Toward a Plural Economy
March 2013

The business world is changing. And new types of businesses are taking shape in response to past excesses. Economist Milton Friedman, who once said that a company's only social responsibility was to increase its profits, has lost his popularity. More and more people are now rejecting the notion that capital should be a company's singular and ultimate objective. But it's not that simple. Executives and managers believe that they are hired to generate profits. And usually, they are almost exclusively evaluated on their past financial results.

Previously, there has always been a clear division between for profit companies and the others. In fact, this is a popular discussion topic within the cooperative movement: Are cooperatives a for profit business or not? I persist in saying that they are not. The true goal of a cooperative is to always provide services to its members. However, let me add that they still want a surplus, which is needed to pursue the cooperative's mission. But there are other people who believe that cooperatives are indeed for profit since they are business oriented.

This is typical of the human mind, which is inclined to divide, categorize and compartmentalize. It's so much simpler that way. It's either 'A' or 'B'. You check 'yes' or 'no', and that's all there is to it! But sometimes it can be A "and" B. This is a complex world and it gets more so each day. The time has come to admit multiple relationships, half-tones and doublets! This is kind of what California is trying to do in terms of commercial law. The law now allows for two new kinds of businesses: The flexible purpose corporation and the benefit corporation. Both are for profit businesses with a social mission.

The flexible purpose corporation is required to state in its charter the type of positive contribution it intends to bring socially or environmentally. It is also required to report annually on its progress in attaining this non-financial goal. As for the benefit corporation, it is required to go even further. Its status explicitly includes a significant and positive contribution goal to the environment and to society as a whole, as well as an obligation to produce annual audits conducted by a third party. Patagonia, the outdoor clothing and apparel company and a leader in corporate eco-responsibility, was the first to seek the benefit corporation status, in fact it applied on the very first day these new provisions took effect.

This evolution of commercial law is more than welcome since judicial structures are never neutral. They bring about behaviours; they may forbid, allow, and/or obligate what makes up the company leaders' margin for manoeuvre. These two new types of businesses finally propose a framework in which shareholders will be allowed to legitimately ask for satisfactory remuneration of their capital, and for executives and managers to consider decision making criteria other than financial impact.

Just as biodiversity is necessary to the health of any ecosystem, diverse types of businesses within our economy are just as desirable. If, as we often say, cooperation is part of the solution, we must also conclude that the cooperative status is not a "one size fits all". Patagonia shareholders would not have been able to transform their corporation into a cooperative since they are not all its users. The needs are many and varied in terms of business models. That's why I'm pleased with California's innovation that paves the way toward a plural economy, an economy that increasingly reflects cooperation, even if it is more in spirit than in structure!

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
and Board Secretary Assistant
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Photo : Martine Doyon
 
Vers une économie
plurielle

Mars 2013

Le monde des affaires change. En réaction aux excès du passé, de nouvelles formes d'entreprises apparaissent. L'économiste Milton Friedman, qui disait que la seule responsabilité sociale de l'entreprise est d'augmenter ses profits, n'a plus la cote. De plus en plus de gens refusent désormais que le capital soit l'unique et ultime objectif des entreprises. Mais ce n'est pas simple. Car les gestionnaires, eux, estiment être embauchés pour générer des profits. Qui plus est, ils sont en règle générale évalués uniquement selon les résultats financiers qu'ils présentent.

Historiquement, il y a toujours eu une division bien nette entre les entreprises à but lucratif et les autres. Cela nourrit d'ailleurs bien des discussions au sein du mouvement coopératif : les coopératives sont-elles à but lucratif ou non ? Je persiste à dire non. Le but véritable d'une coopérative, c'est toujours le service aux membres. Mais je m'empresse d'ajouter qu'on veut quand même des excédents, qu'on en a besoin pour réaliser la mission de la coopérative. Il y a d'autres personnes, par ailleurs, qui sont d'avis que les coopératives sont certainement à but lucratif, puisqu'elles sont de nature commerciale.

C'est que l'esprit humain aime bien diviser, classer, compartimenter les choses. Tellement plus simple. C'est A « ou » c'est B. Vous cochez oui « ou » vous cochez non, voilà ! Mais parfois, il arrive que ça soit A « et » B. Ou oui « et » non. Le monde est complexe. Chaque jour davantage. Il serait temps d'admettre les liens multiples, les demi-teintes et les doublons ! C'est un peu ce que la Californie est en train de faire en matière de droit commercial. La loi prévoit désormais deux nouveaux types d'entreprises : la flexible purpose corporation et la benefit corporation. Toutes deux sont des entreprises à but lucratif qui se donnent également une mission sociale.

La flexible purpose corporation doit indiquer dans sa charte la contribution positive qu'elle entend apporter sur un aspect social ou environnemental, et faire rapport annuellement sur l'atteinte de cet objectif extra-financier. Quant à la benefit corporation, elle va beaucoup plus loin. Ses statuts incluent explicitement un objectif de contribution positive importante à l'environnement et à la société en général, ainsi que l'obligation de se soumettre à des audits annuels réalisés par une tierce partie. L'entreprise de vêtements de plein air Patagonia, chef de file des entreprises écoresponsables, a été la première à se prévaloir du statut de benefit corporation, et ce, dès la première journée de la mise en vigueur des nouvelles dispositions le permettant.

Cette évolution du droit commercial est bienvenue, car les structures juridiques ne sont pas neutres. Elles induisent des comportements; elles peuvent interdire, permettre, obliger, ce qui détermine la marge de manœuvre des dirigeants. Ainsi, ces deux nouveaux types d'entreprises proposent enfin un cadre à l'intérieur duquel il sera légitime pour les actionnaires de demander une rémunération satisfaisante de leur capital, et pour les gestionnaires de considérer d'autres critères de décision et d'action que le seul impact financier.

Tout comme la biodiversité est nécessaire à la bonne santé des systèmes écologiques, la diversité des formes d'entreprises dans notre économie est également souhaitable. Si, comme on le dit souvent, la coopération fait partie de la solution, force est d'admettre que le statut coopératif ne peut habiller tout le monde. Les actionnaires de Patagonia, en l'occurrence, n'auraient pu la transformer en coopérative, puisqu'ils n'en sont pas tous des usagers. En matière de modèles d'entreprise, les besoins sont nombreux et divers. C'est pourquoi je me réjouis de cette innovation de la Californie, qui trace la route vers une économie plurielle, une économie davantage sous le signe de la coopération – si ce n'est dans la lettre, du moins dans l'esprit.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives et adjointe
au secrétaire du conseil d’administration
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés