Lessons Learned
May-June 2009
Ever since the financial crisis fell upon the United States and expanded throughout the world, there has been very little good news on the economic front. Everything seems paralyzed. People are worried, furious… or depressed. They say that prosperity is a great teacher, adversity a greater? So I thought this would be a good time to see how cooperative organizations are coping in this time of crisis. I didn’t have to investigate very long. In my view, it’s as clear as day: cooperatives are getting by much better in these harsh economic times and have become very appealing to the average citizen.  

Could this that the tables have turned and we’re being rewarded? Last December, the United Kingdom’s Co-operative Bank noted a 65% increase in the number of citizens transferring their current bank balances into their cooperative’s coffers; furthermore, it has seen the value of its term deposits jump by 87% throughout 2008. In a recent issue of the ICA Digest, the International Co-operative Alliance further noted that, since the start of the crisis, a wave of new members has flowed into European financial cooperatives. In Switzerland, the Migros cooperative reported 46,000 new accounts and as for the Raiffeisen cooperative, it stated an additional 100,000 accounts. Credit unions have also taken over much of India’s private banks customers. Savers are seeking refuge, worried that banks will abandon them for lack of liquid assets. There is a real crisis of confidence! Meanwhile, small neighbourhood cooperatives are emerging as the “people’s banks.”

Pete Crear, President and CEO of the World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU), reported that during the months of September and October of last year, in the midst of all this confusion, financial cooperatives received additional deposits equivalent to some 22 billion dollars US, this amount represents one third of their total deposits. That’s a lot of peanuts! Meanwhile, a non-cooperative bank was pulling out each week during this same period.

Here in Canada, the transfer of bank assets to cooperative organizations may not be as remarkable because, let’s admit it, our banks are well regulated. Nonetheless: the Desjardins network has demonstrated the strength of a cooperative basis. At the end of the latest financial exercise, deposits and capitals ratios were above those of Canadian banks. Credit ratings are excellent. What of the infamous Asset Backed Commercial Paper (ABCP)? The Desjardins network had very little of its own, however it did cover significant quantities owned by its members and institutional clients. – I bet that a large number of Quebeckers’ pension funds were among those stuck with devaluated ABCPs. – Let’s not forget that when the Desjardins network charged its surplus this year it was as a gesture of social accountability. But the media either did not or barely made note of the subtle nuance. Our credit unions are doing well. Thanks to their own capital, which provides them with a more stable foundation than that established by share capitals, and thanks to their network-based organization, which provides them with a local anchor and an international scope, the Desjardins network is truly our banking system’s flagship institution.

I am not saying my research was comprehensive but it does seem conclusive. When things are bad, people are looking for secure, reliable and honest organizations. Business ethics are suddenly taking on greater importance. Will the powers that be finally have the audacity to endorse cooperatives? We aren’t some strange species from a bygone era. Our cooperative values, our contribution to a true economy, the fact that we share our surplus with local communities and transfer our assets to future generations, all of it proves that we have learned our lesson well!

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Les vrais champions
Mai-Juin 2009

Depuis que la crise financière éclatée aux États-Unis s’est répandue à l’échelle internationale, il y a peu de bonnes nouvelles économiques. Tout semble paralysé. Les gens sont inquiets, furieux… ou déprimés. Mais ne dit-on pas que c’est dans l’adversité qu’on reconnaît les vrais champions? Voilà le bon moment, me suis-je dit, pour vérifier comment les organisations coopératives font face à la crise. Et je n’ai pas eu à chercher longtemps. Pour moi, c’est clair, net et précis : les coopé­ratives traversent mieux cette période trouble et deviennent même plus attrayantes pour les citoyens.

Cadeau de la crise, The Co-operative Bank, au Royaume-Uni, déclarait en décembre dernier une augmentation de 65 % du nombre de citoyens ayant transféré chez eux leur compte courant et la coopé­rative a vu la valeur de ses dépôts à terme grimper de 87 % pendant l’année 2008. Dans un récent numéro du Digest de l’ACI, l’Alliance coopé­rative internationale notait aussi que, depuis le début de la crise, une marée de nouveaux membres a déferlé dans les coopératives financières européennes. En Suisse, la coopérative Migros rapportait 46 000 nouveaux comptes et la coopé­rative Raiffeisen en déclarait quant à elle plus de 100 000. En Inde, les coopératives de crédit ont aussi pris le relais des banques privées. Les épargnants y viennent chercher refuge, inquiets que les banques ne les laissent tomber par manque de liquidités. On assiste à une véritable crise de confiance, alors que les petites coopératives de quartier émergent comme les « vraies banques du peuple ».

Pete Crear, P.D.G. du World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU), précisait encore qu’en plein cœur de la tourmente, pendant les mois de septembre et octobre 2008, les coopératives financières ont
accueilli des dépôts additionnels de 22 milliards US$, une somme qui représente le tiers de leurs dépôts totaux, ce n’est pas rien! Et pendant cette même période, chaque semaine, une banque non coopérative déclarait forfait.

Chez nous, au Canada, le transfert d’effets bancaires vers des organisations coopératives est peut-être moins remarquable, car nos banques, il faut le reconnaître, présentent une assez bonne gouvernance. Mais n’empêche : le réseau Desjardins semble, lui aussi, faire belle démonstration de la solidité de ses assises coopératives. Au terme du dernier exercice financier, on affiche des dépôts en hausse et des ratios de capital supérieurs à ceux des banques canadiennes. Les cotes de crédit sont excellentes. Le fameux papier commercial adossé à des actifs (PCAA)? Le réseau Desjardins n’en possédait pratiquement pas en propre, mais il a couvert d’importantes quantités qui étaient détenues par ses membres et clients institutionnels. – Il y a fort à parier que les caisses de retraite de nombreux Québécois étaient au nombre de ces clients pris avec du PCAA dévalué. – Retenons donc que c’est dans un geste de responsabilité sociale que le réseau Desjardins a grevé ses excédents cette année. Malheureusement, les médias n’ont pas ou très peu relevé la nuance. Mais les caisses vont bien. Grâce à leurs capitaux propres, qui leur donnent des assises bien plus stables que celles bâties sur du capital-actions, grâce à leur organisation en réseau qui leur procure à la fois l’ancrage local et le rayonnement international, le réseau Desjardins est vraiment la pièce amirale de notre système bancaire.

Ma recherche n’a pas la prétention d’être exhaustive, mais elle m’apparaît concluante.

Les citoyens sont à la recherche d’organisations sécuritaires, fiables et honnêtes, quand ça va mal. L’éthique des affaires prend tout à coup du galon. Osera-t-on enfin parler de coopératives, dans les hauts lieux du pouvoir? Nous ne sommes pas des étranges spécimens d’un âge révolu. Nos valeurs coopératives, notre façon de contribuer à une économie réelle, d’en partager localement les retombées et de transmettre le patrimoine aux générations futures, tout cela confirme que nous sommes bel et bien… de vrais champions.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés