Cooperation to Inspire
Young Minds

September 2013
The Rochdale Pioneers had the right idea. They created their first cooperative in the midst of the industrial revolution around the mid 19th century when a very large part of the English population was struck down by poverty. As visionaries and idealists, they incorporated education as a guiding principle in cooperative administration. The Rochdale Pioneers believed that cooperative education was a means to achieving collective development. They were convinced that by educating people about cooperation, their capacity to transform their surroundings to suit their ambitions would also be developed. Several cooperative schools were established at the height of the nascent cooperative movement. Then, as the right to education became a universal entitlement in the 20th century, it fell under State authority. Cooperative schools soon disappeared from the English landscape.

The rest of the story is still being written. But when you think about it, are these times so different than the industrial revolution? Consider the ever-increasing inequalities, the lack of ethics in the world of business and organizations, and the in-depth changes in the labour market, which are convergence factors in both of these eras. So it's not surprising that cooperation and cooperative education are making a powerful comeback in 21st century England. Note the trailblazing role played by The Co-op Group, a large consumer cooperative operating a diverse range of businesses under the "The Co-operative" brand. In 2004, The Co-op Group launched a cooperative education strategy in schools across the country. Just like the Quebec cooperative movement, The Co-op Group has educational material produced for teachers wanting to initiate their students to cooperative values.

Meanwhile, as the neoliberal trend grew, the role of British government was progressively reduced and private enterprise entered the schools. A dramatic turn of events occurred in 2006. A very controversial law was adopted that allowed public schools to be converted into private institutions to be managed by trusts to which the State would assign ownership of assets, buildings and lands. The field of academics was shocked. Nonetheless, cooperative trusts were enacted and brought together parents, teachers, students and local partners. Faced with the urgency of protecting schools from the purely financial interests of corporations and big business, such groups formed cooperatives. Communities would take control of their schools–not big business!

But that's not all. The revival of English cooperative schools also set about two assertions. Not only would they be cooperating in the school's governance, but they would teach cooperation in the classrooms! In fact, there's an increasing number of teachers successfully practicing cooperative learning, an approach that encourages the students' participation in their own education through various projects that allow them to develop their cooperative skills, such as listening and dialogue, mutual assistance and co-construction. The purpose is to make them independent and responsible citizens. So far, this is working extremely well in terms of academic achievement and persistence. But that's no surprise. Just look at Finland, a country with a worldwide reputation for the academic excellence of its school system. According to Pasi Sahlberg, a Finnish educator, scholar and author of "Finnish Lessons", Finland's most often and commonly used education strategy is… cooperative learning! Allow me to note that Finland is also celebrated for its highly developed cooperative movement.

We would be mistaken to underestimate the role of cooperatives in schools. More than ever, cooperation is set to become a key ability for today's youth because current issues are global and need to be met with a cooperative approach. As a cooperative movement, it is our duty to advance the importance of cooperative practices from a very young age. Because "co-operators are not born, they are made".
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Photo : Martine Doyon
 
Quand les coopératives
inspirent les écoles

Septembre 2013

Les Pionniers de Rochdale avaient vu juste. Au moment de la création de leur coopérative, au milieu du 19e siècle, la révolution industrielle battait son plein, laissant tout un pan de la population anglaise sombrer dans une grande pauvreté. Visionnaires, ils avaient inscrit l'éducation au nombre des principes essentiels au bon fonctionnement des coopératives. Pour eux, l'éducation coopérative était une clé pour l'épanouissement des collectivités. Ils étaient convaincus qu'en éduquant les gens à la coopération, on développerait d'autant leur capacité à transformer eux-mêmes leur milieu de vie, selon leurs propres aspirations. Dans l'effervescence du mouvement coopératif naissant, de nombreuses écoles coopératives furent fondées. Puis au 20e siècle, étant universellement reconnue comme un droit pour tous, l'éducation devenait une responsabilité de l'État. Les écoles coopératives ont alors disparu du paysage anglais.

La suite de l'histoire est en train de s'écrire. À bien y penser, notre période est-elle si différente de celle de la révolution industrielle?

L'accroissement des inégalités, l'appauvrissement de l'éthique dans les organisations, la profonde mutation du travail sont autant de points de convergence entre les deux époques. Pas étonnant que la coopération et l'éducation à la coopération reviennent en force dans l'Angleterre du 21e siècle. En première ligne, on note le rôle d'éclaireur qu'a joué The Co-op Group, cette grande coopérative regroupant plusieurs secteurs d'activité sous la signature « The Co-operative ». En 2004, The Co-op Group a lancé une stratégie d'éducation coopérative dans les écoles. À l'instar du mouvement coopératif qué­bécois, The Co-op Group a fait produire du matériel pédago­gique à l'intention des enseignants désireux d'initier leurs élèves aux valeurs coopératives.

Pendant ce temps, dans la mouvance néolibérale, le rôle de l'État britannique se voyait réduit comme peau de chagrin et le secteur privé faisait son entrée dans les écoles. En 2006, coup de théâtre! Une loi des plus controversées était adoptée, permettant aux écoles publiques de se convertir en institutions privées gérées par des trusts à qui l'État allait céder la propriété des actifs, bâtiments et terrains. Le milieu de l'éducation s'en est trouvé bouleversé. Qu'à cela ne tienne! Des trusts coopératifs se sont mis en place, regroupant parents, professeurs, élèves et partenaires locaux. Devant l'urgence de protéger les écoles des intérêts purement financiers des grandes entreprises, des collectivités se sont organisées en coopératives. Ce seraient les gens du quartier, et non le marché, qui allaient être aux commandes de leur école!

Mais ce n'est pas tout. La renaissance des écoles coopératives anglaises s'accompagne maintenant d'une double revendication. On coopère dans la gouvernance de l'institution, mais on coopère aussi dans les classes! En effet, de plus en plus d'enseignants pratiquent avec succès la pédagogie coopérative, une approche qui préconise que l'élève soit actif dans son apprentissage grâce à des travaux lui permettant de développer ses compétences coopératives : l'écoute et le dialogue, l'entraide et la coconstruction. On veut préparer des citoyens autonomes et responsables. Et cela fonctionne merveilleusement bien, tant sur le plan de la persistance que de la réussite scolaires. On ne s'en étonne pas. On évoque le cas de la Finlande, pays mondialement reconnu pour l'excellence de son système scolaire. D'après Pasi Sahlberg, spécialiste de l'éducation et auteur du livre Finnish Lessons, la stratégie pédagogique la plus largement utilisée en Finlande est… la pédagogie coopérative! Or, je me permets de le rap­peler, la Finlande est aussi reconnue pour avoir un mouvement coopératif très développé.

On aurait tort de sous-estimer le rôle des coopératives dans les écoles. Plus que jamais, la coopération deviendra une compétence nécessaire chez nos jeunes, car les grands défis de l'heure sont mondialisés et ne pourront être relevés qu'avec une approche collaborative. Comme mouvement coopératif, il nous appartient de faire valoir l'importance de pratiquer la coopération dès le plus jeune âge. Parce qu'on ne naît pas coopérateur, on le devient.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés