Taming Time
December 2009

“O Time, suspend your flight!” implored the poet Lamartine in his poem, The Lake. This was back in 1850. Deeply in love, Lamartine dreamed of stopping time to savour and enjoy each day’s most beautiful and fleeting moments. I wonder how he would have survived the frenetic rhythm of this millennium. Nowadays, we need time management experts to give us the impression of controlling, at least a little, our own datebooks. To hear others talk, I am a prime example of this hasty lifestyle. As a child, my mother used to call me “little taz,” later in life, my work colleague would laughingly wonder if a “tornado had just passed by,” I know… I have a hard time slowing down. But I’m getting better. I am not alone in this predicament. There is a growing movement of resistance intent on spreading the word and reminding people that it’s good, it’s healthy and even useful to take one’s time, they call themselves the Slow Movement.

The movement originated in Italy along with slow food that, contrary to fast food, celebrates foods where time is essential to develop flavour. The slow food concept grew to further include relationships of proximity between consumers and farmers where good, quality foods originate. And by the way, cooperatives play a key role in the slow food movement since they let individuals make their own connections with each other, all within a well-organized collective.

However, slow food was only an introduction to a larger movement that was just beginning. Nowadays, slowness is gaining ground in several sectors. In fact, another movement soon saw the light, slow cities, where cities with less traffic, noise and crowds are greatly valued. Then comes the emergence of slow schools where the pedagogical approach focuses on respecting each child’s rhythm and differences and where establishing relationships is strongly encouraged. Furthermore, there’s slow travel, anotheroffshoot of the slow movement. It suggests that tourist stay at least one week in a single location so as to connect with local culture. What’s interesting to note is that agritourism this is generally how it happens. And finally, the latest and most recent development of the slow movement is: slow money. To find out more, I browsed through the slow movement website for several months. The slow money section was under construction. I recently stopped by and it’s still under construction. They say that “It’s a slow process!”

Personally, I think this is rather fascinating. The goal of the slow movement is for people to connect with each other and to teach them to discern the essential from the superfluous, to encourage them to appreciate the here and now. Time does not discriminate. There are 24 hours in each and every day for each one of us. It’s up to us to use them according to our values. A philosopher, whom the name escapes me at this time, once wrote that the only thing that is eternal is the now. Admit it, from this point of view, the here and now takes on a whole other meaning.

Last summer, I fell in love with this new concept I invented: the slow vacation. I stayed home during my vacation and worked diligently at doing absolutely nothing, I sat in my lawn chair and contemplated my blooming flowers and listened to the chirps of birds courting. Those with whom I shared this experience did not seem particularly enthralled. I think some of them even felt sorry for me since I had accomplished so little during my vacation. Regardless, I enjoyed a taste of eternity.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Apprivoiser la lenteur
Janvier 2010

Ô temps, suspends ton vol! implorait Lamartine dans son fameux poème, Le Lac. On était en 1850. Amoureux, Lamartine rêvait d’arrêter le temps pour savourer les trop rapides délices des plus beaux de ses jours... Je me demande comment il survivrait au rythme effréné des années 2000. Aujourd’hui, il nous faut des experts de la gestion du temps pour nous donner l’impression de contrôler un tant soit peu notre agenda. Moi la première, je ne suis pas très reposante, à ce qu’on dit. Depuis ma mère qui m’appelait sa « petite girouette » jusqu’à ma collègue de bureau qui rigole : « Je crois que j’ai vu passer une tornade », je le sais… j’ai du mal à ralentir. Mais je me soigne. Et je ne suis pas la seule. Il y a tout un mouvement de résistance qui s’organise aujourd’hui pour rappeler aux gens qu’il est bon, qu’il est sain et utile même, de prendre son temps. C’est le slow movement.

Le mouvement a commencé en Italie par le slow food qui, en opposition au fast food, célèbre la bonne bouffe dans laquelle on a laissé le temps faire son oeuvre. Le concept de slow food s’est élargi pour englober également, en amont, les relations de proximité entre les consommateurs et les agriculteurs à l’origine des bons produits. Et les coopératives, disons-le en passant, occupent une place de choix dans le mouvement du slow food, car elles permettent aux individus de tisser des liens privilégiés entre eux, au sein d’une collectivité bien organisée.

Mais le slow food n’était qu’un prélude au grand mouvement qui s’amorçait. Aujourd’hui, la lenteur a gagné des secteurs de plus en plus nombreux. Ainsi, on a vu s’organiser le mouvement slow cities, qui valorise les villes où il y a moins de circulation, moins de bruit, moins de foules. Sont ensuite apparues les slow schools où l’approche pédagogique respecte davantage le rythme et les différences entre les enfants et où l’aspect relationnel est particulièrement encouragé. Le slow travel a aussi été mis de l’avant. Il propose aux touristes de rester au moins une semaine au même endroit, pour se connecter à la culture locale. Fait intéressant, c’est souvent en agrotourisme que ça se passe. Et puis enfin, voici le dernier-né : le mouvement slow money. Pour en savoir plus long, je suis allée fureter il y a plusieurs mois sur le site Internet du slow movement. La section slow money était en construction. Je viens d’y retourner : il est toujours en construction. It is a slow process, précise-t-on!

Personnellement, je trouve tout cela fort sympathique. Le but du slow movement, c’est de connecter les gens entre eux et de les amener à distinguer l’essentiel du superflu, de les inciter à apprécier le moment présent. Il est vrai que nous sommes tous égaux devant le temps. Nous disposons tous de 24 heures dans une journée. À chacun de les occuper selon ses valeurs. Un philosophe dont j’oublie le nom avait écrit que la seule chose qui soit éternelle, c’est le moment présent. Avouez que, vu sous cet angle, ça donne au moment présent un intérêt particulier.

J’aime tellement le concept que j’ai inventé, l’été dernier, le slow vacation. Pendant mes vacances, je suis restée chez moi et me suis rigoureusement disciplinée à ne rien faire, assise dans ma chaise de parterre, à contempler mes fleurs s’épanouir et à écouter les oiseaux se faire la cour. Ceux à qui j’en ai parlé n’ont pas manifesté d’enthousiasme. Je crois même qu’ils m’ont un peu plainte d’avoir si peu accompli pendant mes vacances. Pas grave. J’ai goûté une part d’éternité.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés