Our Place in the Sun
March 2012
At last, cooperatives have become a topical subject! The time was finally right for us to have our own International Year of Cooperatives. Maybe a little cooperative education will bring back common sense? Every single day the media reports on the distressing consequences of unbridled capitalism, an unstable and chaotic economic system. There are crises, bankruptcies, and layoffs all around, and if we dare look beyond our borders, famines and insurgencies. It’s all gone to heck! And yet, there are people who, with pockets full of cash, continue to rise to the highest echelons of personal wealth ever imagined. For example, Forbes ranked the top 10 richest people in the world whose fortunes total some 400 billion dollars. These magnates each have on average 40 billion dollars. I can barely conceive of such personal wealth. Absurdity has no limits!

This economic climate, characterized by a huge gap in equality, is unquestionably unhealthy! It only serves to feed a series of powder kegs that may, sooner or later, explode. If there is one aspect of life that motivates us into activism, it is to bear witness to injustices. In fact, behavioural economics’ researchers referred to this data as “IA”, which stands for inequity aversion. They realized that this aversion was so intense that many people, even those not targeted by injustice - or people who benefitted from a said injustice - are ready to take a stand to restore equality. In essence this could be referred to as a form of instinctive social solidarity.

Therefore we can agree: were it only to ensure better risk management, the cooperative model should be proposed more often. Cooperation is a model that stays away from excess and doesn’t allow wealth to be amassed and concentrated in the hands of a small minority, but neither is it distributed equally with complete disregard for personal motivation. The cooperative model exists in the middle ground. It proposes a balance: It rewards merit, attributing dividends according to usage, but it also acknowledges that each person has his or her say, as demonstrated by its democratic operations. Such social considerations, set forth by the cooperative enterprise, can undoubtedly explain its greater stability and continuity. 

Don’t get me wrong: Cooperation creates wealth. And lots of it. In fact, cooperatives in Quebec employ some 92,000 people and generate sales over $25.6 billion. Furthermore, on the international front, cooperatives provide 20% more jobs than all multinationals combined! However, the difference between a public company and a cooperative is that the latter redistributes its wealth among those who contributed to its creation. And to top it all off, not only does a cooperative create financial wealth, it also creates social richness.

The cooperative economy is based on solidarity and collaboration. The cooperative discourse, once coloured by Christian morality -“Be good to each other” - is now supported by research on economic and social sciences. The number of researchers currently interested in cooperation and social preferences realized that, ultimately … the parish priest was right! Cooperation, solidarity and concern for others are all part of our deepest aspirations as men and women, where research and realization motivate us to action and lead us to happiness.  

Long live the International Year of Cooperatives! Our numbers are growing across this small planet; we may as well make sure we all find our place in the sun. Otherwise, the future could very well be a reflection of this tempestuous economic climate: unstable and chaotic.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Photo : Martine Doyon
 
Une place au soleil
Mars 2012
Enfin, on parle des coopératives sur la place publique! Il était grand temps qu'on se l'accorde, cette Année internationale des coopératives. Peut-être qu'un peu d'éducation coopérative nous ramènera vers le bon sens. Quotidiennement, les médias nous rapportent les désolantes retombées d'un capitalisme débridé, d'un système économique instable et chaotique. Crises, faillites, licenciements et, pour peu qu'on s'éloigne de son petit nombril, famines et révoltes. Plus rien ne va. Et pourtant, il se trouve des gens qui, les poches bien garnies, poursuivent leur ascension vers les plus hauts sommets d'une richesse individuelle jamais imaginée. Les 10 premières fortunes recensées par Forbes, par exemple, totalisent 400 milliards de dollars. Ces magnats possèdent donc en moyenne 40 milliards chacun. J'ai peine à concevoir une telle fortune personnelle. Il n'y a pas de limite à l'absurdité!

Ce climat économique, caractérisé par de grandes inégalités, est assurément malsain. Il alimente une série de poudrières qui risquent, tôt ou tard, d'exploser. Car s'il est un aspect de la vie sociale qui éveille et stimule l'activisme, c'est bien le sentiment d'être témoin d'injustices. Les chercheurs en économie comportementale ont d'ailleurs appelé cette donnée « IA », pour inequity aversion (littéralement : aversion pour l'iniquité). Cette aversion est si forte, ont-ils constaté, que bien des gens non visés par une injustice – et même des gens qui se trouvent favorisés par une injustice – sont prêts à se mobiliser pour rétablir l'équité. Une sorte de solidarité sociale instinctive, quoi.

Alors, on en conviendra : ne serait-ce que pour assurer une meilleure gestion des risques, le modèle coopératif devrait être proposé plus souvent. Car c'est un modèle qui se tient loin des excès. Il ne permet pas la concentration de la richesse entre les mains d'une petite minorité, mais ne la répartit pas non plus dans un tout-égal où se perd la motivation personnelle. Le modèle coopératif se tient au milieu. Il propose un équilibre : il sait récompenser le mérite, par l'attribution de ristournes au prorata de l'usage, mais il reconnaît par ailleurs que chacun a son mot à dire, comme en témoigne son fonctionnement démocratique. Ces considérations sociales, portées par l'entreprise coopérative, expliquent sans doute la grande stabilité et la pérennité dont elle fait preuve.

Qu'on ne se méprenne pas : on crée beaucoup de richesse en coopération. Beaucoup. On dit que les coopératives québécoises font travailler 92 000 personnes au Québec et génèrent un chiffre d'affaires de plus de 25,6 milliards. On dit encore que, sur le plan mondial, les coopératives font travailler plus de gens – 20 % de plus! – que toutes les multinationales mises ensemble. Mais à la différence des entreprises cotées en bourse, les coopératives redistribuent cette richesse de façon équitable parmi ceux qui ont contribué à la créer. Et mieux encore : cette richesse coopérative n'est pas qu'économique, elle est aussi sociale.

L'économie coopérative est en effet basée sur l'entraide et la solidarité. Le discours coopératif, jadis teinté de la morale chrétienne – « soyons bons les uns envers les autres » –, s'appuie désormais sur la recherche en sciences économiques et sociales. Ainsi, nombre de chercheurs qui s'intéressent maintenant à la coopération et aux préférences sociales constatent que, finalement… monsieur le curé avait raison! La Coopération, la solidarité, le souci de l'autre, tout cela fait partie de nos aspirations profondes d'hommes et de femmes, dont la recherche et la réalisation motivent l'action et conduisent au bonheur.

Vivement l'Année internationale des coopératives! Nous devenons tellement nombreux sur cette petite planète, aussi bien nous organiser pour que chacun ait sa place au soleil. Sans quoi l'avenir pourrait être à l'image de ce climat économique qu'on n'arrive plus à dompter : instable et chaotique.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés