Agriculture, Cooperation and Health
Octobre 2013
We can establish several correlations between agriculture and health. In fact, children raised on a farm have stronger immune systems than children who grow up in the city because, from a very young age, they come into contact with a variety of many micro-organisms. Just think about that tiny little Mycobacterium vaccæ bacteria commonly found in soil; it was recently discovered that it plays a role in protecting against depression, cancer, asthma and eczema. This is no small feat! Furthermore, exercise, fresh air and easy access to fresh foods are more factors that contribute to keeping farm families healthy.

However, it's impossible to ignore the health risks related to modern agriculture. Last year, France officially recognized Parkinson's as an occupational disease in the farming community when it acknowledged its link to the use of pesticides. Awareness of the dangers and risks related to this profession is critical and extra caution is essential to staying healthy.

But health is so much more than the absence of illness! According to the World Health Organization, health is a state of complete well-being in which all of our fundamental needs are met, including our mental and social needs. Health is therefore related to a person's subjective experience: how we feel in our environment has a direct influence on our health. Several researchers touched on the issue and, again, gave us a glimpse of the new benefits related to the cooperative formula.

First there was Robert Putnam the sociologist. After analyzing extensive data, Mr. Putnam noted that membership in an association would reduce by half the risk of dying over the next year! In fact, being part of a group seems to compensate the need to belong thus having a positive influence on health. We can then surmise that being a member of a cooperative and taking part in its associative life is essentially good for one's health.

There was also Dr. Spencer Kagan, a renowned leader in cooperative learning and a strong advocate of dialogue. Kagan explained that dialogue has a calming effect on the amygdala, that part of the brain that produces stress hormones. And because dialogue reduces stress, any opportunity to put it into practice is an opportunity to improve one's overall health. Consequently, cooperators benefit from the meetings or training sessions proposed by La Coop network when they participate in the resulting informal discussions or peer-to-peer interactions.

And then there was Richard Wilkinson, physician and speaker at the Imagine 2012 conference. For more than 25 years, Wilkinson has been studying the constantly expanding gap between economic growth indicators and well-being. Relative poverty, he noted, has a much greater effect on people's health than absolute poverty. Economic inequalities corrupt the quality of social relationships within a collective – what is referred to as « social capital » and defined by the level of trust demonstrated between individuals, the level of mutual aid, the feeling of security, etc. Games of power and influence produce strained social relationships that undermine one's health and quality of life. Business models that can reduce economic inequalities, such as a cooperative, contribute to public health in a very concrete fashion.

Am I stretching this a little? Not at all. In an interconnected world, our relationship with others is critical. Mark my words: more and more research will document the psychological benefits of cooperation. Because taking an interest in health is also uncovering underlying social factors that improve or perturb people's well-being. And that is when cooperation will be recognized at its fair value, as an efficient and beneficial social structure that needs to be encouraged and promoted.
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Photo : Martine Doyon
 
Agriculture, coopération et santé
Octobre 2013

On peut établir plusieurs liens entre l'agriculture et la santé. Tout d'abord, on sait que les enfants élevés à la ferme bénéficient d'un système immunitaire plus fort que ceux ayant grandi en ville, grâce aux nombreux micro-organismes avec lesquels ils ont été en contact depuis leur jeune âge. Pensons seulement à la petite bactérie du sol Mycobacterium vaccæ : on a découvert récemment qu'elle joue un rôle protecteur contre la dépression, le cancer, l'asthme et l'eczéma. Ce n'est pas rien ! Et puis il y a l'exercice, le grand air et l'accès à des aliments frais qui contribuent aussi à la santé de la famille agricole.

En revanche, impossible d'ignorer les risques sani­taires associés à l'agriculture moderne. Ainsi, l'an dernier, la France a reconnu le parkinson comme maladie profes­sionnelle chez les agriculteurs, en raison de son lien avec l'usage des pesticides. Il faut donc être conscient des risques de la profession et redoubler de prudence afin de ne pas y laisser sa santé.

Mais la santé, c'est bien plus que l'absence de maladies. Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, être en bonne santé sous-entend que tous nos besoins fondamentaux sont satisfaits, y compris nos besoins affectifs et sociaux. La santé est donc liée à l'expérience subjective des personnes : comment on se sent dans son milieu a des effets directs sur sa santé. Plusieurs chercheurs ont abordé le sujet et nous permettent d'entrevoir, encore une fois, de nouveaux avantages à la formule coopérative.

Il y a d'abord eu le sociologue Robert Putnam. Celui-ci a remarqué, après avoir analysé une grande quantité de données, qu'adhérer à une association faisait diminuer de moitié le risque de mourir dans l'année suivante ! En effet, faire partie d'un groupe satisfait le besoin d'appartenance et a des incidences positives sur la santé. On peut donc supposer que faire partie d'une coopérative et participer à sa vie associative est, de la même façon, bénéfique à la santé des membres.

Il y a aussi eu le professeur Spencer Kagan. Sommité en apprentissage coopératif, Kagan fait grande promotion du dialogue car, explique-t-il, le dialogue exerce un effet calmant sur l'amygdale, la partie du cerveau qui produit les hormones du stress. Puisque le dialogue diminue le stress, toutes les occasions de le pratiquer sont autant d'occasions d'améliorer sa santé globale. Ainsi, les coopé­rateurs tirent bénéfice des rencontres sociales ou de formation proposées par le réseau La Coop, grâce aux discussions informelles qui s'y tiennent ou aux interactions entre pairs qui y sont suscitées.

Et puis il y a eu Richard Wilkinson, médecin et conférencier au congrès Imaginons 2012. Depuis plus de 25 ans, Wilkinson étudie le fossé qui se creuse toujours davantage entre les indicateurs de croissance économique et le niveau de bien-être. La pauvreté relative, note-t-il, a des effets bien plus grands que la pauvreté absolue sur la santé des gens. Car les inégalités économiques empoisonnent la qualité des relations sociales dans une collectivité – ce qu'on appelle le « capital social », défini par le degré de confiance entre les gens, le niveau d'entraide, le sentiment de sécurité, etc. Les jeux de position et de pouvoir engendrent des rapports sociaux plus tendus, qui minent la santé et la qualité de vie. Les modèles d'entreprises permettant de diminuer les inégalités écono­miques, comme la coopérative, contribuent donc de façon très concrète à la santé publique.

Tiré par les cheveux ? Pas du tout. Dans un monde interconnecté, la relation à l'autre est primordiale. Je vous le dis : de plus en plus de recherches viendront documenter les bienfaits psycho­logiques de la coopération. Car s'intéresser à la santé, c'est aussi dégager les facteurs sociaux sous-jacents qui améliorent ou perturbent l'état de bien-être des gens. Et c'est là que la coopération sera appréciée à sa juste valeur, comme une structure sociale efficace et avantageuse à encourager et à promouvoir.

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés