Under the Spotlight
April 2011

What do KPMG, Walt Disney, Novartis and the Royal Bank of Canada have in common? Throughout the years, they have all been recipients of an award recognizing them as the most irresponsible company of the year! This less than glorious award is given out as a counterpoint to the World Economic Forum in Davos and its distinguished list of nominees are voted online by the general public as part of the Public Eye Awards.

What did these businesses do to deserve this kind of “recognition”? In 2005, KPMG is accused of suggesting a variety of creative accounting measures meant to defraud tax authorities; in 2006, Walt Disney is accused of violating human rights and promoting unfair working conditions in its subcontractors’ plants; in 2007, Novartis purportedly sought to prevent Indians from gaining access to a generic drug to fight leukemia sold 10 times cheaper than Glivec, which is produced in their labs; and finally last year, the Royal Bank of Canada is accused of financing the extraction of oil from Alberta’s tar sands.

As I write these lines, the 2011 winner has just been announced following an online vote to which some 53,000 Internet users participated. And the winner is….Neste-Oil, a Finnish energy corporation, with 4,000 votes over BP, the first runner-up. After BP’s Deepwater Horizon exploded in the Gulf of Mexico last spring, we have to wonder what kind of business Neste Oil was running to outdo BP in the running for such a singular designation. In point of fact, the company is accused of green washing. Although it boasts of selling “green diesel”, the biofuel is produced from palm oil, which accelerates wide-spread deforestation in Indonesia and Malaysia. According to calculations, the final carbon balance of this “green diesel” far outweighs traditional diesel.

The Public Eye Awards were launched by the association for the Berne Declaration, which Greenpeace Suisse has recently joined, and they have pushed irony to its extreme by creating a Hall of Shame page on their website where all of the award winners are listed. If there was ever a time when controlling all of the information posted about a company was possible, that time no longer exists. In reality, this unique dishonour can be awarded to a company for its participation in an industry, without necessarily being involved in the activities being condemned; the Royal Bank of Canada is a good example, it received the award because it finances pollution-causing activities, and not because it is actually polluting. From now on, evaluating a company also means the whole industry is put under the microscope.

It is within this context of mistrust and extreme transparency that cooperatives from around the world will be put on display in 2012 as they celebrate the International Year of Cooperatives. We should expect to be scrutinized and put under the spotlight. Actually, La Coop fédérée’s Board of Directors has just ordered an ethics analysis within the company. Are the values we promote truly ingrained in our work methods? Have we implemented the right mechanisms and the right tools to guide our elected leaders and our employees toward enviable decisions and practices within the cooperative world? Once the diagnosis will have been made by an outside party, a plan of action will be put into operation to better understand the cooperative ethic at all company levels. 

This approach may very well contribute to give a meaning to our commitment to La Coop fédérée and pride at being associated with it. Indeed, the International Year of Cooperatives will be a perfect opportunity to shout our identity loud and clear…but let’s be sure that our claims meet our expectations.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Sous les feux de la rampe
avril 2011

Qu'ont en commun KPMG, Walt Disney et la Banque Royale du Canada? Elles ont toutes reçues, au cours des dernières années, le titre d'entreprise la plus irresponsable de l'année! Ce titre peu glorieux est remis en marge du Sommet économique de Davos et est attribué selon les résultats d'un vote public sur Internet dans le cadre des Public Eye Awards.

Mais qu'ont donc fait ces entreprises pour mériter pareille « distinction »? En 2005, on a reproché à KPMG d'avoir suggéré de nombreuses entourloupettes comptables visant à frauder le fisc; en 2006, à Walt Disney, de graves violations des droits de la personne et du travail dans les usines de ses sous-traitants; enfin, à la Banque Royale du Canada, l'an dernier, de financer l'exploi­tation des sables bitumineux en Alberta.

Au moment d'écrire ces lignes, la grande lauréate 2011 vient d'être annoncée, à la suite du vote en ligne auquel ont participé 53 000 internautes. Et la gagnante est… la société pétrolière finlandaise Neste Oil, qui remporte 4000 votes de plus que BP, deuxième au classement. Après l'explosion de Deepwater Horizon, de BP, dans le golfe du Mexique au printemps dernier, on se demande quel genre de parcours présente Neste Oil pour réussir à dépasser BP dans ce singulier classement. En fait, on reproche à l'entreprise son écoblanchiment (green washing). Alors qu'elle s'affiche comme fournisseur de « diesel vert », l'agrocarburant qu'elle produit à partir d'huile de palme entraîne une déforestation galopante en Indonésie et en Malaisie. On calcule qu'au final le bilan CO2 de son « diesel vert » est plus élevé que celui du diesel classique.

Lancés par l'association Déclaration de Berne, à laquelle s'est joint récemment le groupe Greenpeace Suisse, les Public Eye Awards poussent même l'ironie jusqu'à dresser, sur leur site Internet, une page « Hall of Shame », où sont présentés tous les malheureux gagnants du titre. S'il fut un temps où on pouvait avoir une certaine maîtrise de l'information touchant son entreprise, il est désormais révolu. On remarque par ailleurs qu'une entreprise peut remporter cet effroyable prix pour sa participation à une filière, sans être vraiment engagée dans les activités que l'on dénonce; la Banque Royale du Canada en est un bel exemple, ayant obtenu le titre parce qu'elle finance des activités polluantes, non parce qu'elle pollue elle-même. Désormais, dans l'appréciation d'une entreprise, toute sa filière est examinée.

C'est dans ce contexte de méfiance et d'extrême transparence que s'exposeront sur la place publique, en 2012, les coopératives du monde entier qui célébreront l'Année internationale des coopératives. Il faudra nous attendre à être scrutés de tous bords, tous côtés. Justement, le conseil d'administration de La Coop fédérée vient de commander une analyse de l'éthique au sein de l'entreprise. Les valeurs que nous prônons sont-elles vraiment incarnées dans nos façons de faire? Avons-nous mis en place de bons mécanismes, de bons outils pour guider les élus et les employés vers des décisions et des pratiques désirables en milieu coopératif? À la suite de ce diagnostic effectué par une entreprise externe, un plan d'action sera mis en place afin d'améliorer la compréhension de l'éthique coopérative à tous les niveaux au sein de l'entreprise.

Voilà une démarche qui peut grandement contribuer à donner du sens à notre engagement au sein de La Coop fédérée et beaucoup de fierté à y être associé. Oui, l'Année internationale des coopératives sera certainement l'occasion rêvée de dire haut et fort qui nous sommes… mais soyons sûrs d'être à la hauteur de nos prétentions.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés