nouricia
February 2010

They chose to spell ‘nouricia’ in lower case letters as a sign of humility. Management explains that service to its members is the cooperative’s raison d’être, it therefore seemed appropriate to use only lower case letters to clearly establish the cooperative’s intended approach to serve its member-owners. Nice touch! Managers stated proudly: our company is one of six French agricultural cooperatives being used in a pilot project to grade the approach to sustainable development of the Coop de France, the federation of French agricultural cooperatives, and it’s the first to have produced is sustainable development report. Welcome to nouricia, located in Troyes, France.

The property of some 2,000 members, the nouricia cooperative generates sales of CAN$391 million by marketing its members’ harvests. It is also associated under the appellation “groupe nouricia” along with other specialized entities from related fields such as farm procurement, viticulture and the animal feed trade. Why choose to be a pilot-project in terms of sustainable development? Management is convinced that sustainable development represents leverage for creating value and provides a unique opportunity to further evolve the agricultural practices of member-users. And this seems to be a strong motivational factor.

They went on to explain their approach in detail. First, they established a perimeter for action. Which entity would the source of deployment for this approach: the nouricia cooperative or groupe nouricia? They opted for the cooperative. The choice seemed obvious since they believe that the cooperative status affords it even greater responsibility in terms of sustainable development. In fact, the seventh principle of cooperation clearly states that cooperatives contribute to the sustainable development of communities.

As I was saying: once the perimeter was defined, they identified the cooperative’s interested parties and invited them to an open and frank discussion, where key issues were considered. Each party candidly expressed its point of view, in complete respect of others. Therefore, everyone was able to share with nouricia their concerns and expectations of the cooperative’s activities and of its agricultural members. This helped to establish trust for all concerned. “These meetings changed how people perceived nouricia,” stated one of the managers. This conversation with interested parties was used to determine the raw material for nouricia’s sustainable development indicators, which were immediately included into management’s strategic plan. One more mission? Not at all! They believe that sustainable development “is not an additional mission, but an expanded vision for our chosen field of work.”

 

As a cooperative, nouricia put forward an interesting social report; furthermore, its efforts were focused mostly on environmental aspects. The cooperative instituted the “club nouriciagrosol.” This club allows interested farmers to seek an eco-diagnosis of their installations, to initiate soil conservation trials, to take part in on-site visits and share their experiences and much, much more. Interesting fact: nouriciagrosol’s projects are open to all interested parties once a year. Technicians, students and other partners are all welcome.

And finally, after identifying relevant indicators and implementing improvement strategies, nouricia had its sustainable development performance assessed by an independent expert specialized in this field, BMJ Ratings, a recognized grading agency. The result: they were granted an A, where the minimum grade is DDD in the scale and the maximum grade is AAA. Not so bad, but the grade is applicable for one year only. Nonetheless: meeting with these passionate people leaves no doubt as to their capacity to meet the challenge.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

nouricia
Février 2010

Ils ont choisi de l’écrire avec un « n » minuscule, en signe d’humilité. Les gestionnaires nous expliquent que le service aux membres étant la raison d’être de la coopérative, il semblait approprié de choisir la minuscule pour établir clairement la position de serviteur qu’entend prendre la coopérative à l’égard de ses membres propriétaires. Beau clin d’œil! Les gestionnaires poursuivent fièrement : l’entreprise est l’une des six coopératives agricoles françaises qui servent de projets-pilotes pour la démarche de notation de développement durable de Coop de France, la fédération des coopératives agricoles françaises, et c’est la première à avoir produit son rapport de développement durable. Bienvenue chez nouricia, à Troyes, en France.

Propriété de quelque 2000 membres, la co­opé­rative nouricia réalise un chiffre d’affaires de 391 millions $CAN en commercialisant les productions végétales de ses membres. Elle est aussi associée sous le nom de « groupe nouricia » avec d’autres entités spécialisées en métiers connexes tels l’approvisionnement de la ferme, la viticulture et le négoce en alimentation animale. Pourquoi avoir choisi d’être un projet-pilote en matière de développement durable? C’est que les gestionnaires sont convaincus que le développement durable est un levier de création de valeur et qu’il offre une occasion unique de faire évoluer les pratiques agricoles des membres usagers. Et cela semble les motiver énormément.

Ils nous expliquent les détails de leur démarche. Tout d’abord, il a fallu établir le périmètre d’action. Sur quelle entité allait-on déployer la démarche : la coopérative nouricia ou le groupe nouricia? Ils ont choisi la coopérative. Cela leur semblait plus naturel, car le statut de coopérative, estiment-ils, donne une responsabilité encore plus grande à l’égard du développement durable. En effet, précisons que le septième principe coopératif évoque clairement la contribution des coopératives en matière de développement durable.

Je disais donc : une fois défini le périmètre, on a identifié les parties prenantes de la coopérative et on les a invitées à une rencontre à cœur ouvert. On a discuté les grands enjeux. Chacun a dit son point de vue bien franchement, avec respect. Ainsi, chacun a pu partager avec nouricia ses appréhensions et ses attentes face aux activités de la coopérative et de ses agriculteurs membres. À partir de là, la confiance s’est installée. « Ces rencontres ont changé le regard porté sur nouricia », précise l’un des gestionnaires. C’est donc cette conversation avec les parties prenantes qui a servi de matière première pour le choix des indicateurs de développement durable de nouricia, lesquels ont été immédiatement intégrés au plan stratégique de la direction. Encore un nouveau chantier? Nenni. Le développement durable, nous disent-ils, « ce n’est pas une tâche additionnelle, mais une vision plus large de notre métier ».

Étant une coopérative, nouricia affichait déjà un bilan social intéressant; aussi, ses efforts ont surtout porté sur l’aspect environnemental. La coopérative a mis sur pied le club nouriciagrosol. Ce club permet aux agriculteurs intéressés d’obtenir un écodiagnostic de leurs installations, d’initier au champ des essais de conservation des sols, de participer à des visites-terrain pour partager leurs expériences et bien d’autres choses encore. Fait intéressant : les travaux de nouriciagrosol sont ouverts une fois l’an à l’ensemble des personnes intéressées. Techniciens, étudiants et autres partenaires sont bienvenus.

Enfin, après avoir identifié les indicateurs pertinents et mis en place des stratégies d’amélioration, nouricia a fait évaluer l’an dernier sa performance en développement durable par un expert indépendant spécialisé, l’agence de notation BMJ Ratings. Résultat : une note A, dans une échelle où la note minimale est DDD et la note maximale, AAA. Pas mal du tout, mais attention, la notation de dure qu’un an. Qu’à cela ne tienne : les gens passionnés que nous avons rencontrés sont clairement à la hauteur du défi.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés