It's Good for You and Me and it's Free!
November - december 2011

In a world where the market is key, volunteerism is sending a clear and joyful message to the system. Since it’s absolutely free, it flies below the GDP’s radar – which doesn’t want to track it anyways! – and is filtering through every layer of society. Its enthusiasts find enjoyment, comfort and say that it brings meaning to their lives. Volunteerism is universal and has been around forever, but interest has been renewed over the past few years. 

Incidentally, there seems to be a growing interest on the part of businesses for their employee’s volunteer activities. More and more companies are donating a few hours a year as a way of encouraging employees to volunteer for a charity or non-profit organization. This is a new approach to corporate responsibility. Obviously, there will always be objections by shareholders - or members, in the case of a cooperative - to paying for time in which employees are involved in volunteer activities. But that would be underestimating the positive effects this type of exercise can have on the company.

Today, not a single manager would dare question the importance of training in making a company successful. And even beyond training, there is education, and how people think and behave that can significantly influence a company’s operations. Therefore, the money that is invested in volunteer time should be considered an investment in education, because the ensuing experience is always enlightening. Volunteering helps open the mind to new discoveries, to meeting new people, to different types of interactions.

In 2000, according to a Canadian survey conducted with volunteers, 79% of respondents believed that their volunteer activities helped improve their interpersonal skills, especially their ability to understand and motivate others, and address delicate or sensitive situations. This is a concrete example of the significant educational value of volunteering. Corporations have much to gain when they encourage their employees to join volunteer activities!

What about the effects of volunteering on one’s health? When we’re busy helping others, we set aside our own needs, we seek to be useful and productive, to serve the people to whom we are donating our time. Volunteerism draws on feelings of empathy and generosity. In fact, researchers at the University of Harvard discovered that devoting oneself to others increases the efficiency of the body’s immune system, reduces blood pressure and slows the heart. That’s a pretty good corporate program for disease prevention! 

But there’s more: It is said that volunteering leads to happiness. In the world of volunteers, there’s an often used expression - “helper’s high” - it translates the sense of contentment felt when giving help and assisting others. They say that it’s a biochemical reaction. It’s hormonal! Will anyone dare to stand up and refute that happy employees are more productive?

Essentially, volunteerism, for the person giving as much as for the person receiving, is a good thing and it’s free! And for employers, it’s a good thing and…all things considered, inexpensive. We should be pleased with corporations developing an interest in the volunteer activities of their employees. Especially in the case of cooperatives: What a perfect alignment of values and testament to coherence. Mutual help, altruism and solidarity, qualities required of volunteerism, are also the basic and fundamental values of the cooperative ethic. Moreover, volunteerism constitutes an amazing program to defy individualism. To volunteer is to reject indifference, to acknowledge the other person’s value and each other’s accountability. It is the actualization of cooperative values in their most noble and prized incarnation. In other words, it’s another way of learning about cooperation.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Photo : Martine Doyon
 
Beau, bon, gratuit!
Novembre - Décembre 2011

Dans un monde où le marché fait loi, le bénévolat envoie joyeusement un pied de nez au système. Purement gratuit, il échappe au PIB – qui ne s'en préoccupe guère, d'ailleurs! – et il percole dans toutes les couches de la société. Ses adeptes disent qu'il leur procure du plaisir, du réconfort, et donne du sens à leur quotidien. Le bénévolat est universel et existe depuis toujours, mais ces dernières années, il connaît un regain d'intérêt.

En l'occurrence, on remarque l'intérêt grandis­sant des entreprises à l'égard du bénévolat de leurs employés. De plus en plus d'entre elles les libèrent quelques heures par année, afin de les encourager à s'engager dans une activité de bénévolat au profit d'organisations de bienfaisance. C'est une nouvelle manifestation de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Évidemment, il se trouvera des gens pour objecter que les actionnaires – ou les membres, s'il s'agit d'une coopérative – n'ont pas à payer des heures données en bénévolat par des employés. Mais c'est sous-estimer toutes les retombées positives d'une telle pratique pour les entreprises.

Aucun gestionnaire n'oserait remettre en question, aujourd'hui, l'importance de la formation pour le succès de l'entreprise. Or, au-delà de la formation, il y a l'éducation, il y a la manière de penser et de se comporter, qui influent considérablement sur la bonne marche de l'entreprise. Les sommes investies dans le bénévolat des employés doivent donc être considérées comme des investissements dans leur éducation. Car l'expérience est, à tout coup, éducative. Elle ouvre la voie à des découvertes, à de nouvelles rencontres, à des cadres d'interaction inédits.

D'après une enquête canadienne réalisée en 2000 auprès de bénévoles, 79 % des répondants estimaient que leurs activités bénévoles leur permettaient d'améliorer leurs compétences en matière de relations interpersonnelles, notamment leur capacité de mieux comprendre les gens, de motiver les autres et de composer avec des situations délicates. Voilà un exemple bien concret de la grande valeur éducative du bénévolat. Les entreprises ont donc beaucoup à gagner en encourageant leurs employés à mettre la main à la pâte!

Et que dire des effets du bénévolat sur la santé? Quand on fait du bénévolat, on s'oublie soi-même, on n'aspire qu'à être utile, qu'à servir les gens à qui on donne du temps. Le bénévolat fait appel aux sentiments d'empathie et de générosité. Or, des travaux réalisés à l'Université Harvard ont permis de découvrir que le fait de se dévouer pour les autres accroît l'efficacité du système immunitaire, diminue la pression artérielle et ralentit le rythme cardiaque. Pas mal comme programme de prévention des maladies en entreprise!

Mais encore : le bénévolat rend heureux, dit-on. Dans le milieu des bénévoles, on utilise l'expression « euphorie de l'aidant » pour évoquer le sentiment de bonheur que l'on ressent lorsqu'on aide les autres. C'est biochimique, explique-t-on. Une question d'hormones! Se trouvera-t-il quelqu'un pour nier que des employés heureux sont plus productifs?

Bref, le bénévolat, pour qui donne et pour qui reçoit, c'est beau, bon et gratuit. Et pour les employeurs, c'est beau, bon… et pas cher, tout compte fait. Il faut se réjouir de l'intérêt grandissant des entreprises à l'égard du bénévolat de leurs employés. En particulier lorsqu'il s'agit des coopé­ratives : quel bel alignement de valeurs, quelle cohérence! Car l'entraide, l'altruisme et la solidarité, auxquels fait appel le bénévolat, sont également des valeurs de base de l'éthique coopérative. De plus, le bénévolat constitue un formidable manifeste contre l'indi­vi­dualisme. Faire du bénévolat, c'est exprimer un rejet de l'indifférence, c'est recon­naître la valeur de l'autre et la responsabilité que nous avons tous les uns à l'égard des autres. C'est, finalement, une actualisation des valeurs coopératives, dans ce qu'elles ont de plus noble et de plus précieux. En d'autres termes, c'est une éducation à la coopération.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés