To Those Who Wait…
November 2009

A cooperative is born from a decision to take action. It then takes shapes when people, as a group working together, decide to create an enterprise to meet a common need. However, establishing and developing a collective venture is not a small task! To make it happen, those involved must be organized and determined to invest much of their time. And usually they are when the project is beginning. Yet, once the cooperative has been launched and appears to have reached a decent cruising speed, it is sometimes taken for granted and the initial dedication begins to lag. How can we reignite the passion of that commitment?

In her recent book Democracy’s Edge, Frances Moore Lappé focuses her attention on the deep motivations that drive people to become involved. She identifies several sources of motivation that she then divides into three categories. First, there is one’s desire to do something for a cause deemed important. One is committed to helping the community, through a sense of dedication and pure altruism where one does not expect anything in return, which results in a commendable action that comes from the heart. On the opposite end of the spectrum is involvement motivated by selfishness, for one’s own benefit. Such is the case of people who view commitment as a means of gaining prestige or access to important people, to information, trips and training or to any other form of advantage related to their involvement. This is obviously not as commendable and may quickly lead to a conflict of interest. Finally, there is commitment based on reciprocity. This is the type of involvement I am interested in since, I believe, it is most representative of our network’s values.

In Bowling Alone, Robert Putnam eloquently defines the concept of reciprocity. He states that “reciprocity is, in fact, a series of acts, where each is altruistic in the short term (benefiting others and representing a cost to the altruist), but as a whole benefit everyone.” In other words, I can give today without asking for anything in return, because my current situation allows it, and I am confident that I will get something back when I need it. This interpretation of reciprocity is a perfect fit to the cooperative context, which, as a matter of fact, proffers a horizon in the long term. The initial commitment is given time to be returned as a benefit and oftentimes, indirectly, since cooperative relationships are multilateral. Reciprocity therefore allows for the implementation of a system in which each person gives and receives at an opportune time. In some ways, it’s a mechanism that provides a safety net for each and everyone.

There’s more… The kind of reciprocity enjoyed by members of the same cooperative is pretty much the same as that existing between cooperatives, but at different level. I am always proud to tell how, throughout the history of La Coop fédérée, it has lent considerable support to several affiliated cooperatives that, at one time or another, experienced financial difficulties. But it also reaped tremendous rewards when, during a rapid turn of events in the early nineties, La Coop fédérée was itself facing some serious problems and its affiliated cooperatives unanimously agreed to come to its aid by converting term share certificates into standard shares, without buyback.

Overall, cooperative commitment based on reciprocity carries the promise of return. And that’s what we need to explain to those who still express doubt about joining the cooperative movement. All in all, it’s about applying a personal conviction on a grander scale, a belief whose benefits we have all understood a long time ago. It’s called paying it forward! In cooperation, the number of possible “forwards” is exponential. Nobody loses. And as the saying goes: “Good things come to those who wait.”

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Tout vient à point
Novembre 2009

La coopérative naît d’une prise en charge. Elle prend forme lorsque des gens, ensemble, décident de mettre sur pied une entreprise pour répondre à un besoin commun. Or, mettre sur pied et développer une entreprise collective, ce n’est pas un petit projet! Pour y arriver, il faut que les gens soient mobilisés, qu’ils soient déterminés à investir de leur précieux temps. Et ils le sont, manifestement, lorsque le projet démarre. Une fois la coopérative bien lancée cependant, lorsque qu’elle semble avoir atteint une bonne vitesse de croisière, il arrive qu’on la tienne pour acquise et que l’engagement fasse défaut. Comment alors renouveler la passion de l’engagement?

Frances Moore Lappé, dans son dernier livre Democracy’s Edge, s’intéresse aux motivations profondes qui poussent les gens à s’engager. Elle distingue plusieurs sources de motivation qu’elle classe en trois catégories. Il y a d’abord le désir de faire un geste pour une cause que l’on considère importante. On s’engage pour rendre service à sa communauté. Par dévouement. Par pur altruisme, sans espérer quelque avantage. Un admirable élan du cœur! Tout à l’opposé, il y a aussi l’engagement par égoïsme, pour son propre bénéfice. C’est le cas de ceux qui ne voient dans leur engagement que le prestige qui s’y rattache et le contact avec des gens importants, ou les renseignements auxquels ils ont accès, les voyages, la formation ou quelque autre avantage. Cela est moins admirable, évidemment, et peut conduire assez vite au conflit d’intérêts. Enfin, il y a l’engagement qui repose sur la réciprocité. Et c’est à celui-là que je m’intéresse, car il est, je crois, celui qui rejoint le plus les valeurs de notre réseau.

Robert Putnam, dans Bowling Alone, définit d’une façon très éloquente le concept de réciprocité. « La réciprocité, dit-il, est faite d’une série d’actes, chacun d’entre eux étant altruiste à court terme (c’est-à-dire bénéficiant à d’autres et ayant un coût pour l’altruiste), mais dont l’ensemble profite à chacun. » En d’autres mots, je donne aujourd’hui sans rien demander en échange, car ma situation actuelle le permet, et j’ai confiance que je recevrai à mon tour quand je serai dans le besoin. Cette façon d’appréhender la réciprocité s’inscrit merveilleusement bien dans le contexte coopératif qui offre, justement, un horizon de long terme. Ainsi, l’engagement consenti a toujours le temps de revenir en bénéfice et parfois, de façon très indirecte, parce que les relations au sein d’une coopérative sont multilatérales. La réciprocité permet donc l’établissement d’un système où chacun donne et reçoit en temps opportun. C’est en quelque sorte un mécanisme qui procure à chacun un filet de sécurité.

Et il y a plus encore. La réciprocité qui joue entre les membres d’une même coopérative se vit, à un autre niveau, entre les coopératives elles-mêmes. Je raconte toujours avec beaucoup de fierté comment, au fil de son histoire, La Coop fédérée a apporté un soutien considérable à plusieurs coopératives affiliées qui, tantôt l’une tantôt l’autre, ont éprouvé des difficultés financières. Mais grand bien lui fut rendu quand, par un brusque revers de situation au début des années 90, La Coop fédérée se butait à son tour de graves problèmes et qu’à l’unanimité, ses coopératives affiliées acceptaient de lui porter secours en convertissant des parts portant échéance en parts ordinaires sans rachat.

En somme, l’engagement coopératif basé sur la réciprocité porte la promesse du retour. C’est ce qu’il faut expliquer à ceux et celles qui hésitent encore à joindre le mouvement coopératif. Dans le fond, il s’agit d’appliquer à plus grande échelle une règle de vie personnelle dont on a tous compris depuis bien longtemps les bienfaits. Passez au suivant! dit-on. En coopération, le nombre de « suivants » possibles est multiplié. On y gagne toujours. Car tout vient à point à qui sait attendre.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés