Gucci Capitalism:
the End of an Era

April 2012

Capitalism is being threatened. But these words are not my own. More and more experts are rallying around the idea, management specialists are writing articles in the Harvard Business Review and even the most influential economists are leaning in that direction. Yes, the capitalist model is deficient and needs a major overhaul. Over the past few years, our world has slowly but surely been sinking into an abyss of consumption and debt. This is as true for business as it is for Mr and Mrs Citizen who mistakenly believed in the gift from on high: bold risks must be taken but alas they neglected to take on the responsibilities that came with them. Then all of a sudden, another crisis! But this time, it may spell the end of an era.

Gucci Capitalism. An expression originated by Noreena Hertz, a leading economist in the UK, to designate the ideology that left shareholders at the center of all economic activity allowing “the invisible hand” to take care of the rest. Gucci capitalism is the craving for insatiable greed fed by bulimic and ostentatious consumption. Hertz stated that the average American consumer has about nine credit cards, which are used to pay for purchases that are, for the most part, insignificant and superficial, and used to demonstrate some alleged social status.

For Hertz, this type of capitalism is agonizing on its deathbed. In fact, there is a pressing need to adopt a systemic approach to the economy, one that will have to take into account social and environmental concerns. And because the current economic crisis is also an ecological crisis producing a cascade of effects that don’t seem to want to stop, this essentially compromises everyone’s quality of life. Furthermore, there is a loss of trust. Markets are too volatile. In this state of unrest we call upon State intervention: we acknowledge that it must play a structuring role, a role that has sadly been deserted by “the invisible hand.”

However, and this is where Hertz sets out a new point of view, there are the ensuing consequences of globalization and of the new geopolitical configuration. Globalization propelled emerging countries to the rank of new locomotives, which redefine the dynamics of the planet’s game play. These countries, noted Hertz, are cultures that are completely different from our own. Brazil, for example, has given itself the goal of lessening the existing disparities of its people, or China, which, despite a very controlling State apparatus maintains its openness and is slipping into Gucci capitalism, which could very well slow its progress.  

Interesting detail: Hertz mentioned that, within BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India and China) countries, some 15% of the population are members of a cooperative enterprise, while only 4% of them are stakeholders in capitalist endeavours. Will this new business paradigm feature more cooperatives? Good for us! In a globalized economy we are all connected. The collapse of one is no longer without consequences for the other. The notion of a more cooperative-centered economy is something we should applaud. The purpose of cooperation is to improve the people’s quality of life rather than encourage them to over-consume in an effort to boost GDP that, in essence, is proof of nothing more than the intensity of national production.

Hertz announced a reformed capitalism, one that she referred to as cooperative capitalism. What a great oxymoron! Nonetheless, a cooperative economy is based on a win-win relationship and it can help stabilize international markets. Furthermore, a cooperative economy is both patient and prudent; it remains focused on the true needs of the people instead of manipulating and creating new ones. And that is good for our planet. So it’s a go for cooperative capitalism. It’s still better than a capitalist capitalism don’t you think?

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Photo : Martine Doyon
 
Le capitalisme Gucci :
la fin d'une époque

Avril 2012

Le capitalisme est menacé. Ce n'est pas moi qui le dis. L'idée rallie de plus en plus d'experts, des spécialistes en gestion qui publient dans le Harvard Business Review jusqu'aux écono­mistes les plus influents. Oui, le modèle capitaliste est déficient et a besoin de transformations majeures. Au cours des dernières années, le monde s'est enfoncé lentement mais sûrement dans une spirale de consommation et d'endettement. Tant le milieu des affaires que les simples citoyens ont cru à la manne : on a pris des risques audacieux en négligeant d'assumer les responsabilités qui venaient avec. Et puis tout à coup, une fois de plus, la crise. Mais cette fois-ci, ce pourrait bien être la fin d'une époque.

Le capitalisme Gucci. C'est l'expression de Noreena Hertz, économiste des plus respectées au Royaume-Uni, pour désigner cette idéologie qui a placé les actionnaires au centre de toute l'activité économique pour laisser « la main invisible » s'occuper du reste. Le capitalisme Gucci, c'est l'avidité pour l'enrichissement sans limites, nourrie par une consommation boulimique et osten­tatoire. Hertz signale qu'aux États-Unis le consom­mateur possède en moyenne neuf cartes de crédit. Servant à payer des achats de consom­mation le plus souvent insignifiants et superficiels, dans le but d'afficher un prétendu statut social.

Pour Hertz, ce type de capitalisme est à l'agonie. D'un côté, il y a le besoin pressant d'adopter une approche systémique de l'économie, qui devra tenir compte de préoccu­pations sociales et environ­ne­mentales. Car cette crise économique que nous vivons est aussi une crise écolo­gique dont les effets en cascade ne semblent vouloir s'arrêter, ce qui compromet au passage notre qualité de vie à tous. De plus, il y a la perte de confiance dans les marchés. Trop volatils. Dans la tourmente, on invoque l'intervention de l'État : on reconnaît qu'il doit jouer un rôle d'encadrement, ce rôle tristement déserté par « la main invisible ».

Mais surtout, et c'est là que Hertz apporte un nouveau point de vue, il y a les effets de la mondialisation et de la nouvelle configuration géopolitique qui en résulte. La mondialisation a propulsé des pays émergents au rang de nouvelles locomotives, qui viennent redéfinir la dynamique du grand échiquier mondial. Ces pays, rappelle Hertz, ont des cultures tout à fait différentes des nôtres. Le Brésil, par exemple, qui s'est donné comme objectif de réduire les grandes inégalités au sein de sa population, ou la Chine, qui conserve malgré son ouverture un appareil étatique puissant, s'inscrivent plutôt mal dans le capitalisme Gucci et pourraient bien lui mettre du plomb dans l'aile.

Détail intéressant : Hertz mentionne que, dans les pays du BRIC (Brésil, Russie, Inde et Chine), 15 % des habitants sont membres d'entreprises coopératives, alors que seulement 4 % d'entre eux sont actionnaires d'entreprises capitalistes. Le nouveau paradigme d'affaires sera-t-il davantage coopé­ratif? Grand bien nous fasse! Car dans une économie mondialisée, nous sommes tous liés. La dégringolade de l'un n'est plus sans conséquence pour l'autre. L'idée d'une économie davantage coopé­rative a de quoi nous réjouir. La coopération vise à améliorer la qualité de vie des gens plutôt que de les inciter à surconsommer pour accroître un PIB qui, dans le fond, n'indique rien d'autre que l'intensité d'une production nationale.

Hertz annonce un capitalisme réformé, qu'elle appelle le capitalisme coopératif. Un bel oxymoron! Il demeure néanmoins qu'une économie coopé­rative est faite de relations gagnant-gagnant et que cela peut contribuer à la stabilité des marchés internationaux. Il demeure aussi que l'économie coopérative est patiente et prudente, qu'elle garde le cap sur les véritables besoins des gens au lieu de s'ingénier à leur en créer de nouveaux. Et ça, c'est bon pour la planète. Alors, va pour un capitalisme coopératif. C'est tout de même mieux qu'un capitalisme… capitaliste, non?

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés