Kolkhoz Excesses
February 2012

I’ve just returned from the Ukraine, the land of fertile soil and once Europe’s breadbasket back in the Soviet era. Agriculture was then a thriving industry, but people and individual freedoms were sacrificed and were the price to pay for such prosperity. The countryside remains lined with remnants of time gone by, huge buildings abandoned by the kolkhoz, these once-productive collective farms now reminders of the forced merger of farming implements. Older Ukrainians haven’t forgotten the famine that cost the lives of some five million of their countrymen and women in 1932-1933 because the central government requisitioned most of their harvests…

Since its independence in 1991, the Ukraine has converted to a market economy, but it has not been easy. High unemployment and alcoholism have had devastating effects. The situation is so dire that some Ukrainians regret the demise of the Soviet regime. I noticed a small bouquet of fresh flowers at the foot of Lenin’s statue in Dnipropetrovsk. It caught me somewhat by surprise. But as usual, no issue is all black or all white. Let’s not forget that communism and cooperation appeared at the same time and both were driven by the same dreams: to fight social and economic injustices produced by the industrial revolution. Noble dreams of course. For some, the communist promise remains in spite of the many excesses and obstacles that hindered its implementation. 

I was in the Ukraine with SOCODEVI, which is leading two cooperative projects in the country. I met with a few Ukrainian professionals who once worked in a kolkhoz. I was interested in knowing more. I learned that these collective farms were cooperatives under Lenin’s authority in the 1920s. It was only in the early 1930s that, under Stalin, the collective rule was forced upon all farms and private ownership was forbidden. From that point on, Ukrainian agricultural cooperatives were cooperative in name only. For Stalin, cooperatives were transitional structures on the road to attaining communism’s ultimate goal: the nationalization of agriculture. 

Democracy in the kolkhoz was reduced to a theoretical illusion. There were indeed boards of directors and meetings in which decisions were made… but you can only imagine the theatricality of it all. During my mission in the Ukraine, I was asked to help organize the first general meeting in a small dairy cooperative. You should have seen how surprised the members looked when we handed out the voting ballots. Secret ballot elections? How innovative!

Although the communist dream was noble, its implementation was doomed from the very beginning. Take away personal freedom and you take away any chance of success. There are crucial ingredients to ensure a project’s sustainability - motivation, a sense of duty, leadership – and these can only flourish where freedom is present. Then, individual freedoms must be regulated to avoid excesses and make sure the project stays focused on the common good. That is when democracy takes on its full meaning.

Democracy is more than a moral principle, more than just a fancy word to drop into a conversation, it must be alive and breathing to be effective. When people no longer go out to vote, although it is their right, the system is still considered a democracy. But in reality, how is this democracy protecting the common good? We think we’re lucky to live in a market economy where economic freedom and entrepreneurship are guaranteed. We’d be well advised to understand that this freedom comes hand in hand with a strong democracy. Otherwise, beware of excesses… whether they are kolkhozian or neoliberal!

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Photo : Martine Doyon
 
Dérives kolkhoziennes
Février 2012
Je reviens d'Ukraine, ce grand pays aux terres fertiles, ce grenier à blé de l'URSS, comme on l'appelait sous l'ère soviétique. L'agriculture y était alors florissante, mais au prix d'une économie planifiée sacrifiant le bien-être des populations et les libertés individuelles. Vestiges de ces temps révolus, les grands bâtiments désaffectés des kolkhozes, ces fermes collectives de l'époque, se dressent dans la campagne, rappelant la mise en commun forcée des moyens de production agricole. Les Ukrainiens les plus âgés n'ont pas oublié la famine qui a coûté la vie à quelque cinq millions de paysans au cours des années 1932-1933, parce que le gouvernement central réquisitionnait la majeure partie de leurs récoltes...

Depuis son indépendance, proclamée en 1991, l'Ukraine se convertit à l'économie de marché, mais avec beaucoup de difficultés. Le chômage y est élevé et l'alcoolisme fait des ravages. Si bien qu'il se trouve des habitants pour regretter le régime soviétique. Au pied d'une statue de Lénine, à Dnipropetrovsk, j'ai remarqué des gerbes de fleurs fraîches. Je m'en suis étonnée. Mais comme toujours, rien n'est complètement blanc ni complètement noir. N'oublions pas que le communisme et le coopératisme sont apparus à la même époque et se sont nourris des mêmes rêves : combattre les injustices sociales et économiques produites par la révolution industrielle. Nobles rêves, s'il en est. Pour certains, la promesse communiste demeure, malgré les dérives qui ont jalonné sa mise en œuvre.

J'étais en Ukraine avec SOCODEVI, qui mène là-bas deux projets coopératifs. J'y ai rencontré quelques professionnels ukrainiens qui ont déjà travaillé dans les kolkhozes. J'étais curieuse d'en savoir plus. J'ai appris que ces fermes collectives étaient des coopératives, du temps de Lénine, dans les années 1920. Ce n'est qu'à partir des années 1930, sous Staline, qu'on a forcé la collectivisation de toutes les fermes et interdit la propriété privée. Dès lors, les coopératives agricoles ukrainiennes n'avaient de coopératifs… que leurs statuts officiels. Car pour Staline, les coopératives étaient des structures de transition vers le but ultime du communisme : l'étatisation complète de l'agriculture.

C'est ainsi que la démocratie a été réduite, dans les kolkhozes, à une simple vue de l'esprit. Ceux-ci avaient bien un conseil d'administration – oui, oui – et des assemblées où on prenait des décisions… mais hélas, on imagine la mise en scène. Pendant ma mission là-bas, j'ai eu à donner un coup de main pour la tenue d'une première assemblée générale dans une petite coopérative laitière. Vous auriez dû voir l'étonnement des membres lorsqu'on leur a distribué des bulletins de vote… Des élections par scrutin secret? Quelle nouveauté!

Si le rêve communiste était noble, sa mise en œuvre était vouée à l'échec. Enlever la liberté des gens, c'est saper toutes les chances de réussite. Car les ingrédients nécessaires à la durabilité d'un projet – la motivation, le sens des responsabilités, le leadership – ne peuvent émerger que dans un espace de liberté. Et ensuite, il faut réguler les libertés individuelles pour éviter les dérapages et s'assurer que le projet demeure au service de l'intérêt commun. C'est là que la démocratie prend toute son importance.

Plus qu'un beau principe, plus qu'un mot clé qui enjolive les discours, la démocratie doit être vivante pour être efficace. Lorsque les gens ne vont plus voter, alors qu'ils en auraient le droit, on peut encore dire que le système est démocratique. Mais en réalité, dans quelle mesure cette démocratie protège-t-elle le bien commun? Nous nous estimons chanceux de vivre dans une économie de marché où la liberté d'entreprendre est garantie. Nous serions avisés de comprendre que cela va de pair avec une bonne contrepartie démocratique. Sinon, gare aux dérives… qu'elles soient de nature kolkhozienne ou néolibérale!
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés