It’s Good to be Us!
October 2010

Corporate Knights, a magazine dedicated to the promotion of responsible business practices, has just published its list of the 50 best corporate citizens in Canada. Canadian businesses are ranked according to their global performance and according to a rigorous methodology based on social, environmental and leadership indicators. And you know what? In first place is Mountain Equipment Co-op. And second place goes to The Co-operators Group, an insurance cooperative of which La Coop fédérée is a member. In third place is Vancity Credit Union, a Vancouver-based financial cooperative often used by the cooperative world as a model to promote the cooperative identity. The three best corporate citizens in Canada, surpassing all those listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange, are cooperatives! And not too far down the list, in eight place is Mouvement des caisses Desjardins… Should we be surprised?

We’ve long known that the cooperative business model promotes corporate accountability and social responsibility. And there are several reasons for this: First, remember that cooperative owners are all known since they use their own services and elect their own representatives to the board of directors, which means they can’t close their eyes when the business is in trouble! Cooperative transparency imposes a certain obligation of good behaviours on its businesses. Second, cooperatives aren’t subjected to the judgement of economic analysts every three months; thus, they enjoy greater freedom to invest in social relationships and prioritize a long-term vision. And let’s be frank, the goal of a cooperative is not to make profits. I don’t know of a single farmer who became a member of La Coop network hoping to get rich! If we want a cooperative to be efficient and cost-effective, it’s to ensure that it fulfills its mission to serve agricultural operations, from one generation to the next. The prevailing logic of service is that it requires an implied degree of social responsibility.

When Corporate Knights revealed its ranking, the market research company, Ipsos Reid, published the results of a study in which Canadian citizens were asked about how they perceived cooperatives. More than one quarter of respondents were Quebecers. I reviewed the results of this survey with great interest. And once again, not surprisingly, cooperatives are viewed as trustworthy businesses. In fact, even if people do not have a clear understanding of a cooperative’s specific characteristics, 43% of respondents stated that they trust cooperatives more than any other type of business. I’m not sure we really understand the importance of this information. In other words, before investing one penny in advertising, cooperatives already have a good proportion of customers inherently favourable to their cause – as long as they make their cooperative nature clear, of course. 

More than ever, cooperation is turning into an economically responsible tool and a business model that is worth getting to know. Capitalism is losing its lustre. This year, three surveys were conducted in the United States and showed that nearly 50% of Americans no longer perceive capitalism in a positive light and with the younger generation, people 18 to 30, 43% now view socialism positively! This is unprecedented! These results appeared prior to the catastrophic Deep Water Horizon oil spill – which will certainly not help push capitalism forward in the United States.

In this era where information travels the world in the blink of an eye, we can no longer defraud, destroy, and mishandle our resources with impunity for the purpose of making money or propping up the economy. Transparency, which some people used to consider a handicap specific to cooperatives, is now a powerful influence on every type of business, whether they want it or not! Under these circumstances, it’s good to be a cooperative and praise our internal safeguards.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Beau temps pour les coopératives
Octobre 2010

Le magazine Corporate Knights vient de publier son palmarès des 50 meilleures entreprises citoyennes du Canada. D’après une méthodologie rigoureuse basée sur des indicateurs sociaux, environnementaux et de bonne gouvernance, on classe les entreprises canadiennes selon leur performance globale. Or vous savez quoi? En première place se distingue Mountain Equipment Co-op. En deuxième place, on trouve Co-operators Group, une coopérative d’assurance dont La Coop fédérée est membre. Et, en troisième place, apparaît Vancity Credit Union, une coopérative financière de Vancouver que le milieu coopératif a souvent présentée comme modèle pour la mise en valeur de l’identité coopérative. Ainsi donc, les trois meilleures entreprises canadiennes, surpassant toutes celles inscrites à la Bourse de Toronto, sont des coopératives! Et, pas trop loin en huitième place, le mouvement Desjardins suit… Faut-il s’en surprendre?

On sait depuis longtemps que le modèle d’affaires des coopératives encourage la responsabilité sociale d’entreprise. Pour plusieurs raisons. Tout d’abord, rappelons que les propriétaires des coopératives sont connus, ils en utilisent les services et élisent leurs représentants au conseil d’administration : ils ne sauraient prétendre l’ignorance si l’entreprise se comportait mal! La transparence coopérative exerce donc sur l’entreprise une certaine obligation de bonne conduite. Aussi, les coopératives ne sont pas soumises au jugement des analystes économiques tous les trois mois; elles disposent donc d’une meilleure marge de manœuvre pour investir dans de bonnes relations sociales et privilégier une vision de long terme. Et puis encore, disons-le franchement, le but de la coopérative, ce n’est pas de faire des profits. Je ne connais pas un seul agriculteur qui est devenu membre du réseau La Coop dans l’espoir de se mettre riche! Si on veut qu’elle soit efficace et rentable, la coopérative, c’est d’abord pour qu’elle remplisse bien sa mission de service aux exploitations agricoles, d’une génération à l’autre. La logique de service qui prévaut exige, de façon implicite, une certaine responsabilité sociale.

Au moment où Corporate Knights dévoilait son classement, la firme de sondage Ipsos Reid livrait, de son côté, les résultats d’une enquête dans laquelle on mesurait la perception des citoyens canadiens à l’égard des coopératives. Plus du quart des répondants étaient des Québécois. J’ai parcouru avec intérêt les résultats de ce sondage. Les coopératives y paraissent une fois de plus comme des entreprises qui inspirent confiance. En fait, même si les gens connaissent mal les attributs particuliers des coopératives, 43 % disent d’emblée faire plus confiance aux coopératives qu’aux autres types d’entreprises. Je ne suis pas sûre qu’on réalise pleinement l’importance de cette information. En d’autres mots, avant même d’avoir investi un seul sou en publicité, les coopératives ont déjà pas mal de clients qui leur sont naturellement favorables – pourvu qu’elles affichent leur nature coopérative, bien entendu.

Plus que jamais, la coopération s’avère un outil économique responsable et devient un modèle à faire connaître. Le capitalisme perd de son lustre. Même aux États-Unis, trois enquêtes menées cette année indiquent que près de 50 % de la population américaine ne perçoit plus le capitalisme comme positif et, chez les 18-30 ans, 43 % disent désormais percevoir positivement… le socialisme! Du jamais vu! Et ça, c’était avant le tragique déversement de pétrole du Deep Water Horizon – lequel n’aidera certainement pas la cause du capitalisme aux États-Unis.

À l’ère où l’information voyage instantanément d’un bout à l’autre du monde, on ne peut plus frauder, saccager, malmener impunément les ressources sollicitées pour faire tourner l’économie et ramasser son magot. La transparence, que certains qualifiaient jadis de handicap propre aux coopératives, frappe désormais toutes les entreprises, qu’elles le veuillent ou non! Dans ces circonstances, mieux vaut être une coopérative et se féliciter de ses garde-fous internes.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés