Moving to a Postmodern Agriculture
November-december 2013
I was so happy to be modern when I was young. I made being modern my duty and it was something to be proud of! For me, it meant to be of my time, to follow the latest trends. I didn't realize that if that was the definition, being modern was an endless state: every era had its own modernity. It was basically about following current fashions. But… was that all what modernity was about?

The modern era is usually believed to have begun around the 16th Century when reason began to force out obscurantism in Western society. A new school of thought emerged, one that declared, on behalf of every man, knowledge and freedom of thought. But it is around the 18th Century that modernity truly established itself. Several men of science and philosophers would bring about such a proliferation of liberal thinking that the century would therefore be known as the age of "Enlightenment", which would conclude, once and for all, authority's hold on man and declare the triumph of freedom. Today, the philosopher Benoît Goetz tells us ironically that "modernity is like a thrift shop trying to recycle Enlightenment's old worn clothing…" But, not for long it seems, because modernity is in a crisis and we will soon have to move to a postmodernist era.

According to Dominique Olivier, manager of the Sicaseli cooperative in France, agriculture was profoundly affected by this crisis. While speaking at meetings before the Mission d'animation des agrobiosciences, Dominique Olivier took a clear look at our agriculture and noted a double crisis. The first being technical in nature and translated into people's concerns over progress in agriculture, blaming significant sanitary and environmental deviations on agronomic advancements. Mad cow disease, GMOs, pollution... Modern agriculture is a scary thing. Olivier believes that progress is necessary, but deplores the fact that technical developments are for the sake of more technology and that performance is a goal in itself. And, he added, the true meaning of all this progress is essentially lost.

The second crisis is one of morality. If modernity is a proponent of reason and freedom, it looks like we've reached their limits. Reason has its limits: the Cartesian mindset, which fragments everything to analyze each separate part, can no longer fathom a world that has become so complex. New integration skills are now required. Freedom also has it limits: it has fuelled individualism to the point of asphyxiation. The freer we are, the more we require external mechanisms such as standards and regulations to protect the common good. Consequently, the weight of this added bureaucracy inhibits operations and uses up too much time and energy.

Olivier concludes by saying that it is time for agriculture to enter its postmodern phase. This means that we will need to accept and adapt to managing a complex context that integrates social, environmental and economic aspects. Agricultural producers also manage other aspects such as "living beings, energy, quality of air, soil and water, and furthermore are active in overseeing our heritage and our lands" {translation}. Because cooperatives integrate non-mercantile dimensions and are rooted in communities, they are better positioned to provide support to agriculture's new mission. The cooperative system is successful in reconciling the individual with the collective; it also tempers individualistic excesses and provides the interface necessary to rebuild the social relationship on which technical progress will be restored to its former glory.

So it is only when we will have understood all this that we will have stopped being modern. Obviously, this is not going to happen overnight. In my view, this seems like a stimulating vision that should motivate the next generation and give hope to older producers who, too often, feel misunderstood and underappreciated…
 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Director Cooperative Affairs
La Coop fédérée
Email: colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Fax: 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés

Photo : Martine Doyon
 
Vers une agriculture postmoderne
Novembre-décembre 2013

Quand j'étais jeune, je me réjouissais d'être moderne. Je m'en faisais un devoir et une fierté ! Pour moi, cela voulait dire être de son temps, suivre les dernières tendances. Je ne me rendais pas compte que si c'était cela, la modernité, alors on n'en sortait jamais : à toutes les époques, on pouvait être moderne. On n'avait qu'à suivre les modes. Mais… est-ce bien cela, la modernité ?

On fait généralement remonter le début de l'ère moderne au XVIe siècle, lorsque, dans la société occidentale, la raison commence à déloger l'obscurantisme. Un nouveau courant de pensée émerge, réclamant au nom de tous les hommes la connaissance et la liberté de penser. Mais c'est au cours du XVIIIe siècle que la modernité s'imposera vraiment. De nombreux hommes de science et philosophes apporteront alors un tel foisonnement d'idées libérales que ce siècle sera désormais connu comme celui des « Lumières », qui scellera une fois pour toutes l'affranchissement de l'homme à l'égard des autorités étouffantes et le triomphe de la liberté. Aujourd'hui, le philosophe Benoît Goetz nous dit avec ironie que « la modernité est comme une sorte de friperie où l'on tente de recycler les habits des Lumières qui sont quelque peu ternis… » Nous sommes donc encore dans l'ère moderne. Mais plus pour longtemps, semble-t-il, car la modernité est en crise et il nous faudra bientôt passer à l'ère postmoderne.

D'après Dominique Olivier, directeur de la coopérative Sicaseli, en France, l'agriculture est profondément touchée par cette crise de la modernité. Dans un témoignage livré l'an dernier lors des rencontres de la Mission d'animation des agrobiosciences, Olivier pose un regard lucide sur notre agriculture et constate une double crise. La première est d'ordre technique. Elle se traduit par les inquiétudes des gens à l'égard des progrès en agriculture. Ceux-ci tiennent en effet les avancées agronomiques responsables d'importantes dérives sanitaires et environnementales. Vache folle, OGM, pollution... L'agriculture moderne fait peur. Olivier croit que le progrès est nécessaire, mais déplore qu'on ne fasse désormais de la technique que pour la technique, qu'on ne vise plus la performance que pour la performance. Et qu'en chemin, ajoute-t-il, on ait perdu le sens véritable de tous ces efforts.

La seconde crise est d'ordre moral. Si la modernité revendiquait la raison et la liberté, il semble qu'on en ait atteint les limites. Limites de la raison : l'esprit cartésien, qui fragmente tout pour en analyser chacune des parties, ne parvient plus à appréhender un monde devenu si complexe. Une nouvelle compétence d'intégration est désormais nécessaire. Et limites de la liberté : elle a alimenté un individualisme qui l'étouffe aujourd'hui. Plus nous sommes libres, plus il faut de mécanismes externes, en l'occurrence des normes et des règlements, pour protéger les biens communs. Il en résulte une bureaucratie qui alourdit le fonctionnement des exploitations et gruge bien trop de temps et d'énergie.

En somme, conclut Olivier, il est temps que l'agriculture passe à la postmodernité. Ce qui veut dire qu'il faudra accepter de gérer dans la complexité en intégrant l'environnement, le social et l'économique. Les agriculteurs sont aussi « des gestionnaires du vivant, des acteurs de l'énergie, de la qualité de l'air, des sols, de l'eau, des acteurs d'un patrimoine et d'un territoire », soutient-il. Or, parce qu'elles intègrent des dimensions non marchandes, parce qu'elles sont ancrées dans un territoire, les coopératives seront les mieux placées pour soutenir cette nouvelle mission de l'agriculture. D'autant que le système coopératif, en réconciliant l'individuel et le collectif, tempère les excès d'individualisme et offre l'interface nécessaire à la reconstruction du lien social à partir duquel le progrès technique devra refaire ses lettres de noblesse.

Alors, quand nous aurons compris tout cela, nous cesserons d'être modernes. Bien sûr, ce n'est pas pour demain matin. Mais il me semble que voilà une vision stimulante, qui devrait motiver la relève et donner espoir aux agriculteurs plus âgés, qui s'estiment trop souvent incompris et mal-aimés…

 

Colette Lebel, agr.
Directrice des Affaires coopératives
La Coop fédérée
Courriel : colette.lebel@lacoop.coop
Télécopieur : 514 850-2567
 



Retour



Copyright © 2014 La Coop fédérée | Tous droits réservés