Finding the Right Balance
January 2011

During the women’s cooperators symposium held last November, I had the pleasure of rediscovering a remarkable network of women who, year after year, has responded to our invitation. Pleased with the renewal of their relationships, regular attendees were feeling light hearted, and just like perfect hostesses, greeted newcomers warmly. A few hours later, you couldn’t tell the new attendees from the regulars. And I thought that what was happening before me was a clear expression of the kind of competency the business world now acknowledges as being essential, the ability to create a climate of trust and well-being propitious to building constructive and durable relationships. That’s when I was reminded of The Great Turning, by David Korten.

By reviewing the events that led to a handful of superpowers to dominate today’s world for the benefit of a small group of super rich elite, Korten calls for a resistance. A resistance that must be built, explains Korten, on a better control of the communities and… on a greater feminine presence in the organization of everyday life. Yes! That’s exactly what he says.

In a fascinating retrospective, Korten describes the long journey that began with the emergence of Homo sapiens. He goes on to say that in primitive societies while men were off hunting, women were left to organize the community. The qualities valued were those the group needed to ensure its cohesion: the ability to give birth, to feed, to care for, to bring together, and to protect the environment. Qualities deemed ‘feminine’ were celebrated, female deities were respected and revered and Mother Earth, the source of life and nourishment, reigned.

Communities expanded, they discovered agriculture and chose to settle on their lands. They implemented a complex social structure, developed the arts and amassed riches. Nation Cities were born, creating new needs: To protect populations and take over more land. Strength, ambition, risk taking and self-control became desirable characteristics. Little by little, the qualities deemed ‘masculine’ superseded feminine ones in terms of being recognized by community leaders. Man as god and warrior, as conqueror, and as dominator shaped our current masculine concept of power.

Korten recalls how Nation Cities paved the way for Nation-States, and then to kingdoms, which continued to expand into new colonies. In the end, everything was requisitioned, populated, exploited, often enslaved, and finally globalized. Expansion was no longer possible. Korten makes a disastrous assessment of the situation and notes that the needs we believed to be irrelevant are slowly reappearing. Such as belonging to a community that takes care of its people, a warm and diversified community in which every one is responsible for the quality of life of his or her environment. Korten suggests that to globally satisfy human needs a new balance of power must occur, one that values and uses the complementarity of ‘feminine’ and ‘masculine’ qualities to its advantage.

This is what I was thinking when I was looking at those women during the symposium. There is no doubt: A number of them would make excellent cooperative administrators. However, women who wish to invest in official power and leadership are an uncommon occurrence…. Nonetheless, the power of influence remains, the kind of power that every member holds as part of a cooperative, which also answers Korten’s underlying call for taking greater control.

In addition, I wish to take advantage of this time of year to invite women as well as all other members, regardless of age and field of activity, to the annual meeting held by your respective cooperatives. Just like Korten, I believe that taking control and a greater balance of power are in fact excellent options for guaranteeing the well-being of each and every one of us.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Un juste équilibre
Janvier 2011

Lors du colloque des coopératrices, en novembre dernier, j’ai retrouvé avec plaisir ce formidable réseau de femmes qui, année après année, répondent à notre invitation. Heureuses de renouer entre elles, les habituées avaient le cœur en fête et, telles de parfaites hôtesses, accueillaient chaleureusement celles qui se joignaient au groupe pour la première fois. Quelques heures plus tard, on ne distinguait plus les nouvelles des anciennes. Je me suis dit que j’avais là, sous les yeux, l’éclatante expression d’une compétence que le monde des affaires reconnaît désormais comme essentielle, à savoir la capacité de produire un climat de bien-être et de confiance, propice à l’établissement de relations constructives et durables. Et j’ai pensé au livre The Great Turning, de David Korten.

En retraçant la suite d’événements qui ont permis à quelques superpuissances de dominer le monde d’aujourd’hui, au profit d’une petite élite richissime, Korten en appelle à la résistance. Une résistance qui devra se bâtir, prétend-il, sur une meilleure prise en charge des collectivités et… sur une plus grande présence des femmes dans l’organisation de la vie citoyenne. Eh oui! c’est bien ce qu’il dit.

Dans une rétrospective fascinante, Korten décrit notre long parcours depuis l’émergence de l’Homo sapiens. Dans les sociétés primitives, rappelle-t-il, pendant que les hommes étaient occupés à la chasse, toute l’organisation de la collec­tivité était assurée par les femmes. Les qualités valorisées étaient alors celles dont le groupe avait besoin pour assurer sa cohésion : la capacité de donner la vie, de nourrir, de soigner, de rassembler, de protéger l’environnement. Les qualités dites « fémi­nines » étaient célébrées et c’était le règne du dieu féminin, de la Terre mère, de la Mère féconde et nourricière.

Les collectivités ont grandi, elles ont découvert l’agriculture et se sont installées à demeure sur des territoires. Elles ont mis en place une organisation sociale complexe, ont cultivé les arts, accumulé des richesses. Les cités-nations sont nées, faisant émerger de nouveaux besoins : protéger les populations et s’approprier davantage de terri­toires. La force, l’ambition, le goût du risque et le sang-froid sont devenus désirables. Peu à peu, les qualités dites « masculines » ont supplanté les féminines dans la reconnaissance des leaders. Le dieu mâle et guerrier, le conquérant, le dominateur ont modelé notre conception désormais masculine du pouvoir.

Korten raconte comment, par la suite, les cités-nations ont fait place aux États-nations, puis aux royaumes, lesquels ont poursuivi leur expansion vers de nouvelles colonies. Enfin, tout a été réquisitionné, peuplé, exploité, souvent asservi, puis mondialisé. Plus d’expansion possible. Korten dresse un bilan désastreux de la situation et note que des besoins que l’on croyait caducs réappa­raissent peu à peu. Entre autres, celui d’appartenir à une collectivité qui prend soin de son monde, une collectivité accueillante et diversifiée, où chacun se sent responsable de la qualité de vie dans son milieu. Pour satisfaire les besoins humains dans leur globalité, suggère-t-il, un nouvel équilibre des pouvoirs devra s’installer et mettre à profit la complémentarité des qualités masculines et féminines.

C’est à cela que je pensais en observant les femmes lors du colloque. Il n’y a pas de doute : nombre d’entre elles feraient d’excellentes administratrices dans nos coopératives. Moins nombreuses, cependant, sont celles qui désirent vraiment investir le pouvoir officiel... Mais qu’à cela ne tienne : il reste tout de même le pouvoir d’influence, ce pouvoir que partagent tous les membres au sein d’une coopérative et qui répond également à l’appel de Korten par la prise en charge qu’il sous-tend.

Je profite donc de cette période de l’année pour inviter aux assemblées générales de nos coopératives non seulement les femmes, mais tous les membres, de tout âge et de toute production. Comme Korten, je crois que la prise en charge et l’équilibre des pouvoirs sont en effet d’excellentes pistes pour garantir le bien-être de tout un chacun.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés