come one, come all! If La Coop network can seek out and interest the best leaders from both biological worlds, more power to us. We’ll be in business, so hang on tight!



 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Mettez-y du yin!
Avril 2009

Le best-seller Bâties pour durer de James Collins et Jerry Porras est devenu pour moi un livre culte. Je l’ai lu il y a une dizaine d’années et il m’habite toujours. S’appuyant sur de nombreuses analyses, entrevues et comparaisons, les auteurs ont établi des constantes, des lignes de conduite récurrentes chez les entreprises qui durent. Ils ont découvert que celles-ci abritent toujours deux types de forces opposées, mais complémentaires : des forces qui préservent l’essence, la mission, mais aussi des forces qui stimulent le progrès, l’innovation.

Préserver l’essence et stimuler le progrès. C’est ce qu’il faut retenir. Et pour être bien sûrs qu’on s’en rappelle, Collins et Porras utilisent à répétition, tout au long de l’ouvrage, le symbole de la philosophie dualiste chinoise du yin et du yang, ce fameux cercle aux parties noire et blanche qui se fondent l’une dans l’autre. Dans la partie yang, ils ont inscrit « Préserver l’essence » et dans la partie yin, « Stimuler le progrès ». Or on sait que, dans cette philosophie, le yang constitue la part masculine de la nature et le yin, sa part féminine. Ainsi, pour Collins et Perras, la préservation de la mission relève du principe masculin, tandis que le changement, du féminin. Et ce détail n’est pas anodin. Suivez-moi bien.

Je termine la lecture de Leadership and the Sexes, de Michael Gurian et Barbara Annis. Ça vient tout juste de sortir. De grandes entreprises telles qu’IBM, Deloitte & Touche, Nissan et IKEA auraient utilisé les bons conseils de Gurian et Annis pour conserver leur compétitivité. Dans le livre, les auteurs expliquent l’influence de la biologie sur le style de leadership. Ils nous expliquent pourquoi les hommes et les femmes se comportent différemment, en entreprise comme à la maison. Les grands responsables : plusieurs hormones et certaines particularités du cerveau mises en évidence par imagerie numérique.

Gurian et Annis rappellent que la testostérone commande, tout comme l’ocytocine, des réponses tout à fait distinctes aux stimuli externes. C’est pourquoi les hommes et les femmes vont généralement développer des stratégies totalement différentes pour satisfaire au mieux leurs besoins et ceux de leurs semblables. Or il faut que l’entreprise, confrontée à toutes sortes de situations, puisse avoir accès à tous les types de stratégies disponibles.

Gurian et Annis indiquent comment les habiletés masculines et féminines sont toutes deux complémentaires et essentielles au succès d’entreprise. Par exemple, les hommes seraient davantage alignés sur les résultats. Et lorsque l’entreprise vacille, ce sont généralement des hommes qui se liguent pour la soutenir, veillant à préserver sa culture, sa raison d’être. Remarquez le lien avec « Préserver l’essence » de Collins et Porras. Les femmes, elles, s’intéresseraient davantage au processus menant aux résultats, au chemin emprunté, à l’adéquation de l’humain avec son environnement. Ainsi rattachées au processus, elles auraient des aptitudes naturelles pour accompagner le changement, pour trouver de nouveaux passages. Cela s’apparente indéniablement à la partie yin, « Stimuler le progrès », de Collins et Porras.

J’en conviens. Ce n’est pas si simple. Nous sommes des êtres complexes. Chacun de nous a sa part masculine et sa part féminine. Mais n’empêche que les statistiques révèlent clairement – sans toutefois l’expliquer – que les entreprises qui réussissent le mieux sont celles où il y a beaucoup de femmes à la haute direction. Mettons tout ça ensemble et tirons nos conclusions. Alors moi, un plan d’action pour intéresser plus de coopératrices à notre réseau, je suis pour. Mettez-en! que je me dis. Si le réseau La Coop réussit à aller chercher les meilleurs leaders de deux côtés, on est en affaires. Attachez vos tuques!

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés