The Middle Empire
October 2009

A historic turning point in world economics occurred this summer. In 2009 and for the first time ever since the industrial revolution, western production represents less than half of the world’s economy. According to the Centre for Economics and Business Research (CEBR), a British consulting firm specialized in economic forecasting, this turn of events is occurring six years sooner than initially expected. And this is just the beginning. Emerging countries will continue their advance.

China is basically leading the way. Although slowed down by the current recession, the Chinese economy is recovering quickly, driven by heavy domestic demand. China has even bumped Japan from second place as a world economic power. The Chinese people want to consume. And their government is encouraging them with generous grants. According to an article in The Economist, car sales in China have risen by 70% over the summer compared with last year while home sales rose by 80%! The market for household appliances should be next marker: it is estimated that at least half of all Chinese households do not own any appliances. This bodes well for future sales!

China gives the impression of being a bottomless pit of consumption. Apart from a few big cities, this huge expanse of country needs to be built from the ground up, and this is particularly true for rural areas. The infamous “Great Leap Forward”, an economic policy characterized by, among others, forced collectivization of the peasantry (erroneously described as cooperatives), led the Middle Empire into an unparalleled famine between 1958 and 1962. Some 15 to 30 million Chinese died of hunger during those years. Even today there remain glaring inequalities between rural and urban communities. 

To ensure a positive next “Great Leap Forward”, it will have to take place within a perspective of sustainable development. The environment and communities will systematically have to be taken into account. Politically speaking, things seem to be progressing slowly. China instituted a renewable energy law that took effect in 2006. It advocated an ambitious plan intended to alter the country’s heavy reliance on coal. This is just a first step: the massive purchase of cars will not go unnoticed as it affects air quality, which is already terrible. More should be done. 

In keeping with politics, China’s law on cooperatives underwent an in-depth revision in 2007. The new law now allows rural communities, impoverished as a whole, to access the market economy by giving them a chance to gain a voluntary, independent and democratic entrepreneurial tool. This represents an exciting step forward. In this respect, as it relates to agricultural cooperation, the people from the province of Yunnan chose La Coop network as their model. That’s something we should be proud of. The Chinese believe that the structure and governance espoused by La Coop network will allow them to reach their development goals. Looking back to the general meeting of February 2009, that’s why La Coop fédérée’s executive signed a statement of agreement with Chinese representatives, which, followed by a few visits here and there, have since set the foundation for a new cooperative relationship between Québec and China.

Chinese society, which is not as egocentric as our own, could very well become fertile grounds for large-scale cooperative development. In fact, a cooperative, the product of a social economy, is sometimes compared to a “middle ground” providing another alternative somewhere between private capitalist enterprise and not-for-profit community organization. Which makes for an interesting association: has the Middle Empire finally found a … middle ground? 

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

L’empire du Milieu
Octobre 2009

Au cours de l’été, un point de bascule historique a été signalé au tableau de l’économie mondiale. En 2009, pour la première fois depuis la révolution industrielle, la production occidentale représentera moins de la moitié de l’économie mondiale. Selon le Centre for Economics and Business Research (CEBR), une firme britannique de consultants en prévisions économiques, ce revirement de situation survient six ans plus tôt qu’on ne l’attendait. Et ce n’est qu’un début, évidemment. Les pays émergents poursuivront leur lancée.

C’est la Chine, essentiellement, qui mène le bal. Bien que ralentie par la récession actuelle, l’économie chinoise s’en remet plus vite, soufflée par une forte demande intérieure. La Chine a même supplanté le Japon au rang de deuxième puissance économique. Les Chinois veulent consommer. Et l’État les y encourage, avec de généreux subsides. Selon un article de la revue The Economist, les ventes de voiture en Chine ont affiché au cours de l’été une augmentation de 70 % en comparaison de l’an dernier et les ventes de maisons, une hausse de 80 %! Les ventes d’appareils électroménagers sont maintenant à surveiller : on estime qu’au moins la moitié des ménages chinois n’en disposent pas encore. De belles ventes en perspective!

La Chine apparaît comme un réservoir inépuisable de consommation. Tout est à construire dans cet immense pays. Mis à part quelques grandes villes, la Chine intérieure est très en retard. Le fameux « Grand bond en avant », cette politique économique caractérisée entre autres par la collec­tivisation forcée des fermes (qu’on qualifiait, à tort, de coopératives), a conduit l’empire du Milieu à une famine sans pareil, entre 1958 et 1962. De 15 à 30 millions de Chinois sont morts de faim au cours de cette période. Aujourd’hui encore, les inégalités sont criantes entre les zones rurales et les villes.

Pour que le prochain « Grand bond en avant » soit une bonne nouvelle, il devra se faire, cette fois-ci, dans une perspective de développement durable. L’environnement et les communautés devront être systématiquement pris en compte. Sur le plan politique, les choses semblent se placer tranquil­lement. Une loi sur l’énergie renouvelable est entrée en vigueur en 2006. Elle préconise un ambitieux plan visant à corriger la forte dépendance énergé­tique du pays envers le charbon. Mais ce n’est qu’un premier pas : l’achat massif de voitures ne sera pas sans impact sur la qualité de l’air, déjà mauvaise. Il faudra faire plus.

Toujours sur le plan politique, on note que la loi sur les coopératives a été revue en profondeur en 2007. La nouvelle loi permet maintenant au monde rural, défavorisé, d’accéder à l’économie de marché en se donnant, librement, un outil entre­preneurial collectif et indépendant. Voilà une avancée intéressante. À cet égard, pour ce qui regarde la coopération agricole, des Chinois de la province du Yunnan ont choisi le réseau La Coop comme modèle. Il y a de quoi être fiers, non? Les Chinois croient que la structure et la gouvernance que nous avons adoptées au sein du réseau La Coop leur permettront de mener à bien leurs objectifs de développement. C’est pourquoi à l’assemblée générale de février 2009, on s’en souviendra, les dirigeants de La Coop fédérée ont signé avec des représentants chinois un protocole d’entente et quelques visites de part et d’autre ont, depuis, jeté les bases des nouvelles relations coopératives sino-québécoises.

La société chinoise, moins portée sur l’individualisme que notre société occidentale, pourrait bien devenir un terreau très fertile pour un important développement coopératif. En effet, la coopé­rative, issue de l’économie sociale, est parfois comparée à une « voie du milieu » qui offre un choix additionnel, quelque part entre l’entreprise privée capitaliste et l’association communautaire sans but lucratif. Tiens, c’est curieux comme rapport : l’empire du Milieu aurait-il enfin trouvé… la voie du milieu?

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés